Count Your Blessings

38 157
Avatar for eommaZel
3 years ago

It was a cold rainy day yesterday, and it makes me think about the upcoming Yuletide season, Christmas is coming! And of course, I listen to some good music, some Christmas songs. And I saw a Playlist on Facebook, a Christmas songs medley by a Filipino Singer/Composer, Jose Marie Chan. He was very popular especially during Christmas, most of the Christmas songs being played on the radio was his songs.

I enjoyed the good relaxing music, and to be honest I was moved by one of the songs I played. This song catches my attention and my heart. The song I'm referring to is “Count your Blessings instead of Sheep”. Maybe this song was only a rendition, and the song I heard was the version of Jose Marie Chan. It was simple, relaxing but if you'll listen deeply the song has a deep message.

“When I'm worried and I can't sleep

I count my blessings instead of sheep

And I fall asleep counting my blessings

When my bankroll is getting small

I think of when I had none at all

And I fall asleep counting my blessings”

Those lyrics moved me, those simple thoughts were so deep. I can relate to it and make me think deeper in life.

I admit there were times where I can't sleep easily, not because I have sleep problems, but I have something in my head that keeps lingering instead. Some personal and deep thoughts about my family, and the future. I admit that I am a worried mom, a worried partner, and a worried person, I'm just a human being after all. However, despite all of those worries in life, I never forget to give thanks for the blessings I've received, small or big.

Counting your blessings, what does it mean?

Honestly, blessings for me are not only material things but all the good in my life. My children, my partner, my family are my greatest blessings in life. So for me, counting your blessings means trying to appreciate and be grateful for all the good that happened in your life too. I know life isn't perfect. I doubt even the richest man in the world has a perfect life. Instead complaining about what you don't have, be grateful for what you have small or big, it is still a blessing.

And the song reminds me to appreciate the little things in life. Though our life isn't perfect, our family faces difficulties and problems sometimes, still, I am grateful that we overcome it.

Appreciating the little things in life

At the age of 25, I thought about my present situation and the future. I saw my classmates working abroad, building their own house, has a stable job, and I am here living pretty normal and happy with my family. No, I don't have regrets that I didn't achieve what they've achieved. I am just happy for them, and to be honest, I am happy in my life too, I don't need to compare myself to others, comparison will just make it tough for me to appreciate little things in my life. I'm just enjoying every sip in my coffee cup, enjoying the moments while my kids and I are still young. I know that life is too short, I can't live hundreds of years and guide them forever, but I want to see them grow up to be good individuals in the future.

You may not notice the little things in life that you have, you don't know that they matter most and has a huge impact on your living. If you'll learn to appreciate all the good in your life, little or big, you'll learn how to stop emphasizing the meaning of bad events to your life, stop the complaints, and consequently, you'll find a valuable source of mental balance instead.

In life we may face different stressors, making us hard to come up with crucial decisions, and the easiest way to relieve it is to take a deep breath, breathe slowly, it can help you to calm down, you may not notice it but taking ep and slow breathing helps a lot in your whole. When I'm full of doubts and stresses, I always breathe in and out slowly, it is to calm myself and to help me think of the right actions to take. After I became calm, I'll think of the good things that happened instead of looking at the negativities that give me stress.

If you want to appreciate what you have, you should stop the comparison too. I can say that comparison will only make it hard for you to notice and appreciate what you have. In life, not all people are born rich, and honestly, I'm one of them. I never envy wealthy people, I'm happy in our simple life, but it doesn't mean I want to stay like this forever, of course, I have my dreams too and one if it is to give my family a good life. But to make it do come true, I need to do my part too. Thinking positively that I can achieve it someday in God's perfect time.

Being grateful and always practice the act of gratitude helps you in counting and appreciating what and who you have in life. I am always grateful to people who showed kindness to me, even one simple act of kindness will forever be remembered by me. Instead of counting our problems and people who don't like us, think about the people who helped you, and believe in you wholeheartedly. Be grateful to them, you may not notice their kindness but try to think deeply, they might have done something to you that change the way you look at life.

I'm just happy I was reminded by that song, to count my blessings. It was so deep that I was moved by it. Why we mostly count the negatives instead of the positives? Why we mostly live in what ifs?

If we do count the negativities, our life will just be miserable, stress, anxious, or worst it will just lead to depression. Making us dysfunctional well in living. So why not count your blessings instead? If you'll start to count and appreciate what you have in life, you'll found out that you are so blessed in life. That you are lucky you are still alive, for some people are struggling hard just to survive, some are ill with short years to live, some were not given a chance to see this world. If you think of it, you are lucky, we are still lucky in life.

“Count your blessings with gratitude no matter how small or big they are, and stop letting your lacks blindfold you from noticing how blessed that you are.” – Edmond Mbiaka

So if you feel like you're unmotivated, hopeless, worried and doubtful in life, why not try to count your blessings?

@eommaZel ✍🏻🥀


26
$ 0.44
$ 0.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
+ 2
Sponsors of eommaZel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for eommaZel
3 years ago

Comments

Good one

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you, but I hope to hear more from your insights and thoughts too. I hope that next time you can elaborate more of your point. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very nice music, I will be find this on internet

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, you should listen to this. It's very calming and relaxing to hear. Your mood can change eventually. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very Very nice article dear keep writing now

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for appreciating dear. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Success comes in different forms so we can never compare ourselves with others, though sometimes we can't avoid to blame ourselves and whine about what and how we become, but in the side lines there are also people admiring us just because of being us. So, yes count your blessings and just be grateful of every single thing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

amazing article wow !

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Beautiful weather I like it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well, I like cold days too., 🙂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love those songs. Very nicely you represent you though in this article. I really like it. Nice concets. Wonderfully written.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Me too. It's so relaxing and calming my inner soul. Thank you for your kind words dear. Thank you for appreciating my writing. ❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I feel you eommazel, sometimes i have thought about how my friends/classmate had achieved their goals in life. I admit that there are times that I cannot help comparing myselves to them, but seeing my family, my daughter grow made me realize that is already an achievement for me. Not everyone had the same family like i have. They may have material things but most of them doesn't have a complete family like i have.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Yes, dear and I'm happy that you have a complete family too. And I can see that you're a loving mother and I really adore you. Honestly, I came from a broken family and one of my fears is to have a broken family of my own. But I'm grateful that I have a family, a healthy, happy and loving family of my own. ❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Treasure your family eommazel...😉 Because at the end of the day, family is all that we have..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's true. 🤍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This really speaks to me. I feel like we need to honor where we are getting oulled to be ourselves, becasue we can never be someone else, and we will find our happiness if we do our best to not compare ourse;ves

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Yes and that's the reality of life, we can never be someone else. We have our unique characteristics, personalities, and stories that make us be ourselves today.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sometimes, We become so overwhelmed by the problems we face that we tend to forget about the blessings we have. So it is important to think about the blessing we have instead of focussing on our misfortunes.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

You are right pandagirl, dear. Though misfortunes are inevitable in life, let's just take them as lessons instead, and not knowing, it helps us build our self to be stronger and wiser as we grow.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Absolutely. We shouldn't focus on our misfortunes but make it as a stepping stone to grow up.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love listening to jose marie chan's xmas songs too..it really calms my mind.. And about your content, I honestly feel guilty everytime I compare myself to my colleagues.. The same as yours, at that age, 25, I compare myself to them. They already have stable jobs, working abroad, own house, own family.. But that time, i was still struggling in life.. But that actually motivates me to work harder..to accomplish what they have (except for family).. And now I am working abroad already.. Saving money so I can pursue what I want in the future..
There is nothing wrong with comparing yourselves to others, for as long as it wont give negative impact to you.. Instead make it a motovation to pursue what you want in life.. Not the same as what they have, but what you really want for your own..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I forgot to write down that, sometimes I compare myself to them too, but I use them as motivation and inspiration instead of jealousy. I know that at the right time, my time will come too. And you see, you're getting closer to your dreams, you serve as an inspiration too, not only to me but to other people, and you may not know about it. Thank you for inspiring me always. ❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for making me as an inspiration.. I am also inspired by the writings of many authors here. It includes you 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If we keep comparing our life to others we will not be happy. There will always be things that others have that we don't and they think the same. Focus on your self and make and keep yourself happy, count your blessings as you say blessings don't need to be just material things, the fact that we're alive, in good health and a smile in our face are already wonderful blessings. Thank you for being a blessing to me too bhe :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm so touched by your kind words mommy, and to be honest I don't know how can I be a blessing to you. But truthfully, you're the one who's a blessing, not only for me but for some users here. You inspire us every time with your kind words. I'm very grateful that I virtually met people like you here. Thank you so much. ❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

From the time that we opened our eyes every morning is already a blessing. When you survived a day eating 3 times its a blessing. There's a lot of thing you can be thankful for in this life. All we need it to open our eyes to see even the simplest blessing that God has given us. It is not about the luxury or tangible things. Even you, yourself is already a blessing to someone without knowing it.

$ 0.01
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

You're right mommy Yen. That's why I'm happy with my life even though we may not have much. But to see the precious smiles of my family, it melts my heart. I'm very glad that I have them in my life. They're my everything, my inspiration, and my life. ❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago