Serendipity | The Irony

9 55
Avatar for doziekash_
2 years ago

Lead

The day starts with my alarm blaring in my ears screaming 5 am. I couldn't help but snooze the annoying alarm, hoping to get up when it rings again in the next 10 minutes. But then, the next time I heard the alarm it was screaming 6am. Oh crap! I jerked up from the bed.

"Today is a big day. The church service is by 10am."

I said to myself as I started my daily routine.

... Said my morning prayers

... 50 press up, 50 sit up, 50 squats

... Washed My teeth

... Took my bath.

Then I decided to just relax and inhale the moment, everything seems to be happening too fast. I couldn't believe that by the end of today my status will change. I reflected on the journey of my life. My past struggles. I didn't want to cloud my mind with sad thoughts on this special day. So I decided to recite my vows. I picked up the book where I wrote it down.

"I Chinedu promise to love you with all my heart, cherish you, adore you..."

I was cut short by a knock on the door

I was on my way to open the door, when Charles opened the door and let himself in.

"What's the need of knocking if you will end up badging in?"

"The only reason i knock is for you to get dressed in case you are naked. Why are you not dressed up?"

"Dressed up for what? This is still 7:00"

"My friend put on some clothes, first we need to go and have your last breakfast as a bachelor, then We need to get a new ring."

"What's wrong with the one I bought?"

"That rubbish! Why didn't you consult me before going to buy a wedding ring. The one you got is out of fashion."

I've been friends with Charles a long time to know that it was pointless trying to argue with him. So I complied, put some clothes on and we left.

*******************************

We ordered breakfast accompanied with a bottle of champagne.

"Chinedu millions, very soon you will stop eating such meals, but rather a meal prepared in your own kitchen by your own wife."

"Doesn't that sound nice, Charles you should hurry up and get yours"

"Calm down, I'm not complaining. there's no rush"

"Sitting down here actually reminds me of the day I met my wife."

"Point of correction, the day I hooked you up with your wife. Back then you were doing shakara, now you want to take all the glory."

"A toast to Charles The Perfect Match Maker."

I said raising my glass.

"And A toast to Chinedu, the latest married man in town."

¡Source

Checking the time, it was 8am. We left the restaurant, went to the jewelry store of Charles' choice and bought a ring that was to his satisfaction. Then we went home to get ready for the event.

*******************************

Normally as guys we were the first to finish. I haven't seen Sandra since last night. She was lodging at a different hotel, so I had to call her.

"Hello Wife"

"Hey husband"

"I'm through and we are about to leave."

"Alright love, I'll be right behind you. I'm almost through."

"See you church then, love you."

"Love you Too honey."

We left with the customary convoy. We got to church about 30 minutes to the time, so there was still time for my wife to meet up. 30 minutes later my Wife was still A no show. At this point I got worried, called her again but this time her phone was switched off. I was uncomfortable.

"Charles I need to go and look for them."

"Relax, they will be here, it's probably traffic issues."

Just then the pastor got a call, something about a ghastly car accident involving a wedding convoy.

"No it can't be."

¡Source

I ran as fast as my legs could carry me, Charles followed behind me screaming my name. I ran non-stop to the scene of the accident. On getting there, the sight was deadly. A fuel tanker rammed into the convoy and the cars were on fire. I moved closer to the scene, people were trying to restrain me, but I penetrated.. all that came out my mouth were

"My wife! My Wife!!"

There she lay, lifeless with her wedding gown stained with her blood. I carried her on my arms and gave a loud cry.

"God why!!!"

¡Source

*******************************

*******************************

There you have it. My serendipity Tale Ends Here. Out of curiosity what do you think happens here? Does he go back to his drug addiction? Does losing his lucky charm make him run out of luck?

Do let me know in the comment section what you feel will happen from here.

*******************************

This is A freewrite with the prompt Serendipity by @meitanteikudo. Join #Promptfactory for much more fun.

Check out the previous episode Serendipity|Stroke Of Luck

*******************************

$toryTeller👻

5
$ 0.26
$ 0.13 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 1
Avatar for doziekash_
2 years ago

Comments

That's an interesting take on serendipity. I always thought of serendipity as a happy event. Something that happens by chance and just at the right time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah the story actually started as a happy event in part 1 & 2. If You check out my previous posts on serendipity, you will realize that the true serendipity took place, where he met the girl and she changed her life. I decided to introduce a twist in the part 3 and bring in the opposite of serendipity to play

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I see, that makes sense x

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! That's intense.

Thanks for writing this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thank You for the prompt!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thank you for joining.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. This got my heart in my mouth. On her wedding day, a fuel tanker rammed into her wedding convoy. This is going to be a huge trauma for Chinedu. I hope he finds a soothing relief pretty soon. So tragic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Quite a tragedy. In real life such incidents can lead to suicide. Thanks an lot for your support!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow...

A really good write up you've got there

$ 0.00
2 years ago