OFWs are Heroes

6 45
Avatar for captain.teemo
2 years ago
photo from google

When I was young, I’ve always been jealous of my friends who have parents working overseas. I’ve always thought they were living such great lives. They have good-looking clothes, shoes, and the coolest toys every kid has dreamed of. However, as I get older and realize more about life, the way I think towards my friends who grew up without their parents beside them and the people working abroad changed.

The whole “I want to work abroad when I grow up” thing in the life of a Filipino now hits different. I now find this very sad and painful because Filipinos need to work overseas, miles away from their children and families just to provide them a good life. It shouldn’t be this way. Leaving families behind and letting children grow without their parents personally guiding them will bear serious consequences. Although communication is maintained, it is still better for parents to be with their families.

However, I cannot blame my fellow Filipinos who take risks and willing to work overseas for their families because I am very much aware of how poor the system is here in our country. Many professionals are produced every single year but the way they are compensated is not enough considering how expensive it is to live here in our country. Filipino professionals work abroad for them to earn more and earning more means better life. I’ve realized how selfless Filipinos are and how much they are willing to sacrifice for their families. Yes, they are earning dollars, riyals and even pounds which worth way more than the Philippine peso however for them to earn that much, they are enduring abuses from their masters, and they are taking care of other people’s children while theirs were left under the care of someone else.

Now that I’ve realized the reality of life, I now have a clearer understanding of how hard it is to actually live. I shouldn’t be jealous of my friends just because they have things that I don’t have that came from other countries. I shouldn’t be jealous of their lives as well because having parents working overseas does not always mean they are living a happy life. Instead, I should recognize their struggles of living far away from their parents and be kind to them always. Also, it’s better for me to have a positive outlook towards them because if I let jealousy dominate, this would cause more negative outcomes.

I may not have a direct experience having parents working abroad but I have an uncle who is working in Hawaii for a very long time now. I still remember the last time he went home here in the country. When his vacation came to an end, I saw in his eyes pain and sadness as if he was saying “I want to stay but I have to go back in order for my family to survive.” After understanding all of his hardships and sacrifices, I would probably tell and make him feel that I’m proud of having such an amazing uncle. When we had our educational college tour, he provided financial assistance. When my laptop already met its end after using it for almost 13 years, again, he’s there to lend a hand even if we’re kilometers apart. Honestly, he is one of the reasons why I am studying hard right now and I’m doing my best to graduate with flying colors. We had a promise. He said he’ll support me if I do well in my studies. That motivated and inspired me to keep moving forward even how hard college life is. That day will definitely come, the day I’ll say, “Tito, I kept my promise”

Not many people appreciate the efforts of OFWs but for me, I consider them as heroes. Heroes that we should be forever grateful of. Heroes who deserve the greatest respect.

8
$ 0.92
$ 0.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @KweenAzyKeith
Sponsors of captain.teemo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for captain.teemo
2 years ago

Comments

Nice meeting you dear it my first time reading your article here I can rate it as a wonderful one . Seriously you are right about that OFW are truly a heros . Welcome to read.cash and have a successful journey ☝️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for appreciating my work! I hope I'll have a great time here in read.cash

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I have a OFW relative and their they best for the sake of their family. Indeed, OFW are heroes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope they're doing great out there. I pray for their safety

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OFWs are the heroes of the new generation. They are willing to sacrifice everything just to give a better life to their families.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed, they are the most, if not, one of the most hard working people around. Let's find time to thank them and make them feel appreciated

$ 0.00
2 years ago