The Blue Door and a pots (mixed media painting)

7 35
Avatar for daring-celt
2 years ago

Hi my friends!

Today I decided to try to make a drawing in mixed media. I like testing different art materials and seeing how they fit together.
Once I tried to draw with markers and pens. Now I 'll be experimenting with watercolors and gel pens.

I took this photo as the basis of my work

Sketch
I changed the picture a little, added clay pots on the steps - I know that in the Mediterranean countries the main entrances to the house are decorated like this

Yes, I used for my work watercolor set, synthetic brush and three Sakura's gel pens.

I start by making a sheet of paper wet. I have Fabriano brand paper, special for mix media artwork.
Then I mix some warm colors - cadmium orange, cadmium red, red ocher - to sketch the brick wall.
So that the red shades do not look too saturated, I add a lot of grassy green to them - the color becomes natural and pleasing to look.
In those areas where the plaster, I paint with a mix of yellow ocher and ultramarine - this combination gives natural shades of gray.
And I paint individual large stones with ocher and natural sienna

Next, I mix ultramarine and grass green to paint the door.
I paint a stained glass insert above it with a mixture of ultramarine and burnt sienna - this combination gives a very dark color.
With the same mixture I paint drop shadows from a pots
And for a pots on the stairs I use a mix of red ocher and natural sienna with a touch of ultramarine added to keep the color inconsistent.

When the paper is dry, I mix greens and yellows to paint moss on rocks and greens on the stairs.
Somewhere I add ultramarine again, somewhere red ocher

Now is the time to use Sakura pens
I take a pen with a 0.35 mm rod and draw the main lines - brickwork, gaps between stones, cracks on the stairs

So, use a pen with a 0.25 mm rod I draw a structure of the plastered wall, irregularities, scratches on stones, the wooden planks of the door and shadows on pots

And finally, with the thickest rod I draw deep cracks and shadows on the stones, especially in the lower part of the picture, under the stairs, I darken the glass on the stained glass insert, I also enhance the shadows between the door leaves and below

I'm trying to make it look like the left side of the door is half open.
I don't know if anyone lives there or if this house is abandoned... let everyone make up their own store)))

This is the picture I got!

With Love...

Sponsors of daring-celt
empty
empty
empty

5
$ 3.19
$ 3.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Arte-macarre
$ 0.05 from @Ellen-he
+ 1
Avatar for daring-celt
2 years ago

Comments

Beautiful painting! Delicate and well-proportioned tones that give an air of freshness. Good control of the lights and shadows that give harmony to the painting. Thanks for sharing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Many thanks! It's hard for me to work with watercolors, but I still like these paints!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my dear and beloved friend, it is really beautiful your drawing, sorry I have not been able to renew the sponsorship, previously I did it from another computer because my laptop does not let me pay, I will see if I can pay the sponsorships from the phone, although it seems a little uncomfortable to use it to read.cash, I hope you understand <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks a lot! It's all right, Francys, don't worry! I'm always glad that you come to my blog))))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And I'm always glad you read my articles :D It makes me feel really good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow my friend, this painting feels very good, and it's very special. The combination of using watercolors with gel pens is very nice... 👌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks a lot friend! Yes, it'so nice art technique)) And I like this set of pens, because it blends well with other materials

$ 0.00
2 years ago