Famous Songs Written by Ed Sheeran

18 60
Avatar for deedum
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Blogging, Music

Ed Sheeran has been considered as one of the musical geniuses out there during the 21st century, alongside Taylor Swift and many more underrated artists. I have been a fan since his first formal debut album called “plus” (+). Although he had tons of EPs and songs before that, it was the first album that brought him to the spotlight. 

He recently announced that he will release 2 new albums in the next 18 months, which are “subtract” and “equal” to complete his mathematical reference. I’m super duper excited for this and I’m really hoping that things go back to normal so I could watch his concert if there would be one in my country. 

Aside from all the songs that he produced under his album, he had tons of songs that he released and produced for other artists as well. These are some of the mainstream ones:

LOVE YOURSELF BY JUSTIN BIEBER

This song actually had a funny story. Ed and JB just came from a party and had drinks when someone suddenly wanted to go and do some golf. They went to a golf park and there Justin asked Ed for Love Yourself. It was actually the first song to be written for divide and I thought it might even be one of his singles, along Shape of You. 

In a recent interview with Ed, he said that he didn’t regret giving it to JB even though it turned into a massive hit. He said that it probably won’t be as big of a thing if he released it for himself and I do agree on this one. JB was slowly getting back on the music scene and Love Yourself is one of the songs that gave him more character, that’s why it became a huge thing.

COLD WATER BY JUSTIN BIEBER

I was shocked at first too at how some of the major hits by JB were actually written by Ed Sheeran. This was a song Ed didn’t even remember writing, it was still in process, maybe just a song that was forgotten or maybe a random one. One day, he was just surprised when Diplo emailed him asking if he can have the song called “Cold Water” then Ed never had a recollection of writing it. 

LITTLE THINGS BY ONE DIRECTION

At first, I loved “Little Things” when I heard it the first time, it was just a delicate piece and it makes you feel in love but when I found out that Ed Sheeran wrote it, it actually made even more sense. Honestly, Ed wrote a few songs for One Direction including Moments, Over Again and 18. All of these songs are masterpieces even though they didn't get as much spotlight as they deserved. 

This is one of my favorite performances by him and imagine you were part of this crowd, it would be so magical.

And the most recent one which sparked me to write this article would be…

PERMISSION TO DANCE BY BTS

(Side note: Stream Permission to Dance!)

He co-wrote the recent comeback of Bangtan called “Permission to Dance”. Though BTS already spoiled before that there would be a collaboration between the two of them, not sure if we are still expecting a song together with both of them signing. But I just recently listened to it but it’s quite similar with Dynamite vibes that just makes you get up on your feet and dance. 

When I searched about it, I also found out that Ed also co-wrote the song “Make it Right” by BTS. It seems that they have been collaborating before and I’m just waiting for the time to see them both performing a song.


Lately, I’ve just been really excited to hear new music from Ed and because he recently got married and had kids. He’s slowly building his own family, I wonder what might be the impact on the music that he is going to produce. 

I hope to hear more from Ed Sheeran soon!

Lead image: https://www.mediaweek.com.au/ed-sheeran-nova-gingerbread-label/




 


12
$ 16.61
$ 16.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jeaneth
$ 0.05 from @Hanzell
+ 6
Sponsors of deedum
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for deedum
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Blogging, Music

Comments

I like his songs too, ate. Photography is one of my favorites. Yung Cold water, siya rin pala nagsulat.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Anlaaa, ang galiny pala talaga nya ano. Pero di kasi talaga nya ako fan baha, sorna haha. Pero I like the one he wrote for JB lalo na ung Love Yourself 🤩😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe his songs will still be a hit even if he has a family now. His voice is easy to listen and his songs are nice and catchy. I appreciate songs of JB now for they sound mature.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeahhhh, I’m really excited for his music considering he has a family now, I’m thinking it might change

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let's see what will change.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakalimutan niyo po yata ate yung shape of you. Dapat po Kay Rihanna yon kaso tinanggihan niya haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohhhh, di ko alam yun!!!!! I can only imagine Rihanna singing shape of youuuuu, super ganda siguro 😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yay. Sya pala ngsulat sa ibang kanta ng One Direction at kay Justin Bieber. Fave ko yung 18 ng One Direction eh. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo ateee, hehe. Ang ganda nga din po nung 18 pero mas bet ko po yung little things 😬

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really love his songs but the one song that will never be forvotten for me is his "Thinking out Loud" and 'Lego House" with "Photograph"

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those are the classics!!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yeah ...they are!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ed Sheeran is a genius. Kaganda ng mga songs niya. Masakit din sa heart yung iba. 😭🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totoo pooooo, minsan naiyak na lang po talaga ako pag nakikinig ako sa kanya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh! The only song listed here that I know was written by him is the Love Yourself. Didn't know that he wrote other amazing songs. Such a legend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You beeeet, sobrang dami na niyang naproduce na classics!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not only is he a musical genius, he is also very generous with his talent. That's why I am certain he will continue to produce iconic songs and will go down as one of the classic artists ever produced by the music industry.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeeees and I’m super excited for his new albums pooooo! ACKKKKKKK 😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago