This Hen Awaken my Curious Mind

3 21
Avatar for eommaZel
3 years ago

Our land was replenished with rain yesterday. The plants are watered by the rain. As I calmly looked at the surroundings, I saw one of our animals at home, our one, and only hen.

My father gave that hen to my son. It was a “45 days Chicken”, a broiler. Though this type of chicken is for commercial use because of its meat, my son loves this hen a lot. It was the replacement of his loss hen last year.

As I looked at the hen, I saw her right eye was closed which appeared to become blind. It just happened last two weeks, when the hen got sick. After recovering from the sickness, her right eye can't be open. I feel sorry for the hen, she struggled every time I gave her food. She can't see easily the food or the water is given to her.

As you can see, her right eye was covered with white, I don't know if what's that thing that covers her eye, but it causes her blindness.

Then, I came to realize and wonder about things, about the blind.

My curiosity hits me again, because of this hen. I wonder how blind people woke up in the morning. Do they wake up normally, just like us? Do the things we usually do in the morning? I just wonder how hard their life could be. As I saw the chicken became helpless in her situation every time she missed pecking her food. The major sensory organ of a person or animal is their eyes. One glimpse around us is enough to make us realize how visual is most of the information in our environment. Losing this sense will be ultimately difficult.

I wonder if the blind can have a dream too, and if they do, what could be the picture on their mind? Could they imagine something or how will they describe the colors of the scenery. How can they imagine the faces of people? It's just sad to know that there are people who are deprived of sight. What are the challenges in the life of the visually impaired?

Now, to cure my curiosity I searched for some answers to my questions.

And I found these answers worth to share.

“Can blind people see in their dreams?”

This answers my questions if blind people can see in their dreams. It states that people who were born blind have no understanding of how to see in their waking existences, so they can't see in their dreams. But most blind people lose their sight later in life and can dream visually.

Now I understand that people who were blind inborn can dream but can't see in their dreams.

Losing your sense of sight is tough, it makes you face your life so difficult. I can't imagine a day without my sight. It seems just like having a nightmare. You can't see the light, your surroundings, the beauty of the world, and your loved ones. I feel sorry for this hen, and for the people who are born and the people who became visually impaired after an incident, however, I admire them, for being tough in facing life's challenges.

I know even they're blind, God made them with a purpose and everything happens for a reason. I saw lots of visually impaired people who sing well. Though they're not blessed to have sight, some were blessed with a good voice and some with a good heart.

I even remember one old Filipino song, titled “Bulag, Pipi at Bingi” (The Blind, The mute, and the Deaf), sung by the famous Filipino singer, Freddie Aguilar.

This song is so deep, it tells the blind, the mute, and the deaf, on how they are born luckier than normal people. How they are born luckier? If they are lacking something, lacking a crucial part of being human, their sense of sight, speak and hear?

The visually impaired are lucky for not able to see how cruel our world is, by the deeds of other humans. They are lucky not to witness how awful are the crimes and accidents happening in this society.

The deaf is fortunate enough not to hear how loud our world is. How different noise caused too many disturbances. And the mute are lucky not to encounter any conversation quarrels with some person.

I thanked this chicken for awakening my curiosity and thoughts about life and the life of the blind. I wrote this to share my thoughts and feelings with you. This hen opened my heart and mind to how we must be thankful for our lives.

This life no matter what you are born, normally or differently able, is tough, it is full of challenges for us to face. Let us just be appreciative of the things given to us. Take care of our health for this is one of our essential foundation in life. No need to compare our lives to others. I just came to realized that I was born lucky too, for being born complete and normal. Though my life is not perfect or happy all of the time, I'm thankful for the life given to me.

This hen, which became blind, and the other visually impaired individual, or the differently able persons, I salute all of them for being courageous in facing life's tough challenges and undertakings.

#RandomThoughts #Curiousity

@eommaZel ✍🏻

5
$ 0.84
$ 0.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of eommaZel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for eommaZel
3 years ago

Comments

we always get curious, ideas and inspirations from what we see

since the disabled still have hope then who are you as a person to say it is the end of the world for you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Some disabled people always create their own happiness even if they have that kind of situation,or even animals, a purpose to live.maybe thats the purpose of the hen to awaken your mind on something knowledgable.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, maybe. Some normal people who lives find life so hard and some commits ending their own lives. They've forgotten our pals who are differently able, who are dealing with life more difficult than us.

$ 0.00
3 years ago