Caramel cushion made from recycled jeans

19 75
Avatar for carolinacardoza
1 year ago
Topics: Home, Photography, Craft, Artist, Art, ...

Candy cushion for you!

Today I come to bring you this beautiful candy shaped cushion made with recycled material. All of us women love to have our spaces in the house well decorated, from the porch of our homes, the living room, the master bedroom. Wherever we go, we love to be comfortable and we craftswomen know that to make a piece we spend hours sitting on a chair until we finish it. That's why a cushion is essential, so we can lie down and be more comfortable to work.

Step by step

In my bed I also have a few cushions, I like my husband and I to be very quiet, relaxed, watching a movie in the comfort of our bed. So if you like the idea and you have an old jean lying around that you don't wear you can take it and come with me to learn something new.

We are going to make a main piece by cutting a jean leg measuring approximately 30 x 38 centimeters. We cut it well so that all the sides are straight.

We are also going to cut two squares for the sides measuring 20 x 38 centimeters. We join the ends and french sew to hide the imperfections. We should also sew one of the edges and reserve it for later working with this piece.

Cut two pieces for the decorative ruffles, measuring 12 cm wide x 80 cm long. Iron them in half so that they are 6 centimeters wide, join the ends with straight stitching and gather them until the circumference of the cushion is the same size as the cushion.

Patchwork embroidery

From the beginning when I started cutting this cushion I wanted to do it with the patchwork technique, so I cut out the letters with this word that I love because it encourages me every day, create + art, is to design every day what we like and the most important thing is that each of these things we print a lot of LOVE. We all have the gift to create, there is always something that we like, we can work with any material, in the schedule that we like, I particularly love to work in the morning after my husband and my children go to their daily tasks, there is in the middle of that silence, that tranquility that inspires me.

Well, after cutting out the letters, we put some glue on the back to make it more resistant and to prevent it from fraying when washed. Then we embroider all around with scallop stitch.

When we have all the pieces ready we begin to assemble the cushion, the first thing we do is to close the main piece with straight and zigzag stitching.

Before I continue I want to tell you that I had a caramel cushion to cover and based on that measurement I made this pattern, but if your cushion is bigger or smaller you only have to calculate the measurements leaving always two centimeters of seam on each side.

Turn the piece right side out and place the decorative ruffle. I like to fix this ruffle with long stitches made with needle and thread (Bastear) so that the piece does not move when sewing.

Now we do the same with the two cylinders that we reserved previously. We face right sides together, trying to place the edges well, it is also good that all the seams are in the same direction. Now we pass straight seam and if you like you can make a zigzag, this will give better neatness to the work.

Final result.

Well friends! now I have a new cushion that will give me comfort for my back or neck. I am very happy with the result, I really like everything, the color, the size. I tell you that the cylinder I used to put inside is a cushion I made some time ago filled with fabric scraps left over from my crafts, so this cushion is practically made of recycled material.

I really don't throw anything away in my sewing workshop, for me everything is useful and deserves a second chance. With this I say goodbye, I hope you like this craft, take care of yourselves and remember

Put a smile on your face!!!!


Sponsors of carolinacardoza
empty
empty


14
$ 3.35
$ 3.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 5
Avatar for carolinacardoza
1 year ago
Topics: Home, Photography, Craft, Artist, Art, ...

Comments

Your creativity is amazingly commendable ma'am. The stitching is also clean seems like it is professionally weaved.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It looks like it came direct from the market. Wow, you are supper good in DIY projects 😘

$ 0.00
1 year ago

HOLA ¡Me gusta este trabajo! So cute!🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you very much friend, it's super easy to do, we always have a pant leg lying around, it's better to give it a try.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love it. You are really good at it ma'am.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you friend, they are really very useful, especially when watching television.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Can I have that cutie 🤩🤩✨ it's cute and you are rely good at it, whoa 👏🤩

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hi Ruffa, I like to use that material that others discard, things made with jean are beautiful.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are really have a good hand ma'am! Very beautiful and the good thing is,all the materials are recycled.great idea🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As you are Maria, I invite you to make it, it doesn't matter if you don't have a sewing machine.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your attention to details and creativity is off the roof. This is lovely and I always admire your works. You look absolutely good too. 🤗🤗🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My friend, how are you, a big hug, for a long time I was about to invite you to the Hive community called Silverbloggers, there we have a great time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I would be absolutely thrilled to join. Kindly help me with the link if you can. Thank you.

I'm good and you? A wonderful warm and tight hug for you 🤗🤗🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you so much 🤗🤗🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lovely works,so cutie 😍😍😍 Can I have it?hihi just kidding😅 I shown this picture to my son an dhe told he me its nice and cute😍

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hi Chelle, you can have it too, you can just cut a leg from an old jean and sew the sides, stuff it with scraps of fabric that you can ask a seamstress who lives near your house.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's cute. You are so creative

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dear Jane, an honor to have you on my blog. Thank you very much for your words, it encourages me a lot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago