My ESL Teacher Journey in Acadsoc

2 25
Avatar for dauntless_marquess
1 year ago

Since today is world's teacher day, I just want to share to you my experiences when I was an ESL teacher in a Chinese company named Acadsoc. I never dreamt to be a teacher before, but life let me experience one.

The wonderful journey happened last year while I am not yet studying. My father was the one who introduced the agency, who recruited capable persons for the said job to me, which fortunately just situated near in our place. My course is far from being a teacher cause I am an accountancy student that time, but I still tried to since I think I can do it. I am also a call center agent in my previous job so I was able to practice my English speaking skills and gained some confidence. Though, I was still in hesitant cause in this job you got to show your face of course and I am actually a shy type person, but then I thought that was already an opportunity, hence, grab it.

And so, I still applied and complied the requirements needed. Also, I answered lots of exams and had to undergo a demo wherein a manager will give us a score as a basis as well if I am qualified for the job. Consequently, I got a good grade and surprisingly our handler complimented me cause according to her, I have a nice voice and a good accent. For those who do not know what an ESL teacher is, well ESL is an acronym for English as Second Language. It is an online teaching job wherein I teach English language to Chinese students. I used to teach students with different ages, may it be adult, teenagers or kids. But what amused me most are kids.

Here are some of my memories with them.

The identical twins.

Who would have thought that these faces are actually from two person? I forgot their names already but actually I got surprised too at first. I was confused that time and it goes like this because the other one loves playing toy guns but the other one does not, the other one was energetic but the other one is just calm. The energetic one loves eating watermelon. The first one I met is the one who was energetic, and then I met his twin later than him but just in different schedule. So I was kind of confused cause he became a different person the next day, and his twin laughed so hard, he said the one who loves eating watermelon is his brother. But then, they both love playing snake in ladders after we were done in our class and if there will still be a time remaining.

The cute student in emoji.

I also love this student so much. He is so cheerful and attentive in our class. He is also a smart one. The moment in the image was when our topic is all about emotions, and we did mimic different emotions here. The left image is the angry one and yet he is pouting, or maybe because he thought I am pouting too but that is actually my angry face HAHAHAHA. The right one is a happy emotion, he is so cute that I can't stop doing some screenshots.

The humourously smart.

This one is so smart too and I love how comfortable she was with me that she was able to blow a joke. We are both laughing so hard in here cause he find the "He is big eyes funny." She said, "Teacher, he is big eyes?" Then we both burst in laughter, HAAAHAHHHAHHA. Well, I still find it funny until now.

The cool artist.

Yeah, this one is a cool kid. He is just so calm and cool while participating in my class. He loves to draw when we finished our class and if we still have time left. In the image, I told him to draw an alpaca cause atleast it was still part of the lesson and to see if he still remembered it. And he quickly obeyed when he was told. He was so cool like he really know what he is doing. And afterward, he told me "Well it looked like a rabbit but it is really an alpaca." I just held back my laughter cause he is still so cool telling that to me.

Well those are just some of the momeries that I always carry within myself. I still have lots of memories to share to but it would costs countless words to scribble. But I also wanna share this certain student of mine as well, in which I cannot forget. She is a teenager I guess, if my memory serve me right. She used to be just silent during my class and I can see that she can hardly grasp in the class. But I understand that one, cause I have once been there. However, it did not hinder her to do better. I always urged her to ask questions if she wanted to, and she did so. Her determination was pretty dominating. Until each session she became better and better. Nevertheless, I was so touched when he commented on the feedback part my account. I thought someone complained me but she typed there to bid goodbye cause summer is over and she will be back to her regular class. And she did thank me as well. I just appreciate it cause we can not be messaged and yet she still found a way.

In a nutshell, despite teaching them various lessons, they also taught me lots of it. And now I understand why some of the teachers seem like they do not age, because you can not stop laughing when you are with them most especially when you manage to create a bond with your students, they would really give you joy. And that was my wonderful journey as an ESL in Acadsoc. I still have lots of memories to share to but it costs thousands of words to scribble.

Disclaimer: All texts and pictures are my mine, unless otherwise stated.


Thank you for reading, and please subscribe for more blogs! I do subscribe back, just comment down so that I can easily identify you all. Lots of love .

Copyright 2022 dauntless_marquess. All Rights Reserved.

5
$ 1.13
$ 0.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
$ 0.10 from @lonestranger
+ 2
Avatar for dauntless_marquess
1 year ago

Comments

Thank you sissy HAHAHA. May office-base yata sis sa office po ako niyan. Tsaka try mo lang kasi basic English lang kailangan talaga sis. Yung communication skills lang talaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang ganda naman ni sissy. Gusto ko nga mag apply dyan kaso hindi naman ako magaling sa English, saka walang space sa bahay sis kasi maingay mga doggie.

$ 0.00
1 year ago