Digital art_2020. Yule cat

8 33
Avatar for daring-celt
2 years ago
Topics: Art, Drawing, Artist, Creative, Tutorial, ...

Hi friends!

On the eve of the ancient pagan holiday Yule (Winter Solstice), celebrated in many northern countries, I want to tell you how I drew the legendary creature Yule cat

Don't ask me how such an idea came to my head, I don't know how and where they come from)))
I just sit down at my tablet, pick up a pen and draw...

Sketch in Paint Tool SAI 2

For this artwork, I chose such a colorful palette.

I choose my favorite cold blue-violet shades as the base colors and paint over the background with a soft Old Rough brush

I sketch the figure of the cat in a dark color, even darker than the background

Gradually I introduce other objects into the drawing.
First, the moon as a source of illumination, then bright highlights on the edges of the mountains.
I also sketch out a small village at the foot of the mountains - several houses and trees
All this with its main working brush Old Brist 2, which perfectly blending colors

At this step, I add clouds to the night sky and put the falling shadows from mountains and houses in the snow.

Simultaneously working on the figure of the cat in detail

I enliven the village - I paint illuminated windows and reflections in the snow with a bright orange color, as well as make long dark shadows from trees.

I decorate tree branches with hoarfrost

Add snow to the top of a nearby mountain

A little Christmas mood - colored lights in the windows and on the trees

To enhance the feeling of a frosty winter night, I paint a snowy forest in the foreground, and bright stars in the sky.

Finally I opened a file in Paintstom Studio (I'll tell you more about this awesome graphics program) and added festive lights in the village

And highlights in the cat's eyes.

The picture is almost ready, color correction is remains.

Yes, it;s ready now!

My fabulous cat turned out to be kind and wise.

He doesn't want to eat anyone, he came to guard the village, so that people can calmly and carefree rejoice, celebrating the New Year

I hope you'll like my drawing idea and it bring to you my friends some Christmas mood and you will find the strength to be happy in any of the most hopeless circumstances!

And remember that Good Forces (even if you don’t believe in them) invisibly protect you always!

Thanks so much for all!

Regards and with Love...

Sponsors of daring-celt
empty
empty
empty

5
$ 3.79
$ 3.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Belozoriana
$ 0.05 from @Ellen.he
+ 1
Avatar for daring-celt
2 years ago
Topics: Art, Drawing, Artist, Creative, Tutorial, ...

Comments

This cat looks like a big night cloud. And yes, he looks kind. The houses turned out to be really winter and New Year's Eve, the lights in the windows added to them. And the smoke from the druja upstairs says that there is a hard frost outside. This is a magical and truly winter picture. 🌨🐱

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks a lot! Yes, I wanted to create a fabulous atmosphere))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a beautiful cat you painted, how beautiful and warm the lights and houses are, it's a very soothing and emotional painting. Congratulations my friend, your painting is wonderful... 💚🎄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Many thanks! It's so pleasant to know what my artworks make the people happy)))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Digital art catches my attention, the effects that can be achieved are fascinating. Your painting is very beautiful and representative.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks so much! I really love digital graphics) I try to draw every day, otherwise I start to miss my graphics tablet and characters)))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love your drawing, it's a gigantic cat. I love cats, it looks so fluffy. I also love how the houses turned out, I loved this drawing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks a lot! I was hoping that this fairy tale will please someone))))

$ 0.00
2 years ago