I quit

8 48
Avatar for deedum
Written by
2 years ago

I recently wrote about “The Great Resignation” and how it affects the current workforce. I have been digging about this, reading about it on different sites and recently I got in the habit of discussing it to the people that I think would have great insights.

A few weeks later, tadaaaa…

Photo by Karolina Grabowska from Pexels

I resigned. 

This was my dream company ever since I could remember working in an audit firm and now I’m 1 step out, just serving my notice period and in a few more days, I’m gone. I choose this company because it’s one of the best that aligns with my values. I have learned a lot and gained a lot of experience. 

A lot of factors have been considered in making this decision, some of them I am aware of but most of it probably lies in my subconscious mind.

Culture

The company culture is great, but there’s a difference in the team culture that I am in. Currently, I have amazing juniors that I really vibe with, but my superiors… in the corporate term we would say that “our work style doesn’t match”. I think I can handle it because they have been my superiors before but if something is repeatedly done and no action was made to address the issue, maybe it’s really just the best to go. 

Well, I think the workforce right now is more reliant on the environment and culture of the company rather than the pay because more and more people realize that money can’t really buy everything. 

Workload

Photo by Nataliya Vaitkevich from Pexels

A lot of my frustration really boils down to this thought, I really feel exploited in my workplace and in the Philippines in general. The work that I do never lives up to my pay and I know I’m not alone in this dilemma. I actually applied for a job abroad but currently, I still lack years of experience in my current field so I really just can’t fly somewhere else. 

I just hope that the labor sector in the Philippines gets more than what they deserve so we don’t have to go to another country just to get treated better. (In line with this, please make sure to register for you to vote in the upcoming 2022 elections, we badly need a generation who will think critically on who to vote for. It’s the time of history where we can really prove that our vote matters.)

New Environment

Recently, I got so demotivated at work. Probably because I don’t feel that people in my company find joy in their work anymore. I mean, don’t get me wrong some of them do enjoy it but the majority is just dragging through the day and as much as you want to go against the current, it will be a difficult thing to do. 

I just hope that in my new company, we can have a more fruitful and driven environment. I’m thinking of this as training as well and an assessment of how agile and adaptable I can be. 


I know I have been gone for quite some time, I’ve been really busy fixing my life. As much as I want to write and tell you things or some random things that I got curious about, my life is a roller coaster right now. 

As much as I want to be fully happy with my decision, it still hurts and there’s a lot of fear with this decision. I might even be making the biggest mistake in my life but on the flip side this could be the best or just a normal random thing that I’ve done in my twenties. 

Life is really uncertain during this time, we’re all just trying to survive and push through. Thank you for listening to me, I’m just really in a confused state right now and I honestly don’t know what to do. 

Lead image: Photo by Andrea Piacquadio from Pexels


11
$ 10.28
$ 9.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jeaneth
$ 0.05 from @Hanzell
+ 7
Sponsors of deedum
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for deedum
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

It shocks me just how relevant are the stuff I read nowadays to my experiences. I am not shading anyone to but there is a 'sometimes' feeling of really not receiving the pay we deserve. Is it a popular audit firm you are talkimg about? I have thought of SGV immediately because it's a dream place of mine. LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can see that you have made a lot of adjustments from your former company and for sure on your new one too but I believe you can still make it through. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's good you got out of a situation that wasn't working for you! Hope you find something great on your path again!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes that is simply the best option. To move on and find a better future which is more fulfilling both in terms of compensation AND work enjoyment. I wish you the best of luck as your journey ahead.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi sis. Just now, I actually wrote an article about resigning from work, that if it really affects the mental health and if there is already a back up plan after resigning is okay. Because we should really prioritize our mental health. Hopefully, you'll have a better environment in your new work place.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohhhh, really? Let me just check it out tooooo!!!

Thank youuuuu!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. You are welcome! 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes quitting is a painful thing to come by though in your case, I can understand the reason for your actions being too many work loads and all that. Meanwhile, I wish you the best bro

$ 0.00
2 years ago