Australian flame pea (pastel painting)

4 14
Avatar for daring-celt
2 years ago
Topics: Art, Drawing, Creative, Painting, Artist, ...

Hi my friends!

Thinking about what can you draw on the eve of the onset of spring I didn't come up with anything better than exotic flowers.

This flower, for example, has a complicated name Chorizema cordatum (or Australian flame pea)
I liked it by colorful petals as butterfly

Reference from Pinterest
For the image of this flower, I took tinted dark green cardboard with a smooth surface and dry pastel in bright colors.

Sketch

Approximately this will be the color palette (in the process of work, I added a couple more contrasting colors - in particular, dark green and deep purple

I started the drawing with the stem of the flower.
To do this, I used two colors of green and warm yellow. Lighting is uneven due to large colors - presumably coming from somewhere to the right.
Somewhere on the shadow side I add touches of turquoise color

The flowers now.
The lower petals are pink-crimson, turning into a very dark one towards the middle (that's why I took a purple crayon)

The upper petals have a rich orange color (because of this, it is possible that the flower is called "flame pea"), but another side of it is darker, the unopened bud also has a dark color, I painted it in red

To show the smooth curve of the petal, I paint it with a dark terracotta color closer to the core and make a few yellow strokes closer to the edge, but not the very edge.
When all the flowers were drawn, I slightly feathered the strokes so that the individual flowers mixed up and created a smooth blending.
And I also decided to highlight the two central flowers with a contrasting green color
Closer to the edge of the leaf, this light green color will be shaded with dark green.

With this dark green color, I emphasize the flower stem from the illuminated side.
And I strongly shade the background green colors, fitting them into the color of the cardboard

So... last step for details.
I take some pastel pencils for it and draw a veins on the petals

Somewhere I refine the contours, somewhere, on the contrary, I smooth out too sharp strokes.
Yes, I think now my drawing is ready!

A flower in the end of winter... if you don't live somewhere in the tropics, you can draw it.
I'll be glade if my drawing like to someone

With Love...

Sponsors of daring-celt
empty
empty
empty

3
$ 1.56
$ 1.46 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Arte-macarre
$ 0.05 from @Ellen-he
Avatar for daring-celt
2 years ago
Topics: Art, Drawing, Creative, Painting, Artist, ...

Comments

This flower remind me of my highschool days. There are a lot of this flowers along the road going home;) that's a really good art ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So great! Thanks a lot))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, I love pastel paintings. You have used dark green cardboard very cleverly, and your color palette is very colorful and beautiful. I fell in love with how it fades around your painting in cardboard texture. This painting is very beautiful, it is quite reminiscent of spring.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks a lot friend! The time for spring drawings I guess)) Pastel is a very comfortable and obedient material. I can draw anything with it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago