Pros and Cons of Living Alone

8 18
Avatar for coffeejelly
2 years ago

Have you tried living alone or experienced living far away from your parents?

If you have, you know how hard it is. And you know how easy some things can be, too.

I have recently heard rumors about bringing back face to face classes. For two years, we settled on online classes. But since the situation is getting better, schools are planning to open again.

It made me feel both nervous and excited. After all, I have experienced how it is to live alone to study. The rumors made me remember my life, living in a dormitory.

I am a college student in a university two hours away from my home. For convenience, I decided to stay in a dormitory. It felt like living alone like how some adults live.

It gave me an idea how to be independent, with no family to rely on so I kind of know how it is to live alone. If you haven’t tried dorm life, you may be wondering how it is.

Living alone has its own perks, of course. But it also has its own disadvantages. There are always a bright and dark side, right?

So… I’ll tell you a little bit about it by sharing my experience.

GIF made in Canva

Perks of living alone

• More freedom going out because you don’t have to ask permission from your parents

If you live with your parents and they can be a little strict, you always have to tell them if you’re going out. They’ll ask you so much questions like where will you go, what will you do or who are your companions. Sometimes, the won’t even allow you to go out. But when you’re alone, you don’t have to tell your parents those things anymore. You can go out anytime and you can come home late without the fear of getting scolded.

• More motivated to do household chores because no one nags you to do them

Are you the type of person that when somebody tells you to do something you’re actually planning to do, you’ll lose the will to do them anymore? I’m like that sometimes. I dislike getting nagged and dictated when I’m already planning to do it. Parents are a little too hasty sometimes. When you live alone, you’ll get to do the chores willingly because no one told you to. You’ll be doing it for yourself and it’s really satisfying, being responsible in your own will.

• Learn how to manage your finances

Photo from Money Goody

This is the good side of living on a budget. You become better on handling your money. Every month or week, you have to make a budget plan and stick to it, or else you won’t have enough money to live on. Living alone teaches us discipline that will help us get through tough times.

• You can wake up early or late when you have no classes or work

Have you ever woke up because your parents have been bugging you to wake up, on a weekend, when you have no work or class? You know it’s really the worst way to start a day. But when you’re all alone, you can enjoy your sleep and make up for what you have lost during the past days.

• You'll have more peace

No one will make unnecessary noise at home because it’s only you. If you’re uncomfortable with slight noise, it feels really relieving live by yourself.

GIF made in Canva

Disadvantages of living alone

• You have no one to help you in some chores when it gets busy

I struggled living in my dormitory when I got busy at school during exams as we’re too occupied with requirements and tests. You just have no time to cook for yourself or wash your clothes. You will wish that you have someone with you to help you with some chores but.. sadly, you live away from your parents.

• You may get short on your budget

Necessities are so expensive. It’s hard to handle some expenses. And there will be times when you won’t have enough and it is really hard to ask someone else for money.

• You’ll miss home cooked meals

I don’t know how to cook that much and I don’t have the time most of the time do it was really hard to have a proper meal. I got used to eating instant foods. I really missed home cooked meals when I was in dorm.

GIF from Tenor

• You have no one to care for you when you’re sick

There were days when I felt unwell and I wished I had someone to cook meals for me, do some chores for me. Too bad, I was alone.

This is only my experience and some people may have had it harder or easier. Bottom line, there are good and bad things in everything. I hope we will always overcome the bad part.


Lead image edited in Canva


Stay healthy everyone ♥️

7
$ 1.56
$ 1.48 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.03 from @Oluwa_damilare
Sponsors of coffeejelly
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for coffeejelly
2 years ago

Comments

I still feel like it's much more of an advantage staying alone because you just get to do your thing, no interruption whatsoever, that alone is enough reason to live...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It really depends on the person. It's really great to be able to live independently. Being alone is really nice because you don't have to conscious of what other people think of you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The best part of living alongeis the fact that you get to be completely independent in your daily life and learn how to cook for yourself, do laundry, and other things that you might not have the opportunity to do in your previous living situation. You also get a lot more freedom, since you don't have to worry about anyone else's rules or expectations. However, as the saying goes, "there's no place like home." You have no one to talk to when things get tough, no one to celebrate with when things go right, and it's driving you crazy! The funny thing is, as much as you love living alone, you'll still long for your family.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're right. You really learn so much when you have no one else to help you. That's why you kind of stop being lazy 🤣 You have to keep moving or else you'll just waste your precious time.

But, even if I was living alone. I had friends to have fun with and they just make life better. So even if you're independent, that does not mean you always have to be alone. You can have friends that will be there for you and friends you'll always accompany when things get fun or tough.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I still live with my parents (ofc girl your only 15 ಥ‿ಥ) HAHAHAHA but i can relate to all the things you said when still living with your parents.

I do want someday to live independently thoo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really want to live away again. It's more peaceful to be alone 🤣

But, you should know basic skills like cooking so you won't be like me. I was really struggling back then hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Already done it. I know that feelings. I know that points you showed. I felt them too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope you'll get through living alone. Being alone does not mean you're lonely ♥️

$ 0.00
2 years ago