The Danger of Gossip

11 29
Avatar for eommaZel
3 years ago

A Gossip is an informal conversation, often about other people's private affairs.

Have you ever heard any gossips before?

Or are you a victim of a gossip?

I’m sure you have encountered gossip in your existence. This rude behavior is far too common. We are all humans after all.

But why do people gossip?

Jealousy, immaturity, insecurity are some reasons why people love gossiping about a certain person. Some people like to spread damaging information, false accusations or intimate details about others personal life, not knowing first if it's true or not in order to feel a sense of supremacy, or to be able to play the role of the victim.

Let's be real, gossipers are everywhere. You can even see them from the television or in magazines, some are just a mile near you and others may be someone you know, may it be a neighbor, a friend or even yourself. Sharing and spreading misleading informations of some celebrities or even their neighbors. or coworkers or other people is a gossip.

But do you know that there's danger in gossip?

Some people may look into gossip as a harmless thoughts and comments, but for the one who's subjected to a gossip, s/he can be affected deeply.

The most damaging and dangerous part of gossip is that it steals and breaks another person’s reputation.

Reputation is an overall quality or character as seen or judged by people in general.

Reputation is fragile and when you decide to gossip, you're definitely helping in destroying someone else's reputation.

Gossip can ruin friendships, any kind of relationships, and marriages. It can create huge issues about trust between people and the people being involved.

It can ruin a person's self-confidenceand develop low self-esteem. Life of the victim can be miserable.

Gossiping is a harmful behavior that breeds distrust and bitterness so if you can, just avoid it. Before you share a hurtful story or condemning thoughts, ask yourself first, why you are sharing these things about someone else's life with a particular person.

Always keep in mind the Golden Rule:

“Do unto others as you would have them do unto you”

So, if you talk about others, they’ll talk about you. Choose your friends wisely and never judge a person based on a gossip you've heard. Do not link with people who find joy in belittling others.

Free yourself from gossip through ignoring them. Being gossiped about can be extremely hurtful. If you don’t want it done to you, don’t do it to others.


Please comment down below your opinions and share your thoughts with me about this.

You can also hit the Like button & Subscribe your dearest @eommaZel 🌸

13
$ 0.13
$ 0.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of eommaZel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for eommaZel
3 years ago

Comments

gossiping is not good, it can cause you anything, your friendship amongst others and that is why I stay at arms lenght with those who gossip, I don't relate well with people who gossip

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm a victim of that, it happened when i got a job, a cassual only but neighbors are being jealous. Instead of supporting me and watch over my kids for some time, they fabricate stories that ruined my day. But i take that as a lesson. We are good now, but i don't trust them anymore.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I've been through that too. I been through a lot of criticisms when I get pregnant with my first son. People made up stories about my partner and spread tales about him which are not true. But we still stick together through the hard times, when most people were against us. Now, we're happy and stayed stronger than before, and those people didn't win to ruin our relationship and our lives. I also forgive those people but I too, never give them trust anymore.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm glad you didn't let those people ruin your relationship. 😊 And right, once trust is broken its difficult be retrieved and worst never be retrieved again.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That serves as a lesson to me and the saddest part was those people runs the same blood with me. Yes, I agree with you that's why I never give away my trust easily, unless that person is worth to be trusted. But if the trust is broken, consider it not be fixed again.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I always stay far away from those who gossip. It shows immaturity to me and they will carry whatever you tell them and tell it to others. I just can't deal with that

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Same with me, I can't bear to listen the gossips about someone I know or about me. But to put off the light on the fuel, I just ignore them and do my thing. I don't want to be miserable just because of their gossip.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah it affects most of the people, causing harm to others reputation and also to spread unreliable news, better think about the real source and do not trust someones hearsays

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, you're absolutely right. I don't why there's still couple of people who loves to gossip about someone. Always looking and keep telling someone else's flaws, I don't know what gossip can pay them. Every time I encountered such act, I just listen and ignore it to cut the gossip to spread.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They do it to pleasure themselves, aside from hurting o causing harm to others.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, those people who do this are insensitive about the feelings of the others. Something comparable with being selfish too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago