End of hospital life for me last week after mother’s discharge back home

0 22
Avatar for bulletgelly
2 years ago
Topics: Writing, Society, Life, Story, Health, ...
Outside entrance of hospital my mother was admitted into

Caught hold of the culprit medications that brought my Mom to delirium state

In my previous articles , I detailed about the hardship me and my Dad went through admitting my delirious Mom to hospital as she had overdosed on anti-depressant Clofranil 75mg Tablet SR without prescription.

Things became even more complicated because she had been taking tons of steroid tablets without prescription in the form of Wysolone tablets. Taking those steroids tablets without need and doctors guidance can be life threatening!!

Taking steroids tablets like Wysolone without doctors prescription is dangerous

Last week, when I searched my mother’s room as the hospital was discharging her(against our wishes), I found the tablets that she had overdosed on which made her delirious.

2 strips of antidepressant Clofranil 75mg tablets from Mother’s room

Hospital discharge last week done against our preparedness of handling Mom at home

 Sudden news given to mother before us that she will be discharged that same day last week

It was good that I postponed her discharge again by one day, begging that stupid so called senior resident doctor to let me take care of few things before mother was discharged -

One was searching her room for these meds, as these meds are life threatening for her, and second have me deal with the medical shop, Aruna Medicals, that has been giving mother these medications. However, that women doctor refused, because she said the hospital delayed her discharge for 10 days on account of us, because we were searching for a rehab center to admit mother as we made it clear that we would not be able to manage mother at home.

After some dramas, and me telling that doctor that she is killing everyone by forcing discharge on us without even giving us a clear prior advance notice at least a day before so we can clear her room at least before taking this dangerous behaving mother charactor home. I had to sign a paper in my mother's hospital record file, which said her family member postponed discharge by 1 day against medical advise and against the patient’s consent.

 Clearing medications from mom’s room quickly before her discharge

I was not allowed to go home to screen Mom’s room, because one attender mandatorily has to be there with the patient in the hospital. So it was upto my Dad to screen Mom’s room for any medications like this. My dad failed to do a thorough search job obviously, because I found these meds on one of her cupboard shelves back home, when I came to rest in the end of the day.

Anyway… this hospital did not even allow me leave to take care of some basic aspects beforehand, to ensure mother does not get access to these life threatening medications, which was awfully unreasonable I thought. Now, mother is discharged, and she’s at home somewhat controlling and dominating everything and torturing us, but I have already dealt with the medical shop, Aruna Medicals who kept giving mother medicines without prescription.

 Confronting Aruna Medicals that sold those medicines illegally to mother

The criminals who kept selling dangerous meds to my Mother illegally all this time!!

During the peak of the pandemic on April this year, the main man there, who I now call a criminal, sold her a bunch of medications called Alprax. My mom’s overdose of that medication, had my mother enter delirium 3 years ago, and we already requested the man that time not to give her any medications, but he kept giving her meds like Wysolone, and recently he I very certain he or his 2 other crony employees gave that Clofranil 75mg tablet.

Inside me there was anger against the main man behind Aruna Medicals, I was sure if I did something similar to his family member he would have killed me. I was hesitant to threaten the man with legal action but circumstances forced me to. Last week, I told him that he kept on giving those meds which he should not without prescription and that he was a criminal. I told him he is murdering my mother, and torturing me, and if I did something like that to his family member, he would have certainly murdered me.

He first denied outright that he gave meds to mother. Then he deviated, he said( as I expected him to) that mother brought meds from him with the prescription, then he said my Dad buys Wysolone tablets for mother without prescription. Then he said, he gave her just 2 strips of Wysolone tablets, when she asked for a bunch of Wysolone tablets(bluff, he gave her 5 strips or more). Then he said I can check the cctv camera footages, as he said after we requested him in April not to give medications, he never gave(blatant lies).

This guy is able to talk nicely, and make us stammer, (waiver in our resolve to shout at him) I told him firmly that I won’t take legal action now, because I am not in a position to do so, but if my mother gets medications from him, I would definitely do so. It was against law to sell such medications without a valid doctor’s prescription and I have ways to take his licence away for this purpose.

He told me it was my mistake that I was not able to stop my mother from going out and getting the meds, I told him again what he is doing is illegal and I can take action, so mind it!!

I also cursed him that if he gave those medications this time for which we were stuck in hospital, he will suffer for it. I knew by now, if these guys would harm me for these threats, it’s going to be hard for them, anyway I assured him that I am not taking legal action now, but as I have the medications in my possession, I can report him still, so let him beware. I told him it’s not just mother, don’t give such medicines to anybody without a valid doctor’s prescription.

So, there I did what I could to ensure mother does not get access to these medications again. Next month, hopefully, my brother will take her and manage her abroad(she can't get meds there without priscription at the United States), till then have to bear the torture of her angry tantrums, scoldings, unresonanble behavior with insults and more…

Overall, help from hospital in getting guidance for managing mother was disappointing

I have a lot to say about the unfair and arbitrary treatment of me by the hospital, who could not help us transfer mother to a rehab centre, we had selected for her because they said can’t do it without the patient’s consent. However, they kept pressuring us to find a rehab center asap and they will facilitate in having us communicate to mother about this. They actually did everything wrongly, and made mother more angry with the family for wanting to put her in rehab centre!!

Anyway, life is as it is, have to face whatever it throws at it. I am hoping for better days filled with peace, less of hate, insults and ill treatment from mother and society. I am always grateful for every kind soul who made our days in the hospital tolerable .

More on my hospital experiences in my other articles. You can read my previous hospital stories here -

Continuing my hospital life story with circumstances forcing my family to deal with a crisis


Hard struggles of life admitting a psychic family member to the hospital

New cat in my life that I unexpectedly encountered at the hospital - Sweet!!

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for bulletgelly
2 years ago
Topics: Writing, Society, Life, Story, Health, ...

Comments