How Do I Deal When Boredom Strikes

13 36
Avatar for eommaZel
2 years ago

Boredom might strike us everywhere, anywhere, and anytime at any moment in our day-to-day living. There are times where you are doing something but you lose your will to do it due to some circumstances and later on, you’ll find yourself bored. Making you slack off and unproductive.

I could relate to this, even I was so busy at home with the chores I am facing every day, boredom has been part of some of my days. And honestly, I don’t like the feeling, it kills me, it kills slowly my will to do something. So, I recognize I need to battle and deal with the boredom I am encountering.

The first thing I recognize when I am bored is I found myself holding my phone scrolling back and forth my feed in any of my social media accounts.

So, I sometimes refrain from opening some social media, and if I do, I’ll just watch some videos such as Do-it-yourself crafts and some movies.

And actually, what gave me the guts to write about this topic is because I am certainly feeling it today, I am bored. 😶

Dealing with boredom could be challenging at times, being bored, motionless and silent for hours is truly Boring! This state truly makes my inactivity at times but I believed it’s normal however being a normal feeling doesn’t mean we should let it win over us. Let’s fight our boredom together!

How Do I Deal When Boredom Strikes?

Music 🎵

First on my list is music, I guess most of us here love to listen to the music of our favorite singer, band, or genre especially when we have nothing to do in particular making boredom strike our mood. Sometimes when I lose my energy and whenever I am unsatisfied with whatever I do, I will just turn on my music player to fight my boredom. Some of my playlists are songs by Rascal Flatts, Bryan Adams, the 90’s bands like West life, Savage garden, A1, but recently I go classic even more, I made a new playlist and it’s all about the Disney official soundtracks I like.

Listening to music is truly one of the best things to do when you want to win over your dull feeling. The vibes it gives you most especially when your favorite song is being played gives you extra energy and replenishes your soul to regain its vitality.

Have someone to talk to 💬

If I am bored and I don’t like to feel being alone, I will just walk to my cousin’s house so I could have someone to talk with. It’s always best to talk to the people you are most comfortable with, with whom you could express your true feelings, jolliness, and foolish side. And whenever my cousin and I have a chance to bond, our hours will be filled with laughter through sharing and arguing about our fun experiences, which might be recent or from the past.

And believe me, talking to someone whom you are most comfortable with will surprise you that time passes by quickly.

Be Nostalgic ⌛

This is one of my favorite thing to do, honestly, this is where I am good at, at being nostalgic. Remembering the old days, from the good, the worst, the most embarrassing moments I had makes my heart filled with that great feeling of them yesterday. My best partner about this is my husband. Whenever we’re both bored, we will talk about the past, from his childhood to mine, on how we met, or about the craziest things we did in our relationship. Through that, we fully forgot about our boredom and our time will be filled with pleasant bonding moments, another moment to reminisce when the time comes.

Do Cleaning 🧹

And here’s one of my common ways to battle boredom daily. As I’ve said, despite being busy as a bee at home, boredom always strikes me at the most unexpected time of the day. And it makes me sluggish, and not satisfied with my progress on that particular day. So, to fight that feeling, I need to move my muscles and I could do it effortlessly with some cleaning.

Our room is the first and foremost place I always clean. Honestly speaking, I hate to see our room in a mess so as much as I could, I will clean it up and make it pleasant in my eyes.

Our living is always the last part of the house that I clean up. It is where the kids play the whole day so cleaning it early in the day will make my efforts useless, I swear, I never want to clean over again and again and again the whole day.

Walking and Photography 📸

I bet I’ve already shared with you how many times my love for walking these days. Walking outside may it be on the roadside, or in the garden gives me a nice sensation that makes me forget boredom easily. Especially when the fresh air will touch my skin or I could feel the warmth of the sun, I always feel energized and boosts my will to move. But I am not walking alone, my eyes are wandering around to see what I could photograph.

Sometimes when the weather is fine I will point my camera lens to the sky and take a shot, or when I saw some unique flowers/plants or even insects that intrigue me, I will have my photos of them using my phone camera. Then when I will have arrived home, I will have the photos I took examined one by one, to see which should be deleted and which deserves my gallery’s spot.

One of my recent shots

Try to be Creative

Lastly, but not the last, I am trying to be creative. When I feel sudden boredom, I sometimes try to make a logo but today my imagination hasn’t completely come back to my senses. But I am mostly creating watermarks on which I could use in my photos uploaded both in noise.cash and here on read. cash too. Also, I do the lead images of my drafts so I could publish them quickly if ever I have finished some.

Making my ‘own’ lead images became my hobby now, and I guess it is useful to me, this way, I could practice my mini creativity within me.

I have still a lot to add but let me just end it here, I think I talked too much making this article boring. 🤣

But before I finish it up, while chitchatting with my favorite cousin a while ago, while I was composing the first lines of this writing, I asked her opinion about how she deals with her boredom, then she answers me, just listening to music. While during our lunch, I asked my hubby the same question too, he then answered me, by watching animes, movies, and some Italian cooking videos, and his most preferred thing to do is, guess what, ‘to sleep’. 🙃

By asking them, you could observe that we all have our differences in dealing with circumstances such as when boredom strikes us, but whatever your way is, as long as you beat it in the end, you are doing terrific.

But I also come to think of it, probably our life would be boring too without getting bored even just for once, kidding aside, being active, satisfied, and joyous is better than this boring sensation, right?

To combat your boredom and let yourself fire it up and shine.

Who would have thought I got this article out from my boredom today? Because of the boring day that gave me boredom, I thankfully battled it and here, this writing was made. Thanks!

But then, I am not looking forward to another boring day.

How about you, how do you deal when it strikes you?

Written by: @eommaZel ✍🏻🥀

Date Published: January 10, 2022


5
$ 5.30
$ 5.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @ExpertWritter
+ 1
Sponsors of eommaZel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for eommaZel
2 years ago

Comments

Ang cute nun pinag uusaan nyo yun past nyo ng husband mo sis.. Naku sa husband ko eh di ko magawa yan kasi seloso sya eh, hehe.. Although ngayon eh kaag bored kami preho, nag joyride kami..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As for me, I also do the cleaning and listening to music. But when I really got bored. I just let myself felt asleep and do nothing, to make myself at ease. Eventually, I found out that I should really just be active, physically, mentally, emotionally, and spiritually. As what you have said, "Boredom might strike us everytime, anytime." But, letting it go through will just lead other complications like inviting negative vibes.Hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

May same pla ako na naglilinis nlng tlga para malibang hehehe. Pero true sis, it doesn't mean na pag bored tayo hayaan nlng tayong lamunin ng boredom.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun nga, kaya dapat gumawa din tayo nang paraan para malibang sa mga times na nabo.bored na tayo..Hehe :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here ate Haha nakikinig din ako ng music pag bored minsan nagbabasa nalang din ako dito wala namang bago or manuod nalang ng kdrama ganun.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahah ay nakalimutan ko, yan din minsan pampalipas oras ko ang mgonline dto at sa noise, kaso minsan nilalayo ko tlga phone ko sa kin. Baka scroll na naman sa shopee atupagin ko. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have the same stuff that do when boredom comes to us. I also just want to laydown and listen to music but sometimes when the beat is good it makes me dance hahaha just only in my room because I'm too shy when my parents are around.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha me too, I am fully not into dancing but some beats make my body groove, yet I only do this to make my children laugh. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha so we are a good dancers we make a great team hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Watching European Football , especially EPL , Laliga. These two leagues can kill boredom fast. Apart from this , Religious Activities especially attending Church programmes can do the magic as well. I subscribe to those things you introduced as boredom killer especially listening to Cool music. It is a therapy that works wonders. Thanks greatly for sharing.. keep it up.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you! Attending Church programs is the best way too. And I guess most of us love to listen to music as our therapy of boredom. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These are actually wonderful tips to kill our boredom, I applied two of them most, to hearing music and doing house cleaning.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe, those were the common ways to kill our boredom, glad I have the same way by cleaning hehehe. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago