Grew up in a broken family: What it taught me

44 85
Avatar for eommaZel
3 years ago

A family would be happier if complete, that's what I thought since I grew up in a broken family. Maybe, things would be better and lighter if we are complete as a family if I grow up with a mother's care. Living in an incomplete family is hard, you can't tell how hard it is unless you're one who's living in a broken family.

Every broken family has its own stories, why it ended up broken or incomplete. I have my own story too, things were complicated when I am still young. I just knew that there's something wrong with my parents. They fought and quarrel every night, daily. But I heard some stories about why they do quarrel, but I didn't dare to ask them if it was true until now.

I know that family problems come in all shapes and sizes; some are short-lived and easily managed, while others are more lasting and difficult to handle. And those family problems my parents handled ended in broken promises, broken hopes and eventually ended up a broken family.

Honestly, a broken family has a huge impact on what I am today as a person. I am molded and shaped through the hardships and struggles I faced.

Overcoming my Weakness

Most people will say children who grew up in a broken family most likely will become unruly individuals as they grow. Some might be rebellious and will do or engage in bad vices, such as alcohol, fraternities, and worst, drugs. That is because children from a broken family have less supervision from an adult, from their parents to be exact. But I'm thankful those bad deeds didn't enter my mind not even once.

Here, I just recently found my report card when I was in kindergarten. It was too old but my teacher's remarks are still readable.

She said,

“Try to participate in class discussions to overcome your shyness.”

Yes, I grew up as a shy person. From I was young until I'm in school. That shyness is my weakness, and did you know why I am shy? It's because I am shy about me, about my family. It hurts to think that I'm living in a house in which I completely felt that emptiness. I am shy when someone will ask about my mom.

“Where's your mom? I haven't seen her. ”

Those words will make me mute for minutes. It gives me complete silence, for I don't know what to answer them. But as I grew up and age, I learned to cope up with my family's situation, I learned to accept the truth and the fact that we are broken as a family, that I can't do anything about it. It's hard but all I have to do is accept it and overcome my shyness. And I always thought that no one will backup me whenever I'm in trouble, that all I have is me, but I was wrong. As the saying says, “No man is an Island” when I was in elementary, I have a group of friends where I can open up to with. They're my best friends, my companions and they didn't know that they helped me in overcoming my situation and myself. I engaged in my school activities and proved to myself that I can overcome my shyness.

Here are some of my certificates received from joining some school competitions.

*I found these certificates unexpectedly in my storage box.

The Value of Home

Growing up in a broken family makes me vulnerable. At a very young age, I saw my mom and dad fought until they cried. I saw their weaknesses in front of me, which makes me never wanted to have a broken family in the future. I learned to value our home, that if I'll have my own family in the future, I will never let them suffer what I have suffered when my family was torn apart. And here I am, having my own family, raising my children with values and respect. When problems hit our family, we never surrender, instead, my partner and I became stronger as years passed. We value our relationship, our family our home. We won't let problems ruined us, we consider it as lessons in life to make us more productive and stronger as our family grows.

My Compassion

I knew at that very young age that I can't have all the things that I want to have. I learned to be compassionate to myself and ers. As I experienced too much loneliness at home, to see my family's situation, I learned to show kindness and empathy to others. I don't want someone to feel lonely in front of my eyes too. For me, I d be easier for someone who's struggling if he has a companion, a pal who's beside him. In those times, all I need was someone who can understand me, someone who is willing to listen, and that's what I did to other kids like me who are suffering too.

I became Independent

When my mom decided to left us, I became a mother and an older sister in an instant. I have an older brother with me, but I saw that he. wasn't capable of a woman's duty. He is struggling and I can see that he. suffers more than I was. He was too affected, that he stopped one year of school. At the age of six, I was taught to cook. Before my parents took part ways, my. mom trained me in the kitchen. I cooked our meals, but only simple and easy meals. Then it became my training ground, as years passed, I became independent. I am fearless than my brother, after I graduated from college, I decided to find a job and live independently. I became brave, as I was mold to be braver when I was still young. That I know that I need to be tough and be strong for myself as life continues.

Distance myself from Toxic People

I saw my family has torn apart in front of me. Honestly, a broken family is a toxic environment to grow up with. I saw raging emotions, I've heard foul words, and saw the worst scenarios right in front of my eyes. From those experiences, I learned to distance myself from toxic people. It is easier for me to differentiate people and their intentions. If who can be a threat to my life and those who are not. I'm not judging a person easily, but I know the qualities of toxic personality as I saw and define toxicity when I was still young.

Protective

Yes, it taught me to protect the people whom I love. I don't want them to feel physical and emotional pain. I remembered when my brother was sick at home alone, I asked my teacher if I could go home to look over him. My classmates laughed at me, they told me that my brother was a “cry baby”. I cried and my teacher comforted me. She said I can go home, she understands my situation, she knew that we have no mother at home. I felt angry with my classmates, I don't want someone to laugh at my brother. I became a young protector, I was grade 5 at that time. And now, I carry the same trait as I have my own family. I am overprotective of them, especially my kids. I don't want them to be hurt, I am easily hurt by someone who does badly against them. So, I'm trying to protect them as much as I could, just to ensure that no one can harm them.

Selflessness

I learned to be thrifty and selfless, I became more concerned with the needs and wishes of others than with my own. My father was a public teacher, he has no time for us because he was busy with school works. He has no time to cook for us, and usually, he left us our daily school allowance and it includes expenses for our food. But our father wasn't even to us, he gave me a bigger allowance than my brother has. I cared so much for my brother, thinking that he is the only one who can understand me, we only have each other. What I did was, I won't take a recess (break) and saved my money and after school, will buy food for us to be shared. I often do this just to make my brother happy.

Of course, those were just my pure personal thoughts and experiences growing up in a broken family.

Image from Pinterest

Despite those hard times living with it, I know as I've said before, everything happens for a reason. That our family should stay broken because it is the best choice to be. And our family is chosen because we can handle it and can surpass it. I still respect my parents why did chose to live part ways. I never hated them nor blame them. All I did was accept it, and live with it. No one wants to be a part. of a broken family so am I. Being part of it was life-changing. It can change your life negatively or positively. It's up to you how you deal with it. If you're from a broken family like me, don't let it negatively change you.

“Don't let your broken family broke you.”

Now that I have my own family, I know better how to deal with family problems. No matter how hard life will throws us, I know we can make it, as long as we're doing our parts as parents. I'm glad we never experience quarrels, pinpointing, and have fought for baseless arguments.

“Families and their problems go on and on, and they aren’t solved, they’re dealt with.”– Roger Ebert

“The bond that links your true family is not one of blood, but of respect and joy in each other’s life.” –Richard Bach

Written by @eommaZel✍🏻🥀


*Other images from Unsplash

Related Article:

What it's like to be part of a broken family

26
$ 3.25
$ 3.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @RaemaKhan
$ 0.01 from @Thremos
Sponsors of eommaZel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for eommaZel
3 years ago

Comments

It will take you a lot when you come from a broken family

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So sad to know about your experience. I'm sure that time will help you heal the wounds acquired from being in a broken family. But you know what? Not all compete family are happy. I grew up in a complete family but I was never happy, I've witnessed my dad and uncles constantly fight overy grannies wealth and that affects how he deals with us. We we're complete but we never had a good communication with each other. My siblings also fights everytime and doesn't have any respect for me so i sometimes think that it's better not see them. But i can since they're my family.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is also painful to see that your family is physically complete but it's like broken because there's no communication and bonding among the family members.

$ 0.01
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

That's true mommy, that's why I always thought that it's for the better, that we became broken than seeing my parents fight every night and our house was full of negativities and toxicity.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah. Kami kasi Ganon. Though my parents didn't fight but I didn't see the love anymore, they are just together because of us. There's no problem with my Papa. Sa Mama ko lang. Kaya I said to myself na never mgiging Ganon family na bubuuin ko.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Ay sad naman. Yung sa parents ko kasi ilang beses nilang tnry buuin ulit kaso wala eh. Umabot sa point na ngkakasakitan na sila at may mga pulis na. Super hirap talaga, ang hirap maipit sa ganong sitwasyon. At yan din pangako ko sa sarili ko dati eh. Ayoko maging katulad ng pamilya ko ang bubuuin kong pamilya. Blessed din nmn tayo kahit papano, nbiyayayaan ng pamilyang buo at nasa atin na kung pano natin pahalagahan at alagaan. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ganon siguro talaga. Mas okay pa na maghiwalay kesa naman nagging toxic na yung relationship

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Amazing story

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good saying Plz also visit my article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kudos to you! For overcoming the situation you have. Other people just make their broken family as an excuse but you make it as strengths to be a better person. Wish you all the best! 😊

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thank you so much for your kind words. And that's why I'm sharing this with people who might undergo the same situation as I did. I'm wishing you all the best too. Thank you so much. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice one, you still have one of those documents wey back from kindergarten.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Oh, yes dear I found it unexpectedly too. And was amazed that my father kept it for so long. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am also from a broken family.I know everything about that you shared with us.Most importantly we cannot share our problems to anyone.We are living with many crisis and many uncounted problems.But sure one day a broken family will be shine by the grace of Allah.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Yes, that is true. I'm afraid to share my story with other people. I'm afraid that they might not understand me and judge me. But I know everything happens for a reason, no matter what reason is that, as long as we make it as an inspiration and motivation to be a better individual.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah sure.we have to motivated and change the system.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know the feeling momshie, I am also from a broken family.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh, I did not know it. I'm glad that you overcome it sis. Now that you have your own family, I wish all the best for you and I know that you love and value your family so much.😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you momshie, likewise..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very pantastic article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Most children from broken families, Irritated and frustrated with life. Because they have no hope of any happiness in life ahead. I'm glad you thought well of your future that you would do much better with your family than what happened to you. The sign of a good person is that he learns a good lesson from his life

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much for your kind words and valuable comment. I saw the effects of it on my brother who became rebellious in his teenage years. But as years passed he became mature and realized things shouldn't be like that. I'm glad that just in time he changed his perspective in life and decided to accept it too. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Most welcome dear, I think Even younger siblings are influenced by older siblings and come out on the right path

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Actually he's older than me. But I'm glad and grateful that he did. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's really very Great Dear,

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very useful. Nice article. Follow me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

good for you for getting to where you are today. There is nothing anyoine can say to show they know how you feel, but Im glad you can write here about it!

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thank you so much, and I'm grateful that I did overcome it. It isn't easy, but I need to that's why I did. I'm glad that there are people who are willing to listen and show support too. I'm very grateful. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

absolutely! I would to listen/read your stories! im subscribing =)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much. I'm subscribing you too. I wish to see some updates and read your future articles as well. I wish you all the best. 😊❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great message! Thank you for sharing!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for your appreciation. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Brave and interesting live story. The young always absorb most of their whole lives subconscious behavior before the age of 8. On editor's note: don't say 'broken' that many times, it affects the reading pace and you try to point it out too many times, use synonyms or let it be implicit (is declared from the very title after all).

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Wow, thanks for that suggestions, actually I made this article just last night and I haven't checked it before publishing. I appreciate your valuable comment, I'll make my writings better next time. 😊❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice story Dear keep writing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You experience it and you learn from it, that's a good start. You have your family now, just do whatever it takes to protect your family now so that your kids won't experience the same. Even if it taught you something, not everyone can pass it, not everyone is as strong as you, not everyone can take it. Don't let it happen to your kids and make your family a well loved and God fearing family. Love can saved all.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Yes thank you dear. That's what I'm doing now, and you're absolutely right. Not every one who's from a broken family can surpass it. That's why I'm sharing this to everyone. I'm thankful that I was given a complete family of my own. Now I'm doing everything I can just to protect them and give them a better life. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Glad to know that, I didn't experience having a broken family but I know the feeling of it, I have a friend that just like that too but hmshe surpass it all. And she has her own family now too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm glad that your friend overcome it. And I know she will love her family and value it so much, knowing that she came from a broken family. The fear of getting a broken family of her own is always there.

$ 0.00
3 years ago