[#514] Restarting on a Clean Slate

4 48
Avatar for emily2u
9 months ago
Topics: Life, Blogging, Thoughts

Date: 27th July, 2023

It has really been a long time since I jotted down my random thoughts on read.cash. I had every intention to write, but then one day just rolled into another, and writing personal articles didn't become a priority. I have a few days free this week because I had already rushed through all my work earlier, as my co-worker is taking the rest of the week off. So, I decided that today is just as good as any day to write. If you checked my profile, you would notice that I have removed most of my old articles, but I took note of the dates of my first [#1] and last [#513] articles: 28th May 2021 and 3rd December 2022. So, this means a break of 7 months on read.cash.

I wish I have plenty of interesting things to share, but I haven't traveled since COVID-19 broke out. How exciting can things be just sitting at home in front of the computer? Luckily, I have work to occupy my mind and different things to fill my time, so life is still bearable. I might start traveling again next month. Nothing is concrete yet, but I am keeping my fingers crossed that everything works out well in my favor.

This year, a close friend of mine passed away from cancer. It's a sad time. Someone asked me why so many of my friends have passed on. How would I know? Perhaps it is because most of my friends are older than me... *shrug*

Just yesterday, I ended a situation-ship with someone else. Not just any relationship but a 12-year one. I'm not happy about it, but when it's not doing us any good, why continue with it? In a way, I am glad that COVID-19 happened; that made this decision easier to take since we are separated by such a great distance and have not seen each other for so many years. We live in different countries, you see.

I feel like so many things have changed, and yet nothing seems to have. Life for me right now is just telling you that Lucky Dog got sick with severe diarrhea, but after 2 visits to the vet and MYR350 lighter, she has recovered.

And with the opening of Hard Rock Cafe in my city, I am now starting to collect pins, courtesy of this complimentary one from the store manager to help me kickstart my new hobby. Are there any collectors here?

Well, guess what? Just when I thought that I am finally in a writing mood, I just received a work email with feedback from my client on a project that can't seem to wrap up since February. Can you imagine that?

4
$ 1.04
$ 1.00 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Tife.
Sponsors of emily2u
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for emily2u
9 months ago
Topics: Life, Blogging, Thoughts

Comments

Sorry about your close friend and the ending of the long relationship. It's good to see you writing again. A new hobby is great, I use to collect things. The thought of starting with something new makes me feel it will hit the pocket, haha. Now I think it about I'm kind of into trains now. I bought a book the other day about them and have been going to many places where there at like museums and rail yards. Do I do it for something to write or am I becoming obsessed, haha?

$ 0.05
9 months ago

Thanks for reading, commenting and of course, tipping. Yeah, hobbies usually cost money! HRC pins are selling at an average of MYR80 or approx. USD18. Not cheap at all. Let's see if I can get a second pin for free as well. HAHAHA

I love rail travel and I know someone who is addicted to it. You really should go on a long one, like cross-country, for the experience. That's indeed on my bucket list. One day, one day.

$ 0.00
8 months ago

My mind is always here to write but I end up not writing anything. The enthusiasm is not there.

$ 0.05
9 months ago

I feel you, and that's what I am suffering from as well - demotivation. Also, something always comes up to spoil my writing mood. I guess, after the COVID-19 lockdown, life is back to almost normal.

$ 0.00
8 months ago