Preparing Mexican tortillas in the best Venezuelan style

18 58
Avatar for carolinacardoza
2 years ago

Greetings my dear friends of Read.cash, I have been a little absent for days because I felt a little sick with flu, finally today I was able to get out of bed and I feel much better. I am sorry for not being able to participate as usual and respond to all your nice comments, I hope you understand and forgive me.

To make up for this terrible absence I have come with my batteries recharged to show you my most recent recipe, it is about some tortillas that I have been wanting to learn how to make for a long time. The truth is that in the last few days I have been watching many cooking shows and it seems unbelievable but in all of them the tortilla appears as a side dish.

When I see that I can only say Wau! They are really delicious and perfect with everything. Here in Venezuela a few years ago they started to bring a special Nixtamal flour from Mexico, at the beginning nobody knew how to prepare it, many said that it looked like the dough to make arepas but no, besides its flavor is completely different.

While doing some research about tortillas I realized that it is made with this Nixtamal flour and I immediately got down to work and made them. So without further ado, I invite you to my kitchen so that together we can learn how to make them.

Today I woke up in the morning and went to the market to buy all the ingredients to practice and see if I can get the recipe. On the internet there are countless videos where they give many tips for us to get them right; as I understood the tortillas should be soft, that can be molded and should also be inflated, that would be the perfect cooking, although not all tortillas go through this process.

At home everyone was waiting for the moment to eat and they were going around and around the kitchen asking questions and giving me advice as well.

Ingredients for the dough

- 4 nixtamilized flour (Minsa or maseca)

- 3 and a half cups of warm water

- One tablespoon of all-purpose wheat flour.

- Salt (Optional)

How to prepare

In a bowl place the Minsa flour and the all-purpose wheat flour, add 3 cups of warm or room temperature water and stir, then knead for 5 minutes and add the other half cup of water a little at a time. The dough should be neither too dry nor too wet. For me the secret is in the kneading. Then we let the dough rest for an hour but before we cover it with plastic wrap and a cloth on top.

It's time to heat the griddle, then we take the dough and give it a little knead, if you see that it has dried on top you can add a few drops of water and knead. We take a ball and put it in the grinder, if you do not have a device to do it does not matter, take a plate or chopping board and making it with force so that it is very thin, as much as possible.

Lower the heat to the griddle and place our tortillas. The time process is very important. Once the tortilla is assembled, count 25 seconds and turn it over, then cook the tortilla side for one minute, then turn it over again and this is where the tortilla should inflate, leave it for 20 seconds more and remove it.

These tortillas should be kept in a tortilla holder or a bowl wrapped in a special cloth for this task.

Guacamole

To make this delicious sauce, Mexicans use a special mortar and pestle, but since I don't have one, I mashed the avocado with a fork. The idea is not to be left with the desire to undo things or limit ourselves.

Ingredients

- One avocado

- one medium onion

- cilantro

- a lime

- salt and pepper

- pepper

The procedure I did is as follows, I mashed the avocado and squeezed the juice of one lime, added plenty of salt and then chopped the onion and cilantro and added it to the mixture. Super simple, right? The idea is that this guacamole is not completely mashed because otherwise it would turn into a sauce or guasacaca as we say here in Venezuela.

My son Israel and my husband Josè enjoying the delicious tortillas with their spicy touch and guacamole.

At the moment of serving I accompanied or filled my tortillas with shredded meat and fresh lettuce. I can only tell you that after 3 failed attempts I finally learned to make the tortillas, they are easy and quick to make. The best of all was sharing with my family and hearing their good comments. All of that is what makes you want to keep cooking and spoiling them all your life.

I hope you liked it, I'll tell you until the next recipe and remember to "spice up your life".



Sponsors of carolinacardoza
empty
empty

https://www.deepl.com/es/translator

16
$ 4.25
$ 3.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @Winx1988
+ 7
Avatar for carolinacardoza
2 years ago

Comments

Tenía muchas ganas de probar esas tortillas

$ 0.00
2 years ago

me gustaría invitarte algún día para que las pruebes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeey!! Thank you so much for inviting! I would love to, maybe in the future! I can be your guest..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

aha! i am craving for this now looking at the pictures! your son and husband look like they are all serious eating it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They finished with everything, thank God I had left for me on another plate, hahahahahahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those look so yummy Caro! I'm glad you're better, at my home, we all had the flu, like two weeks ago but it passed quickly;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I'm getting over the flu, I'm getting back to work as it should be. thanks for your good wishes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You guys are so awesome ma'am carolina, you're a family of cooks, people who love to cook. I haven't tried tortillas, but I like the guacamole

$ 0.05
2 years ago

At first it was difficult for me to get them perfect, they have to be inflated. This was something that intrigued me a lot and I was finally able to solve it. thanks for your visit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahhhh so nice to read this, what a good dish. A perfect food for a happy family

$ 0.05
2 years ago

We really enjoyed them a lot and now I would like to get more special flour to be able to repeat them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alway looks Great Ma'am.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you very much, have a nice day

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love this family. Fully enjoyed the article and the dishes look appetizing.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

How nice you are, thank you for visiting my blog.The best thing was to eat them, I think I missed the spice because in Mexico it is the number one ingredient in everything they eat.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's why people love Mexican foods dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wohhh that's look delicious 😋

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks, happy christmas start, hope you can make them someday too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago