A Portrait of My Nieces - Portrait Sketching With Time-Lapse Video

6 23
Avatar for coloringiship
1 year ago
Topics: Family

These beautiful young ladies are my nieces. Several months ago, one of them approached me and asked if I could sketch a portrait of her and her sister. I said yes, of course, I could. I had several commissioned portraits in the queue so it took me a couple of months to finally finished sketching this.

People asked me why do I love to draw people's portraits and the answer is always every individual that I drew has their own stories, their own struggles, their own joys. And I would like to bring out the "essence of an individual" through my work using my own interpretations. And I always pray for every person I drew. I pray they would always be well, be blessed, and be held by the loving God whenever they are going through trials in their lives.

Progress Photos

I managed to take several progress photos but you could also watch the time-lapse video of me drawing it from start to finish.

I always start a drawing from left to right to avoid smudging or smearing the graphite and dirtying the paper.

I recorded myself while drawing using an old iPhone 6 and a basic tripod.

Materials I used:

  • Acid-free 170gsm A3 paper

  • Various sketching pencils grade H to 12B. I used 4 different pencil brands - Staedler Lumograph, Derwent Graphic, Mitsubishi 9800, Martol, Faber Castell 9000. My favorite is Derwent Graphic and I used it the most.

  • Faber Castell putty eraser

  • Daler Rowney Perfix Fixative spray to set the graphite

Simple and inexpensive materials but still produced exquisite results 😁

Time-lapse Video

That's it for now. If you read this far, thank you. I appreciate it so much! Kindly give me a follow/tip/sponsor if you like my content. I mostly write about making art, life musing, and our mundane yet charming family life here in Klang Valley, Malaysia.

Thank you for visiting and reading my post. I hope you like it!

My First NFT Collection – Stencil 2017 – Is Now Available OnΒ OpenSea

3
$ 0.75
$ 0.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Arte-macarre
$ 0.05 from @mc5punk
+ 1
Sponsors of coloringiship
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for coloringiship
1 year ago
Topics: Family

Comments

The drawing is great, I love the result. I hope you have a lot of success with your next works.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you so much. Glad that you loved it :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! This is so beautiful, you're so talented ma'am. Did you learn how to draw? Or you were birthed with it; as a talent? This is really superb

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you! I am self-taught, never taken any professional course in the arts.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Simply beautiful portraits! The art of realism you highlight very well. Congratulations!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you so much for your kind words :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago