FOODlog #17: Butter Rosemary Pork & Tomato Pasta

2 20
Avatar for drumsticks
2 years ago
Topics: Cooking, Blog, Cook, Photography, Food, ...

Cooked lunch for the family today. If you're following me, you will notice that I cook a lot of pasta. That's because I love making new saucea and combinations of pasta types.

Today I made angel hair pasta with a rosemary butter and olive oil sauce with mince pork and tomatoes.

I start off by melting some butter and sautéing the onions which I finely diced it. I then add in garlic and a spring of fresh rosemary that my wife plants. I also then added in a slice of sardine and mix it into the base of the sauce. This was from a can which was sardines in olive oil. I only added in 1 slice and the olive oil in it which is packed full or flavor. You won't notice the sardine but it's got a hint of the taste of it and it lends a real boost of flavor to the sauce.

I then added in the minced pork and let it brown in the pan. After I was satisfied with the color, I then add in some pork stock I had in the fridge. I scooped in 3 ladles at a time and some pasta water from cooking the angel hair which cooks really fast.

After the water starts to evaporate, I add more stock in and do this about 3 rounds until the mince is soften and absorbed all the flavor from the stock. I then add in diced tomatoes and turn off the fire letting them cook in the residual heat.

I seasoned it with salt and black pepper and its ready to serve. I grated some asiago cheese that I still have in the fridge on top of the pasta. It's a cow milk cheese which is pungent, salty, and a really nice cheesy flavor to the pasta.

-1
$ 0.00
Avatar for drumsticks
2 years ago
Topics: Cooking, Blog, Cook, Photography, Food, ...

Comments

Thanks. I love cooking pasta dishes and experimenting with ideas for sauces.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow nice dish, looking good

$ 0.00
2 years ago