Still life in dutch style (acrylic painting)

8 20
Avatar for daring-celt
2 years ago

Hi friends!

Today I want to tell & show you haw I painted this picture which I named "Russian still life in Dutch style". The article of drawing says about my intention to make a picture stylized as old Dutch painters.

The original of tutorial written for Golos

For reference I chose my own photo of country summer lunch.
It's set of materials I painted: acrylic paints, synthetic brushes & medium for acrylic paints (to make their more wet on the paper).

Sketch

As can be seen from the reference, the photo shows a white tablecloth and a light background.
I made them dark, mixing black and brown paint.
Then I added some colors of brown are scarlet and canary yellow colors what a background was be not so smooth.
Yes, in process of drawing I slightly "lowered"a horizon line.

I start my painting with the most difficult subjects - from a bouquet of flowers in a transparent vase and from the main dining dish - fish cutlets with fresh vegetables.
I used two green shades & bright yellow for painting a foliage; gray, ivory & heavily diluted grassy green - for glass.
Cutlets I painted with brown, scarlet and two shades of yellow.
For a cucumbers I chose grassy and light yellow paints, for lemon circles are light yellow and gray.

Then I painted a dinner's dishes with mix of cobalt blue & gray.

The samovar (a vessel for making Russian tea), unfortunately, is not an old copper one, but a modern one from nickel-plated alloys.
Gray, black and ivory colors were great for it.

Then I painted a shadows on dishes with mix of cobalt blue & brown - those parts that are closer to a table.
I apply glare in ivory color to have a matte gloss effect on porcelain.
Tomato juice is drawn with a mix of scarlet with two shades of yellow, a glass - with colors of gray, ivory and brown diluted with medium.
With the same colors as the juice and dishes, I draw a reflection in a side of the samovar's surface.
Above it is slightly I glazed with a very diluted gray to dim the brightness.
At the same stage, I put shadows under each object - with mix of brown and cobalt blue.

Finally strokes: in the right plate are slices of fried potatoes with a green onion (scarlet, green, two shades of yellow and brown), wooden handles at tableware (yellow and brown), salad in the central cup (scarlet, two yellow and green), yellow and pink - little flowers.
And burgundy-red cranberry droplets in lemon slices.

I correct the contours of objects, and here is the result!

I hope you like my painting tutorials.

Maybe it will inspire someone to take brushes and paints too

Have a nice day!

Regards

Sponsors of daring-celt
empty
empty
empty

7
$ 2.04
$ 1.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @Belozoriana
$ 0.05 from @Ellen.he
+ 1
Avatar for daring-celt
2 years ago

Comments

Hungry to look at it can not! Only first should be properly fortified, because absolutely "live" bouquet, fried fish cutlets with fresh vegetables just begging to the mouth. samovar-is generally a classic. you know how to draw well, I think that such pictures were taken people, I mean for sale, in real life. that would be a job on which you would "go" with pleasure, and also bringing profit, I really say.P/S:This is just my opinion

Голодному смотреть на это нельзя!Только предварительно как следует подкрепиться, потому что абсолютно "живой" букет,жареные рыбные котлеты со свежими овощами так и просятся в рот.Самовар-это вообще классика.Вы умеете хорошо рисовать,думаю что такие картины брали себе люди,я имею ввиду продажу,да в реальной жизни.Это то бы была работа на которую вы бы "ходили бы"с удовольствием,ещё и приносящая прибыль,я серьёзно говорю.P/S:это только моё мнение.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Спасибо большое! Вы как повар, конечно, оценили состав блюд))) Я фото делала на конкурс на одном форуме, так там у людей была точно такая же реакция, как у Вас сейчас - кто-то сразу ужин готовить побежал)))

Может, когда-нибудь и буду рисовать на продажу. Но я пока всерьёз за краски не бралась)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

This your tutorial about painting is very interesting dear friend but I didn't have basic knowledge of drawing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's not scary. There are simpler tutorials on the Internet. If you want to learn how to draw, you can start with them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow this is beautiful, my friend I love this, it is a bad idea to follow. You are indeed a raw talent. Thanks for sharing this beautiful painting with us and please keep it up because am following you now 🙏👍🎨👍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Many thanks! I've a few more tutorials, and I'll publish all of them on Read.cash)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dear friend, you drew very well, how good it is to name each of the paints you use, you can learn painting completely from your articles. how interesting, I had never heard the name of the medium for wetting acrylic paint. I always wet the acrylic paint with water. I was so useful for me... 👌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks so much! Yes, I use a water too. But acrylic paints dry very quickly in open air, so I use a medium to keep them fresh longer)

$ 0.00
2 years ago