What it's like to be part of a Broken Family

20 78
Avatar for eommaZel
3 years ago

Family is just a one-word but has different meanings. We have our own definition of the term family.

For me, a family is consisting of two parents and their children. Nurturing, guiding, and supporting each other with unconditional love and unending care.

A picture of a perfect family consists of a mother, a father, and their children.

Others are fortunate, being born and raised by their own family.

Who does not want a happy and complete family?

Having your own parents who are always ready to support, nurture, and protect you. Having a complete meal altogether in one table, sharing all the good times together, and sharing unending stories to tell.

Oh! how happy it could be.

But I'm less fortunate, for I was a part of a broken family.

What it's like to be part of a broken family?

A broken family is a family where parents decided to take both separate ways. Living in this kind of situation is embarrassing. I grew up with my mom and dad who always quarrel. They're like cats and dogs every day. Other people may not see it, but our family is broke, and I witnessed how it shuttered in front of my eyes.

It hurts and stressful. It feels like you're isolated, and you're not part of this happy society. It really hurts and embarrassing at the same time, It feels like I'm the only one with a messed up family. I never told my friends and my classmates about this. I don't want them to pity me, for I pity myself a lot already.

"Why do I have to suffer like this?"

"Can't I become happy too?"

I can't remember if how many times I have asked my self these questions. Keeping me to ask my self, why of all people, my family is chosen to be torn apart?

I felt extreme sadness during school activities, especially family days. I was hurt every time I saw other kids who are happy and sharing laughter with their parents. It feels like you're not welcome and don't belong to this event at all.

When I think about the future, I fear having a broken family of my own. I always told my self, when I grow up, I don't want my own family to be broken just like what happened to us. I'll do whatever it takes not to put my future children into this kind of situation.

But as time passed, self-blame and self-pity will slowly fade, I just think bigger, it's not my fault after all. No one wanted to have a family like this. Maybe this is just a life obstacle that I need to pass. Our family is chosen because we can handle it and can surpass it.

I never hated my parents on what path they've chosen. It is better to stay like this than to hear them quarrel and see them hurting each other every time. I know they made the right decision after all.

Living and dealing in this kind of family situation is hard, and hurtful, but I know everything has its own reasons.

We don't have; nor can choose a perfect life, but somehow, you can live your life that way you want it to be.

And I choose to accept it and handle it to live with it. I choose to be happy despite those hurtful rememberings.

I may not be fortunate with my family, I know I am blessed with so many things and aspects in life.

70
$ 1.52
$ 1.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @bbghitte
Sponsors of eommaZel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for eommaZel
3 years ago

Comments

Very admirable how you handle everything. Some families are complete but never felt happy and still feel empty. God bless you :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for the kind words. I'm just thankful that I wasn't carried away from the situation. It was indeed hurtful and I felt extreme loneliness, but I need to go on with my life. At a very young age, I have encountered many family problems and I thanked God He never abandoned me. I just prayed to Him and talked to Him especially at those downfalls. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Family’s priority is first and I agree with you. Nicely described and your used every word is truly right πŸ™‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm happy for your comment my dear friend. Thanks for appreciating my writings. ☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great topic you've chosen dear.It's very common to see children raised from broken homes nowadays, most of them having been got out of wedlock and handed down to the "family" to cater for them.Some others are raised by single parents. Bad upbringing is often the outcome, as these children don't get to enjoy the benefit of good parenting and guidance. On the whole,it brings up bad citizens in the society.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I think broken families are very common but the feelings the children been through was not recognized. It was hurtful and embarrassing, self-pity and self-blame could develop in children. Sometimes, they'll blame themselves, why are they born just to suffer. It was hard, but later on they'll found out that it was for the better. It's the best way for them to be raised like this, than to suffer. everyday from quarrels.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A very sad reality...amazing choice of topic

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks dear, it was sad yet I know it is for the better. I don't want to grew up and see them shouting and hurtung each other. It'll be more stressful and depressing. Thank you for your comment. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great article. Family is the biggest blessing of God ..no one can plays the role as family plays for us . They sacrifice each other needs for the sake of other members

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you, and yes it could be the biggest blessing I could get but unfortunately, my parents were not blessed enough to cater their responsibilities in their relationship and with us. But I'm thankful, somehow it makes me think bigger the meaning of life and I can say I became stronger to face life's obstacles. Thank you for your honest thoughts. I really appreciate it. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great information families are blessings .......a nice information

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Y’all really need to stop posting comments about him and Selena. It obviously didn’t work for them and Justin is sooo happy with hailie. Like seriously stop and just be happy for him! I

$ 0.00
3 years ago

good writing my dear friend...you are absolutely right...nowadays separation is a common problem...we should prevent the problem

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, that's why it's best for couple to know themselves better before going to a higher level. There must be a good trust and proper communication between them. They need to understand the flaws and weaknesses of each other. Because broken family is not a joke, children are mostly affected of this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

😍😍😍😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The separation of parents does not mean that boys and girls suffer. May Allah give true understanding to all parents. They do not make this difficult decision.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, because children are mostly affected by this. But if it's for the better, they may choose it. And unfortunately, I belong in this situation but somehow, I am thankful of it. I became independent and stronger to face life's challenges thrown against me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Right you are.best of luck For your life .Be happy in you life

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you.. Be hapoy in your life too., 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will support you friend.

$ 0.00
3 years ago