I Still Haven't Got My Mojo Back | Working On Women Empowerment Series

2 30
Avatar for coloringiship
2 years ago

Hi all...I know it's late, but I want to write this post before going off to bed. I thought I might post this tomorrow instead, but my weekends are always packed with activities, and I doubted I would have free time to post.

I mentioned experiencing an art block in one of my posts some time ago. Well, guess what, it hasn't gone away. It has been more or less a couple of months, and I haven't got my mojo back. It is very frustrating, and there isn't much I can do but keep showing up daily and get busy and do something. I tried to take a break, but that made me feel anxious because I couldn't shake off the feeling that I needed to do something.

I am careful not to let my mental health deteriorate and would scale down my activities if I started to struggle. I never really mention my mental struggles in my posts, maybe once or twice in the past. I will not talk about it here either because it feels a bit uncomfortable and raw right now.

So for the past few days, I have been struggling to complete this painting from my Women Empowerment series. I have been working on this series for the past couple of years, and I don't think I will stop working on it because this topic is very dear to me. This is the first time I have used the watercolor canvas panel to paint. I purchased several canvas panels and other art supplies as a birthday gift for myself in February. I made a post about it here: Derwent Inktense Water-Soluble Ink Pencils Review - Set of 36 Pencils . I will make a review post about this panel once I complete the painting. And I will talk more about this painting too once I finish it.

As you can see, I wrote “I have thunder thighs and I am hot” on this painting. It doesn’t take a genius to guess what the subject matter is. For decades the female body is expected to be slim, trim, lean. Tight, toned muscles. Six-pack abs. Hard bodies. But that sounds too masculine, doesn’t it? Women with rounded bellies, padded hips, curvy a.k.a thunder thighs, are frowned upon. We need to fix those “problem areas” to conform to societal standards. Young girls and adults women alike are brainwashed by media every day, and it’s no wonder too many of us have learned to dislike our bodies. I could talk on and on about this topic but let's save that for another post 😅

Before I end this post, I would like to show you some of my Women Empowerment series paintings. I completed this one about a month ago, but I have yet to varnish it to seal the painting.

And here are 5 more paintings in the series. I have sold merch and copies of these paintings to fans worldwide for the past couple of years. I am quite proud of these collections and regard them as some of my finest work.

I am thinking of tokenizing this series on NFTShowroom, but I haven't worked on its details. I am careful not to take on too many works at one time or risk getting myself burnout.


That's it for now. If you read this far, thank you. I appreciate it so much! Kindly give me a follow if you like my content. I mostly write about making art, life musing, and our mundane yet charming family life here in Klang Valley, Malaysia.

Thank you for visiting and reading my post. I hope you like it!

My First NFT Collection – Stencil 2017 – Is Now Available On OpenSea

My Second NFT Collection – Oli Kawaii Verse – Is Now Available On OpenSea

3
$ 0.64
$ 0.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Arte-macarre
$ 0.05 from @daring-celt
+ 1
Sponsors of coloringiship
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for coloringiship
2 years ago

Comments

Beautiful your work! Colorful, vivid and fresh. We share a similar style.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you. Yes, we do share a similar style. I love vivid colors. I was drawn to your work because of that reason.

$ 0.00
2 years ago