When the kids are away, mama will play.

0 46
Avatar for cassava
3 years ago

When the kids are away, mama will write. I wrote play in the title to make it rhyme with away.

This is about how I manage to write articles even though I am sitting my kids at home.

Intro

When the kids go outside to play, I begin typing. I write. I reflect. I analyze and synthesize. The downside to sitting for long periods is achy legs and back. I enjoy writing very much that if only my circumstances would allow then I will just write for the rest of my days. But no, not just yet. I have to have my full time job.

My children whine from time to time through out the day. I have a 10-year old, 5-year old, and almost 2-year old kids. My first baby sits the youngest. But he demands his freedom so I let him go to play with other kids. My second is the hardest to deal with--either he plays with my cellphone or buys whatchamacallits at the store if he is not outside playing with the other kids. My last and my only daughter is the cutest and dearest of all. After all she is the only girl. She is more considerate than the two. Even if she is still very young, I could feel how she will be in the near future.

Going back, I have my table set up at the messy wide room of our house. There is no divider between the living room and kitchen and dining area. It is pretty easy for me to prepare coffee and the plugs are many around my workplace in the house. It is very convenient. To add to that, we have a store near us where we could readily buy groceries. So I could write more instead of using the time up to go to the grocery or market. But since I also needed to tighten my budget so I sacrifice time to go and get them at cheaper prices.

Challenge

The challenge for me is the interruption of the flow of my ideas.

  • I send the kids to play. They come back. D1 (my first) will complain that her sister is crying and he can't do anything about it. So I have to rescue him from his sister.

  • D2 as I have said is very hard to deal with when you are busy. You have to think of excellent ideas to keep him off gadget and so he will refrain from always buying at the store. Everytime he is done with the phone, he wants to buy. So I sacrifice some of my BCH earnings to buy him toys so that his screen time will be lessened and so that he will be entertained.

  • D2 and D3 both need assistance whenever they poo or pee. Most especially with D3 because she still has her nappy on. When the nappy is full or soiled, I have to be the one to attend to her.

After the interruption, sometimes I go off track with my original plan. Most of the time I simply finish the article so I am done with it. Otherwise the draft gets deleted. I try to refrain from deleting drafts but then it became habitual. Of course, I need to draft things for longer time so I have to fix my habit.

Keeping my Cool

Keeping my cool is the best way to deal with the problem. But most of the time, I shout and scold the kids especially if they don't seem to be listening to what I say. At the end of the day, I have no other feeling but love for them.

There were instances where I question myself why I ever allowed myself to get married. But I could not question the past because the past had reasons in itself. Also I am a normal person who gets to feel what others feel. So I guess, there's no one to blame, even myself.

Anyway, I bore three wonderful kids and being please with them instead of irritated is way better.

I think that I am very much fortunate to have children. I think about the others, who, no matter what they did, were not blessed yet. But our pastor told us that even with barren women, nothing is impossible with prayer. My sister so wanted to have a child. I pray she will have one soon enough. But He has the perfect timing for things so only He knows.

The Mess

I sometimes wonder why I could go on writing even when house chores are not yet done. I tried telling my husband about getting a helper. He wondered as well why I needed one. But I know he knew I needed a house helper.

I wanted to focus on my writing and academic concerns but I just can't put enough time for these due to house chores.

But you know what? I still see my household lucky. Just lucky.

Conclusion

We come down with the thought that no matter what, we think best not to give in to negativities. Challenges must be dealt with accordingly with the best way possible.

With my work done at home and with my passion in writing, I still try to do my best despite the interruptions that the rearing of the kids bring about. They are children. They need parents. Working parents or not. Also, there is no such thing as non-working parents. Whether you are in the field or in the house or in the office, being a parent is already a job in itself. The worry you feel for your kids, the stress you carry for them, and everything else that comes with parenting, they are no light matters.

Hence, I finish this article off with a follow up on my title:

  • When the kids are away, mama will play. This just means that I do whatever I can do when they are in their best moods for the day. And when needed, I have to attend to their needs and carry their requests on. I sometimes feel guilty for postponing things for them. But I want to forgive myself every time.

And yes, right this moment I am playing (working).

2
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @Her-bert
Avatar for cassava
3 years ago

Comments