My Tiny Cactus

13 46
Avatar for eommaZel
3 years ago

Gardening makes me happy for about two months. It serves as a hobby, and as past time too. I feel calm, joyous and definitely feel serenity with it. Looking at my mini garden makes my soul and body to stay positive, active, and well energized in my daily activities.

I planted various kinds of plants in my garden, and I'm happy and delighted looking at them to blossom and grow. Gladly, I'm thankful enough that there's still no plant that withered.

Last month, I planted two little pointy plants, which are called cactus. It was tiny and short, as small as a thumb.

Actually, I just asked those cactus from my mother's friend, and she gave me those tiny spiny plants and I planted them in a recycled pot from a bottle of soda and added to my mini garden. I don't have enough money to buy pots, I'm only using recycled bottles as my temporary pots.

Then, this morning I saw this article which captures my attention, it was titled 'Pot Transplant'. The first thing that came up my mind was, it was about plants, of course. I clicked it and read, and I'm amazed by the article itself. It was about cactus, written and posted by a cactus enthusiast, @cactaceasml

I was interested in cactus not only because I have one at home, but because my plants became a part of me, somehow. So today, our friend @cactaceasml asked me to post my little fella, so s/he could identify it's species.

This is my cactus, as I've said above, I have planted two cactus before, but I have only one left. I gave one of my cactus to my aunt, she begged and asked for it. Well, she loves plants too.

I wanna have knowledge about cactus too. I want to know more about my beloved plants at home.

I know, I can do some research from google but it's more interesting and satisfying if the ideas will come from a person with proper knowledge about them.

As you can see, I planted this cactus in a recycled pot. I haven't watered my plants yet including this little spiny. It was raining for how many days already, but I hope it won't affect them badly.

My friend, @cactaceasml I hope you can identify its specific species. I'm so happy and glad to know more and have an additional understanding of this plant. To be honest, I don't know how to take care of them properly. I mean is there any proper way to take care of a cactus?

I would love to hear more facts about them. Thank you so much in advance. ๐Ÿ˜Š

@eommaZel โœ๐Ÿป

36
$ 1.33
$ 1.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of eommaZel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for eommaZel
3 years ago

Comments

Hi! For sure it is of the Echinopsis family, but to be completely sure what specific kind it is, we will have to wait for it to grow more. Regarding its cares... make sure the soil allows waโ˜บter to drain rapidly (if it stays humid for long periods of time it may rot the roots and eventually the plant will die). As it is yet small, dont put in direct sunlight for lon๐Ÿ™‚g periods of time. A couple hours of direct morning sun will be enough for it to grow properly (try not keeping it in dark spaces because its shape will "elongat๐Ÿ˜™e" trying to find a source of ligth). Finally, just water it when the soil is completely dry. During cold seasons (autumn and winter) try watering only once or twice a month.๐Ÿ™‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hi! For sure it is of the Echinopsis family, but to be completely sure what specific kind it is, we will have to wait for it to grow more. Regarding its cares... make sure the soil allows water to drain rapidly (if it stays humid for long periods of time it may rot the roots and eventually the plant will die). As it is yet small, dont put in direct sunlight for long periods of time. A couple hours of direct morning sun will be enough for it to grow properly (try not keeping it in dark spaces because its shape will "elongate" trying to find a source of ligth). Finally, just water it when the soil is completely dry. During cold seasons (autumn and winter) try watering only once or twice a month.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! Thanks for this information. Now, I'm getting to know more and better about this tiny cute pointy plant of mine. ๐Ÿ˜Š Also, thanks for the tips on how to take care of it properly. It's a big help for me. I hope I can some more cactus in my garden. ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is very interesting article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have several cactus and succulents too but I don't know their nameโ˜บ๏ธ Before you know it your garden will be filled with different kinds, common and uncommon ones! Nice to see another plantliner like me..hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree with you, and I'm looking forward to the days that my garden will be filled with lots of plants. ๐Ÿ˜ŠBefore, I only started with two garden crotons, then I added some snake plant and so on... I tried to count my plants this morning, and they've reached 30 and up potted and healthy. ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahah, that's a lot! But they are really a great stress reliever and mood setter๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's cute. I love to haVe one but I don't have a safe place to put it. Our neighbor has lots of destructive chickens so I passed on this plan. I will fulfill it later ๐Ÿ˜ one thing you don't have to worry about not watering your cactus because they can survive for long days without water.๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh I see. My uncle has lots of chickens too, but they're fighting cocks so they were tied in a chicken rope. This makes my plants to be in a safe place. ๐Ÿ˜… And yes, that's one of my knowledge about cactus too. I hope my other plants will not be affected too, due to heavy rains.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Our chickens are in their own cage but they are usually free-roaming around our neighborhood too. They are caged because some dogs prey on them. Try to transfer your plants in a shaded part for a while if you think they get damage from heavy rain.๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
3 years ago

small cactus and succulent are really nice especially at home :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I find them cute and beautiful too. ๐Ÿ˜Š I'm happy to discover the 'gardener' in me. ๐Ÿ˜… All my stress and worries fade for awhile after seeing and taking care of my plants. ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are right. Gardening is one of my stress relievers too

$ 0.00
3 years ago