Super Simple Home-Cooked Dish | Bitter-Gourd Soup That Anyone Can Prepare

2 15
Avatar for coloringiship
1 year ago
Topics: Family, Food

My first ever recipe post on Hive! I was racking my brain, looking for ideas for today's post, but nothing was forthcoming. After a very lengthy post yesterday - Running On Empty | Struggling With Childhood Emotional Neglect And Developing Resiliency - I am thinking of a lighter topic that doesn't require a lot of thinking. And while I was getting ready to make lunch, I thought, well, why not? Though my cooking skill is nothing to write home about or the dish is nothing special, perhaps it can encourage someone to try it since it's super duper simple to prepare.

Even though I am not overly obsessive with my diet, I take special care of the food I consume daily. I try to avoid oily, sugary, spicy, and salty food as much as possible and limit my intake of processed or junk food. Since I am not a foodie and seldom crave special dishes, my daily diet is simple and easy to prepare. I make sure to include the essential macronutrients in moderate portions.

Anyone here loves eating bitter-gourd? If you do, then this recipe is for you. I love eating bitter-gourd, and so does my husband, but my kids made nasty faces whenever I served it during meals. This dish has no special name, but for its sake, let's just call it the "bitter-gourd soup".

The Ingredients

  • Since it is a soup, we obviously need water. I used a medium size stainless steel pot filled with 800ml of water.

  • Medium size bitter-gourd, cleaned and sliced thinly.

  • Oyster mushrooms, cleaned and sliced thinly.

  • Small size carrots, cleaned and sliced thinly.

  • A clove of sliced garlic and one inch of sliced ginger.

  • One or two eggs.

  • Salt, white pepper, seasoning (not in picture)

Instructions

#1) Boil the water and add garlic and ginger.
#2) Heat it up until boiling and put in the bitter-gourd.

#3) After a couple of minutes, put in the carrots.
#4) After a minute, put in the mushrooms.

#5) After a couple of minutes, pour the beaten egg(s). Add in salt, white pepper, and seasoning to taste. Stir for a couple of minutes and turn off the heat.
#6) It's cooked and ready to serve with rice.

Very simple and wholesome, isn't it?

Tip: For a better taste, add some pork, chicken, or fish fillet slices if you want.

Bon Apetit!😃


That's it for now. If you read this far, thank you. I appreciate it so much! Kindly give me a follow if you like my content. I mostly write about making art, life musing, and our mundane yet charming family life here in Klang Valley, Malaysia.

Thank you for visiting and reading my post. I hope you like it!

My First NFT Collection – Stencil 2017 – Is Now Available On OpenSea

My Second NFT Collection – Oli Kawaii Verse – Is Now Available On OpenSea

2
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @Grecy095
Sponsors of coloringiship
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for coloringiship
1 year ago
Topics: Family, Food

Comments

I haven't done any soup for bitter gourd but this is a good one. Wow your nft collections are all awesome!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you so much. Glad you liked my collections :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago