The Psychologist

2 29
Avatar for doziekash_
2 years ago

file in his hands. Eddie smiled to himself, remembering when it was him in the streets with files looking for a job.

*"Dr Eddie?"*

A voice accompanied with a knock at the door brought him back to reality.

*"Yeah come in."*

He replied as a handsome young man in his mid thirties walked into his office. He was cleanly shaved and looking corporate in a long sleeves shirt with a tie.

*"Mr Washington, you are looking great today."*

Eddie said, surprised to see Washington dressed in such corporate attire, considering his history and all. Mr Washington spent 20 years of his life in prison, for killing both of his parents when he was barely 15. Ever since then, he has been facing brain challenges. Few months ago, his lawyers managed to get him out of jail based on good conduct. He was placed under patrol and subjected to visit a psychologist for the rest of his life.

*"Today is my last day in therapy, I thought I might as well put on an outfit suitable for celebration."*

*"Mr Washington, what makes you think that today would be your last day here?"*

*"Well you see doc. I think I finally discovered myself which was the purpose of these sessions in the first place. I have finally discovered my place in life."*

*"And where do you believe is your place in life?"*

*"In Jail."* Mr Washington said bringing out a gun from his waist and pointed it at the doctor

Eddie being a Psychologist, studied the situation carefully and knew that he had to choose his next words carefully.

*"Mr Washington, what are you doing?"*

*"This is what I have to do to go back in jail. I come here everyday and you fill my head with bullshit. You tell me that there is a place for me here, but we both know that I'll never be accepted. People will always look at me as the psychopath who killed his parents."*

*"But you did kill your parents and you got a second chance to life. Pull that trigger and you will never get a second chance. You will spend the rest of your life in jail."*

*"That is exactly where I want to be. You see in jail, nobody judges you. No matter the crime you committed, you are welcomed and accepted."*

*"If you are going to kill me, you have to let me call my daughter. I have to say goodbye to her."*

*"No way! I know how this works, you pick up your phone and you call the cops."*

*"You will be right here watching me. Just my daughter I promise. She is about to become fatherless, she needs to know how much I love her."*

Eddie's plan to play with his emotions worked. Mr Washington allowed him to call his daughter. But he didn't keep his promise, instead he sent a code message to the security team, alerting them of the hostage situation. Then he went on to call his daughter, asking her several questions to kill time.

*"Cut to the chase Doc. Tell her you love her let's get this over with. I don't have all day."*

After the call, Eddie knew he needed to buy more time before help came, so he asked.

*"Mr Washington, why me. I mean you could have killed anybody to go back to jail. Why do you want me dead so bad?"*

*"Isn't it obvious? You sit there in your fancy outfit, claiming to know it all because you studied psychology in some stupid expensive school. And I come in here with my rags and you study me like some animal and you try to confuse me with your lies. It all ends today."*

He was about to pull the trigger when the lights suddenly went off. Just then, armed men with night vision stormed the office. Gunshots were bodies were heard falling. When the lights came on, Mr Washington was on the floor holding his bleeding leg. Immediately the lights went out, Eddie sought refuge under his desk. I think his level of psychology helped him to narrowly escape death.

5
$ 0.09
$ 0.04 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.03 from @LykeLyca
$ 0.02 from @Niazi420
Avatar for doziekash_
2 years ago

Comments

Wow wow wow, his smartness really paid off. That guy needs to be locked up, never to see the sun. That was scarry 🥵

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, this is an amazing story. The psychologist was very smart and brilliant to have escaped that way. Sadly the so called Mr Washington still couldn't keep himself from going to jail. This time with no casualties, cos that was an attempted murder, am I right..?. Nice meeting you, I came across your article in the links group and I hope I can be a friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago