Lockdown Birthdays in Year 2020-2021

1 31
Avatar for chocnut
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Experiences, Writing, Story, Blog, ...

Year 2020 was catastrophic for the entire world.

Internationally, the dispute between United States and Iran was almost considered as the brink of World War 3; global wildfire crisis occurred around the world that killed and displaced animals. The COVID-19 broke out in China and gradually to other states; the Krokatoa Volcano erupted in Lampung, Hawaii that left an enormous casualties and damage in the island.

In the Philippines, we were welcomed by the Taal Volcano eruption in Batangas last January 2020 that affected thousands of families within the area and its neighboring provinces. In the same month, the first case of COVID-19 was recorded. In March, the government imposed a nationwide lockdown that no one thought would reach until this year 2021. It has been more than a year of adapting and living with this new normal. With the different events that occured during 2020, it is hard to encapsulate them all. However, I am certain that we apparently expected this pandemic to last this long in the Philippines with the kind of COVID response that had been implemented during the earlier months of lockdown. Citizens were not surprised but disappointed yet remained hopeful. With all of these happening around us, we need be sensitive with the situation and obedient with the guidelines.

Here Comes My Story

It was March 14, 2020, my last senior high school day because the next morning would be the first lockdown. The darkness was starting to engulf the light from the sun. My friends and I did what we normally do after class dismissal — walk our way to jeepney terminal after classes, hangout, and eat whatever streetfood we see. We were delighted because we knew the following school days would be just days of waiting for the kick-off party and preparations for our graduation. We planned what we'll do with our remaining moments together inside the school premises. Basically, we had everything planned out. I was just so excited and anticipating with the upcoming momentous events in my life — and that includes my 18th birthday, my debut. It could have been a double celebration with April 2 as my special day and April 3 as my graduation day.

Unfortunately, the protocols were tightened and strictly followed by the month of April. No mass gatherings means no big birthday celebration and graduation. Nevertheless, my family made my day special. It was attended by my selected relatives and two of my close friends within our barangay. It was simple yet meaningful. At night, there were still what if's and what could have been's.

Fast forward to April 2021. The surge of cases in our country breaches even higher. The second lockdown was then imposed nearly before my birthday. It was a Good Friday, the second time I celebrated my birthday during a lockdown. At first, I started to believe that perhaps I do have bad luck. But in no time, I realized that maybe everything happened for us to learn and discover something from it. And this has become my mindset.

I thought, I need to take this solemn and simple day as a chance to document the precious mundane moments that I often overlook— people who keep me sane and insane at the same time, senseless and substantial conversations, good company, good friends, good food, a gracious and bonded family, and good God. The quality things I have.

These are the simple things that sometimes are hard to appreciate and recognize. Ironically, simple things aren't always easy but necessary for our well-being . When you're at it, there's definitely nothing like doing nothing with them.

For the whole year quarantined with my thoughts and introspections, I believe I've became even more courageous. Why? Recently, I was able to cut my own bangs shorter than before! I could say "no" better without feeling guilty. I've also appreciated myself even more. Live up to my values and metrics. Render my time and energy for those people and situations that actually matter. And lastly, deal with unextricable thread of emotional instability and step out of my cocoon to gradually reach out, connect and show myself outside my zone. It has been liberating to know that life still is wonderful.

Perhaps I've successfully exploited these experiences during my consecutive lockdown birthdays. Well, I am grateful and will always be.

Not to give a pleasant-sounding cliché but I'm certain —All will be alright in time, puhon.

4
$ 0.10
$ 0.05 from @kushina
$ 0.05 from @cherrynwine
Avatar for chocnut
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Experiences, Writing, Story, Blog, ...

Comments

Indeed, sometimes, those little things that we failed to see are necessary. We just need to look beyond and deeper. There are lesson that awaits. We can also be kvell in that simple things!

$ 0.00
2 years ago