Into the thick of it... Ugh!

4 42
Avatar for deedum
Written by
2 years ago

First, I just want to say that this song was stuck in my head because of all the Tiktok videos that I watched. I watched Sound of Music thinking that it was from it, but only end up knowing that it’s from Backyardigans, a show from Nickelodeon that I used to watch as a child. I decided to make it a title for my article but I think it also matches what I am about to write because I’m getting thicc, if you know what I mean. 

(I was listening to this while I'm writing this article, it's such a cute song. Ugh!)

After 14 days of quarantine, back to back celebrations and frequent takeaways, I am starting to gain weight. I don’t mind but I just don’t like when I can’t wear what I want anymore so my goal is to lose weight in the next few weeks or months. 


Last night, we went on a night drive adventure with my family. To start off the night, I cooked dinner for all of us. I made soy chicken garlic which my sister taught me how to make. We usually eat out before we head out to save on expenses when we hit the road.

Soy garlic chicken 💕

After dinner, we just prepared for a bit and left around 7:30 pm. We decided to search for a 7 eleven store because we heard that there was a sale. We were planning to get ice cream or some sweets that we can munch on while we’re in the park but we had no luck tonight because most of the 7 eleven stores are jam packed. We saw 3 7 eleven stores and all of them had long lines. We thought that if we waited in line for the things we would buy it would eat up a lot of time and we might end up being caught in the curfew which we are trying to avoid. 

Quick selfie before leaving!

We parked in our usual hangout place and did our “shouting exercises”, which means that we just shout what we liked or what’s bothering us. I shouted how I wanted ice cream and how frustrated I am that I didn’t have to get any. 

There is a open space next to this and we do our “shouting exercises” there.

We toured the place and walked with the dogs. We didn’t buy food in this part of the park because we didn’t like what was being sold there. We ran a bit and played with the dogs then we headed out to the al fresco marketplace nearby. 


This place is called “Global Market” and they sell a variety of things, from food to gadgets to clothes and many more. But because we’re into the thick of it, we only had one mission - to find desserts!!!

The adventure begins!

We started our adventure by touring the place and the first thing we spotted was the puto bumbong, a Filipino delicacy which is usually only available during the Christmas season. We haven’t had one for the longest time so this really got us up and going.

The next adventure was to search for a refreshment. We saw fruit  juices but it’s around 60-100 php, which I think is a bit pricey. I thought if this was the price of a regular fruit drink, we might as well get a milk tea or frappe which would be around that price range. 

We found a local coffee shop which is serving drip coffee and lately we’ve been supporting local coffee brands rather than mainstream ones. I got myself an iced cafe mocha which I think is a bad decision because it’s almost 9:00pm and we got ourselves coffee. 

The coffee was amazing, 10/10! The place was really nice too. Luckily we got there a bit late so the people were already going home and it was peaceful by the time we ate our food. V was a bit of nuisance because there was a cat and V, as we call her, is “cataphobic”, a term we made up because she hates cats way too much. 

We decided to wrap our night around 10:00pm and it’s already late. On the way home we listened to the playlist we made for road trips like this. It ranges from western, japanese, korean, filipino and many more songs, so it amazes us how the songs change genre every time. 

It was a wonderful night, spent with amazing people and hopefully we get to have more adventures in the future.


3
$ 3.39
$ 3.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @zolabundance2
$ 0.03 from @ARTicLEE
Sponsors of deedum
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for deedum
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

So what time did you sleep? That sounds like a late time for coffee :D But what fun that was! I find that song cute too! It does reflect how we feel sometimes especially in life. No matter we should keep moving forward and pushing on.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I slept around 4AM 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 It was a good coffee but I need to remind myself not to drink one that late at night 🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Coffee has different effect for me. It is my downer. One cup and I'll be out in a few minutes or was it seconds? I'm not sure lol! However, I keep drinking coffee still.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That sounded like fun. Glad you're feeling much, much better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago