Halloween night, witches day, day of the dead. 💀 👻

19 66
Avatar for carolinacardoza
2 years ago

Greetings my dear friends of Read.cash; it seems unbelievable but October is already more than halfway and Halloween is approaching, here in Venezuela the day of the witches is October 31 and two days later is the day of the dead. I don't know if that is called a celebration but from what I see there are countries like Mexico where everyone makes altars and typical dishes, they sing songs and everything with the purpose of remembering their dead.

In Venezuela and in many countries around the world it is a tradition to commemorate the Day of the Dead or All Souls Day. Every November 2nd we go to the cemeteries to visit the graves of our relatives and friends. On this day many first visit the church to dedicate a mass to the deceased and then buy flowers to decorate the place where the remains of their loved ones lie.

Recently the celebration of this holiday has been introduced in our customs, many people dress up in costumes or disguise their children and go out trick-or-treating. Others decorate their spaces and share creepy recipes. It gives me a good laugh to see the children in their costumes. I think people today have lost their fear of death. Many times I don't know what to think about it, are they witches' things, are they man's things or are they things from the beyond. What do you think?

I tell you that until recently I did not understand why in Mexico they celebrated this day in this way, and only until I saw the movie Coco I discovered many things.

The activities begin on October 31, which unites Halloween with November 1 and 2, which are dedicated to All Saints' Day and All Souls' Day.

The true meaning that Mexicans want to teach us is that life continues after death, the love we feel for our family and friends makes us keep them alive in our lives, in our hearts, and death comes when we forget them, when we no longer remember the moments we lived, what we shared, what they liked.

That is why when this date arrives everyone goes to the cemetery at night and clean their graves, make beautiful altars, put the food, fruits and music they liked the most.

In the state of Campeche-Mexico, the customs go beyond creepy, and consist of taking out the remains of the deceased, cleaning them and having contact with him.

Very different from what we Venezuelans commemorate, the celebration of the Day of the Dead for Mexicans is a celebration of life, of reunion, a celebration of love and respect for their deceased relatives.

It is to unite every year and keep alive the faith in the promise that someday they will meet again.

I always remember my dead with much affection, I never forget them, I remember a lot those people who saw me grow up, who gave me love, my grandparents, my uncles, but especially my father, who was a wonderful being, who raised me with much affection along with my brothers and I keep the best memories of him from my childhood.

On this day I want to dedicate this cross stitch embroidery to my dead. I really enjoyed working on this design because I have always liked catrinas, their calaverita shape, their flowers and the diversity of colors that always adorn them.

>The history of La Catrina begins during the governments of Benito Juarez, Sebastian Lerdo de Tejada and Porfirio Diaz. During these periods, texts written by the middle class began to become popular, criticizing both the general situation of the country and that of the privileged classes.

The writings, written in a mocking manner and accompanied by drawings of skulls and skeletons, began to be reproduced in the so-called combat newspapers. These were skulls dressed in gala clothes, drinking pulque, riding on horseback, at high society or neighborhood parties. All to portray the misery, political errors, the hypocrisy of a society, as is the case of "La Catrina". Wikipedia

One of the people who made Catrinas known in the world was Frida Kahlo, who together with her husband Diego Rivera dedicated many of her paintings to this character.

We can also see that the image of the Catrina has been used in movies, series, murals, fashion and many other things. Something that I really like is that on the Day of the Dead it is a tradition to paint the face of Catrina and artists take advantage of this day to create wonderful works.

Frida and La Catrina: Sunday afternoon dream at Alameda central by Diego Rivera

I am very happy to have made this post and to be able to dedicate it to my loved ones who are no longer on this earthly plane, but who are still so alive in my heart, as if they had never departed. Finally I invite you to remember your grandparents, your parents if they are gone, talk about them to your children, your grandchildren and may we all remember them for many generations. I say see you soon and take care of yourselves because in this month they are frightening.

Sponsors of carolinacardoza
empty
empty

I want to thank my new sponsors @Hontop and @Infinity. Thank you very much and God bless you



12
$ 6.93
$ 6.62 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
+ 5
Avatar for carolinacardoza
2 years ago

Comments

Hola es muy bonito la manera en que nos presentastes esta celebracion al igual que tu soy venezolana y se que para nosotros es nuevo pues como bien dijistes solo celebramos el dia de los muerto y de los santos. Haloween poco a poco se ha ido colando entre nosotros. Pero sabes? Con esto de estas fiestas las personas se les ha ido un poco la mano ya que he visto muy alarmada imagenes colgadas en las redes que perturban la mente de lo sangriento y espeluznante que son. Me pregunto es ese el haloween que quieren que celebremos? Porque si me preguntan a mi diria NO. Te saludo y de mas esta decirte que me encanto leerte.muchos éxitos

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here In Nigeria we don't celebrate Halloween. But it's always fun when I see pictures of Halloween from other countries.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was hoping to see you dressed in one hahaha. Love what you do with your creativity, my friend.

Thank you for all that you do, my friend. I really appreciate you.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hehehehehe, I'm going to dress up as a witch on October 31 and I'm going to take lots of pictures to show you. Thank you Olas for your words

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha I can't wait to see the pictures. 😍😍🥰🥰😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm indeed jealous, because we don't celebrate halloween here in my country.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

could you tell me what country you are from please. In Venezuela the tradition has been introduced little by little.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You wrote very interesting about your customs, I really enjoyed that, may the souls of all the dead be happy...

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I also learned that one day I saw a television program where they do more intense rituals for the dead, there is a town in Mexico where they have a huge party and they go to the cemetery, take out the bones of the deceased and clean them and then put them back in the box.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nobody will stay here forever. Your cross-stitch embroidery dedication to the dead that's great. They are appreciating your love from Heaven. Your dad was a great person. That's he always makes his memory alive.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, I do have many loved ones in heaven. We must never forget them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, of course. They are not forgotten.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Coco is really a good movie. We should commemorate the dead. Our ancestors coz without them we can't be brought in this world.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You are right, I loved the movie, I hope they do more like that where they show more traditions and customs of each country. it is a different way to educate us and our children learn.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also saw the movie coco and I like it as a fantasy. My parents taught me to commemorate the day of the dead. And here I have learned to celebrate the life we had with them. And I don't like to celebrate death. Nice drawings.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, you are right. The catrinas were introduced to the world as a way of protest, from what I researched they were used in murals and paintings to protest the government of the day. Then they were taken in other ways to create art.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buen articulo, me gusto mucho la parte donde hablaste de la catrina, Feliz Halloween

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I saw the movie Coco, which is about the celebration of the Day of the Dead in Mexico. Excellent movie. We don't have that tradition, but it seems very nice to remember those who are no longer physically that way.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

How nice to have you among my friends.

$ 0.00
2 years ago