For the first time: Still a Happy Birthday

18 34
Avatar for eommaZel
2 years ago

β€œIt's okay, pa, what’s important is, you're happy.”

Supposedly, this day should be an ordinary day for us. No events or occasions to be celebrated.

But a simple suggestion last February 4, made this day special.

Last February 4 was my Auntie's 50th birthday, we were invited to celebrate with her and we hang out at her place the whole day.

While we were taking a quick rest with our full stomachs, she suddenly uttered a suggestion...

β€œWhy not tell your father to celebrate his birthday here, it's on February 21, right?”

I was amused when I heard her suggest it.

I grow up with my father and he was always busy with school works since he's a teacher in a public high school. And to tell you, honestly, my father never celebrated his even during my younger years.

Mostly he celebrated his birthday at their school with his co-teachers because the date of his birthday has classes.

A post by his co-teacher 2years ago.

He is the man in the green shirt.

And when he went home from work, he will just serve us roasted chicken for dinner. That was his celebration annually that I remember.

So hearing those words from my Auntie made my ears clap.

I honestly wanted to give my father a decent birthday celebration but I am financially unstable yet.

Then on February 5, it was Saturday, my father visited us here in the house. He's living far from us now so he only visits his grandsons every Saturday or Sunday.

I told him about his sister's (my Auntie's) suggestion and I told him to discuss what's his decision with her.

Unfortunately, he didn't see my Auntie that day because she wasn't at her house.

Then recently last Saturday, my Auntie informed me that my father and she chatted and agreed to celebrate his birthday here but instead of February 21, they agreed to just make it happen on the 20th since he has office work on the 21st which is Monday.

Our Auntie handed us 1 kl of Spaghetti plus the ingredients for the occasion. While my father pleaded to bring native chicken tinola for us to share on lunch.

This is the first time he celebrated his birthday, it'll be also the first time to sing him a birthday song.

Aside from that, we informed their Eldest sister who is just living in the same compound with us that his brother will be celebrating his birthday here for the first time.

We waited for this day to happen, and today his birthday was successfully dedicated.

It was 10 am when my father arrived with his new wife and their adopted child.

Yes, my father has had a new family since my mother and he broke up for almost more than 10 years already which I accepted wholeheartedly.

He brought food for us to share but he wanted to hold his birthday at my Auntie's house just across the street and I just agreed with what he wanted.

They brought chicken adobo, native chicken tinola, cheese sticks or cheese spring rolls, and pancit guisado meaning that he truly prepared for this event.

Sorry, it's blurry
Sorry, it's blurry. πŸ˜…

While my Auntie bought him a cake.

His grandsons were so happy to see him and sang him a Happy Birthday song over and over again.

But what made me a bit upset, was their other siblings didn't come even their eldest sister who just lives beside our house.

It hurts me, to be honest, my dad didn't do anything against them, but maybe she couldn't accept that my father has a new wife because she and my mother got a tight bond.

But we all know that the past can't be undone and the present should be accepted.

I could see in my father's eyes that he was a little sad knowing his other siblings failed to show up. They are 6 of them, and one of his sisters lives in Pampanga while the rest are here in Iloilo in our hometown.

But then, we don't want to ruin the day so we just celebrated with him the whole day, me, my husband, the two kids, his new wife, and their kid, my cousin bestie, my Auntie, and my father.

His happiness matters to me a lot, so I accepted his decision to have a new wife. And I could see that he is happy and healthy, he smiles and less stressed, even my Auntie noticed it too.

I still have huge respect for him and owe him so much for the sacrifices he made just to raise me and my eldest brother alone. He might not be the best husband for my mother but he's a great father to me.

Tomorrow is his actual birthday, he will be turning 57.

And after dinner tonight, we chatted on the messenger, I checked him and asked him how he was feeling.

Then he answered me that despite his other siblings didn't attend, he was still happy, and that's what amounts to something to me.

I could now rest after the tiring day with a smile and a delighted heart.

Ps: Sorry I failed to take some shots of the celebration today, I couldn't use my phone well because I am attending to a hyper toddler. πŸ˜…

Thank you for reading!

@eommaZel ✍🏻πŸ₯€


8
$ 5.96
$ 5.75 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 3
Sponsors of eommaZel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for eommaZel
2 years ago

Comments

OMG, Happy Birthday kamoo at least nakapag celebrate sya with you all. Sana happy sya, kaso may work pala aguyy Pero sana masaya sya πŸŽ‰πŸ₯³πŸ₯³πŸŽ‚πŸŽ‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Please greet him a happy birthday for me Ma'am. πŸ₯³

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you ng marami. πŸ€—πŸ’—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Birthday sa kanya madam 😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks, Janeeyy πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Spag and cake, yummy! Happy Birthday sa papa mo sis. πŸŽ‰πŸ’—

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you sissy. πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a dearest thing to make your dad happy and be happy for him, anyway Happy birthday to your dadπŸŽŠπŸŽ‰πŸ™Œ

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, sis, I know he was happy and that's the most important thing to me. πŸ€— Thank you! πŸ’—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for making your dad happy! And advance blessed birthday sa kanya. I know you really made him feel better po. :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks bhe. πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy belated birthday to your aunt and happy birthday to your father in advance. You're right if your father is happy with his new family them you too need feel happy for him just for showing your respect towards him and his decision.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, acceptance is the key to making things better and lighter. And besides, I know someone takes good care of him since he is away with us, which makes me feel happy too.☺ Thank you! πŸ’–

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So it was your Auntie's suggestion to celebrate his birthday, and that's good he agreed to celebrate it on 20th February. The food is looking delicious, and happy birthday to him.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, my Auntie suggested it, and I'm glad it really happen. πŸ’— Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Advance Happiest Birthday to your dad sis! πŸŽ‰β€οΈ More years to come and always in good health. πŸ™

My dad and yours are the same sis. My dad's birthday is February also. It's the best feeling that you can witness the happiness of your father sis. I'm sure your father enjoyed a lot during the celebration. The foods are all mouth watering sis. 🀀

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks sis, hehe kahit di kmi complete, basta happy sya happy narin ako. ☺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sis at yan ang mahalaga. You're welcome sis. ❀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago