Realizing we're Blessed through other's Despair

10 26
Avatar for curiouscat
1 year ago

Tomorrow will be one of the most awaited day in my college life so I'll make this short.

Really love the clouds here | photo awhile ago

--

It's odd.

Why do we realized how blessed we are whenever we see someone's suffering is much than ours?

I'm blessed I have a home even though it's small, other people sleep on the street.

I am thankful I have a job because there are people who are unemployed for several years.

I realized how blessed I am when I saw childrens in some of Africa- they die because of hunger.

I am pleased that I have someone in my life even though we are not rich, some people live alone and die alone.

These are some of the phrases that we can hear or sometimes we speak. Nothing bad was said on those sentences. However, if we look closely, there are two types of person in each sentence. The one who is blessed, and the one who us suffering.

I honestly have thoughts like this too. That I should be thankful that my life is better than someone else, that I should cherish small things that I have.

But, it bothers me when I think like this. It's like I only appreciate what I have because I know someone cannot afford to have even the simplest thing in this world. Realizing how much better your life is because of someone else's despair is saddening me. So much.

I kept thinking.

I rather hope for their lives to get better, way way better than mine, than thinking I am living way better than them.

I dunno if you get what I want to express because I think this article needed elaboration. I need to sleep tho haha

Good night! Thanks for reading ;))

8
$ 0.66
$ 0.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Bloghound
$ 0.03 from @Jane
Avatar for curiouscat
1 year ago

Comments

Sometimes we forget how blessed we are. Looking at other people, we are reminded of the little favors that we receive.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes I guess so, but it actually saddened me every time. I don't want to be grateful by thinking other's struggles.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hope you slept well, Charlote!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I did po😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We should always be grateful for where we are today regardless. Out current position is somebody else's prayer point

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes agree with this. That's why I stop thinking I am blessed because ppl are more struggling than me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When you think you are less fortunate, think of the homeless people around the world starving on the street.. You'll realize that, you aren't less fortunate at all.. 🙂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmm but that's why I am bothered-whenever I think I am more fortunate because someone is suffering more than me. Like why do they have to suffer just for me to think I am blessed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think seeing how lucky we are only when we see others suffer is a true sign of us being ungrateful. We should learn to thank God, even when we can't see what's happening to others, the air we breathe is enough reason to be grateful. Not just when we see an homeless man or some people without food.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Agreed! Thank you (◍•ᴗ•◍) I think that's one thing I can do to avoid feeling blessed by seeing the despair of others. I rather look around me and how God created the world for me, so whenever I feel lost, down, and less, I will learn how to be thankful because of the things around me

$ 0.00
1 year ago