The Break of Dawn

3 28
Avatar for captain.teemo
2 years ago

photo from google

I see myself falling, falling into darkness then suddenly my vision turned completely black. I regained consciousness but what I see is chaos. Women are screaming, while being dragged and harassed by people who I recognize as Spanish friars. I see scenes of corrupt Spanish government abusing powerless people, depriving them of their rights and freedom. It all turned black again for the second time. I’m trembling with fear as I realize this was the time where we, Filipinos, were colonized by the Spaniards. As my vision slowly returns, I see a man in black facing outward. I already knew who he was the moment I saw him. Moments later, shots were fired, and I had been awakened from a nightmare.

Breathing heavily, I slowly got up and looked outside the window and saw the dawn breaking. The sun steadily rose above the great mountains. It reminded me of a bright future. It reminded me of change as if it’s saying, “you are the hope of the future.” As I calm myself down, I’ve realized that what I had was not just a dream but a glimpse of the past, dreadfully happening again in the present time.

It’s hard to accept that my country, the Philippines, right now is still experiencing the same situation during the Spanish era - corrupt government, abuse of power and authority, discrimination, and deprivation of rights. However, by learning the life of our National Hero, Dr. Jose Rizal, his masterpieces, his way of showing his genuine love for our country, and his contribution in achieving freedom, the sense of nationalism of this generation’s youth will surely be ignited.

photo rom google

Rizal’s famous novels, Noli Me Tangere and El Filibusterismo became eye-openers in the past and will again do its magic in the present. With his works, we will never be blinded again. We already know what happened in the past therefore we should also know what will happen now if we have the courage to fight for the things we know what is right. Rizal became a catalyst for the Philippine revolt against the Spanish rule years ago and now, he will again become another one, a catalyst who will inspire the youth to fight against corrupt governance, abuse of power, and discrimination in order for all of us to live a life we can enjoy.

Dr. Jose Rizal made me stronger. He became my inspiration. I was able to recognize that I also have the power to make a change despite all the odds. He awakened my inner Rizal. He inspired me to love and fight for our country and be proud of being a Filipino. He encouraged me to voice out my concerns because it is only that time I am able to make a difference. He became the fuel to keep my sense of nationalism burning.

The breaking of dawn shows us that a new beginning is possible. It shows us that if we work together in fighting for what’s right, we can achieve greatness and make the society a better place. Only when we have realized Rizal’s dream can we really appreciate his greatness because only then will we realize the true value of his ideals.

photo from google

Dr. Jose Rizal became an inspiration to many people, especially the Filipinos. He may not be here physically, but he will always remain in our hearts and be remembered as one of the most important persons in achieving our freedom.

In our society right now, we also have our very own modern heroes – the police and military who are constantly preserving peace and security; doctors, nurses, and other professions on health who cure and save lives of thousands of people;  teachers who cure ignorance and many more. Let’s find time to thank them and make them feel that they are very much appreciated.

 

All hail the heroes of old and the present!

 

4
$ 0.06
$ 0.06 from @coffeejelly
Sponsors of captain.teemo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for captain.teemo
2 years ago

Comments

I would like to choose a leader in the country who like Jose Rizal. Who fight against the enemy by peaceful ways and not by war or any violence.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Rizal inspired us to be heroes in our own ways. This election, I really wish our hearts would remember Rizal who loved our country so much. We should use our right to vote to choose good leaders because we love our country too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad Rizal inspired you, too. Agreed, we need good leaders with strong vision and concrete platforms for our country's future

$ 0.00
2 years ago