Work Ethic Comparison: UK vs. PH

2 122
Avatar for deedum
Written by
2 years ago

As I’ve written in my previous articles, I have had the privilege of being virtually seconded in one of our offices in London, United Kingdom. Secondment is more like being an exchange employee and I was sent there to have a view of what an audit looks like there. If it weren’t for the pandemic, I would’ve flown there and stayed there for 3 months but as the circumstances require, we have to do the secondment virtually. 

I worked with the London team and clients during my stay and it was a stretching experience. I get to experience direct communication, meetings and actual audit work in those months. It was a tiring yet a fulfilling time. 

Along with the great experience and learning, I must say that I did have a hard time. There were days that I’d cry because I was overwhelmed and as most of you do not know, I’m such a cry baby - I’m a softie at heart. (uwu)

One of the major reasons for having a hard time is that everything is virtual and as much as I want a more micromanaged approach, it will be difficult to ask for it. The other difficulty that I had is the shift in time zones. I have been a morning person for all my life and I suddenly had to work around 4pm - 12am which was a huge adjustment. 

But in those times that I have been working for our London office, I have experienced this differences:

Independence

Photo by Avel Chuklanov on Unsplash

In the Philippines, it felt like my managers would always check up if everyone is doing something. Even though they don’t do anything it felt like I was being watched and constantly asked if I’m doing my work, which I am. There are some that would even ask for an update everyday just to make sure the work is being done.

Working in the UK I felt that I was given more freedom and I was trusted more to do my job. It’s usually just an instruction through a call or an email and it’s expected for you to get the work done, no updates and if you have questions, just ask. The feeling was a relief, that I was given the space and the time to figure things out first instead of being asked what I have been doing. 

Holidays

Photo by Azfan Nugi on Unsplash

One of the main reasons that we were seconded is because of the shortage of staff in the UK during summer - their summer. Many are using their holiday or vacation leave and it’s not like in the Philippines that most of the time we file vacation leaves for 3 days and feel really guilty about it. In the UK, they file for weeks, some even months and it’s totally acceptable there. It’s actually supported and employees are encouraged to do it. 

I do think that this is a good culture to adapt here in the Philippines, all of us are seriously overworked and a guilt-free holiday feels like a dream to us but leaves are our right and benefits, we are entitled to use it. 

Calls and Meetings

Photo by Chris Montgomery on Unsplash

It’s a good thing that I researched before I started with my secondment because apparently in the UK, most of the time when you call someone you do it through video call which is a big no no in the Philippines. I only turned on my camera when the client insisted that I do, which never happened to me ever but in the UK, all of the calls have to be done with the camera on. 

I’m not sure if it’s minor for some but it requires adjustment from my end because I have to dress appropriately. I mean, who doesn’t like to wear pajamas while working from home? I also need to make sure that I am presentable and my environment is somewhat decent. 

Chika (Chit-chat)

Photo by LinkedIn Sales Solutions on Unsplash

I have noticed a big comparison on how people from the UK work during work hours. Everyone is expected to do productive things and everyone does productive things while in the Philippines, I think we incorporate chika or talking to workmates during work hours. It has an impact on your output but I feel like workmates in the Philippines are closer than workmates in the UK for this reason. I also feel like people in the UK are more serious than what we are in the Philippines so I have to really tone down my chatty self. 

Overtime

Photo by Tim Gouw on Unsplash

Most of them, if not all, rarely work overtime in the UK. Here in the Philippines I can only say one thing “sana all” (I hope everyone experiences that). I feel like it's much easier to say that I can’t meet the deadline and it’s more flexible to extend the deadline rather than here in the Philippines. To put it in a statement, the deadline moves in the UK, the working hours move in the Philippines. 

I feel like they also value life outside work more. That's why they don’t really trap themselves in their work and let’s admit it their pay is sufficient to meet their needs. Maybe that’s one of the reasons why they don’t work longer than ours.


These are just some of the few and major differences that I noticed. Again this is just my personal experiences and it can’t generalize both countries. 

Overall, I’m beyond grateful for this experience I have learned a lot especially in adjusting to a different culture. 

Lead image: Photo by Bram Naus on Unsplash

6
$ 6.68
$ 5.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @JustMyRambles01
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
+ 3
Sponsors of deedum
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for deedum
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

When it comes to your ability and capacity to work, here in the Philippines they don't trust you with that. Some doesn't like being overpowered that you know more than them. Also, they like to see you fail so they check your every move for every little bit of mistake.

About holidays, I think Philippines has the most number of holidays :D I don't know how the set up is with regard to leaves for it has been a long time since I haven't done that. My job is no work, no pay so I can just go for holidays when I want and for how long. I just have to inform the boss :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The Western world works so differently from Asian, especially Filipinos. We like to foster relationships at the workplace so it often eats up on time for productivity. It is not to say we are not good at what we do, because we can kick us when put alongside Western counterparts. In the UK or America, when it's work, they work. After, they have fun and leave work behind. Maybe, that's why they get paid better?

$ 0.00
2 years ago