The Pros And Cons Of Working From Home

25 114
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Experiences, Blog

Have you ever thought of quitting your regular job and do home-based instead? Do you think working from home is a lot better and easier than working as a regular employee? If that's a double YES, then this article is for you.

We all know that most of us have/had a taste of working from home because of this pandemic. Many are happy for sure, but I know some who are not. And as much as I want to believe it, working from home isn't always a "sugar and spice, and everything nice" setup. They, too, have disadvantages, as well as advantages, and that's what I'm going to share with you all today.

This article is just to share with you all my opinions based on my own experience. In case you didn't know, I work as a freelancer. I've been working as a full-time freelancer since last year after quitting my job of over nine years, and to be honest, that was one of the best decisions I've made so far.

After years of deliberation, I made the riskiest yet fulfilling decision in my life. And if you're planning to do the same but not sure if it's the right thing to do, then keep reading to learn more.

So, here are the pros and cons of working from home:

Pros

  • Hassle-free. Working in a regular job in a big city can be stressful. In fact, this was one of the main reasons why I resigned. As a person with a disability, working in a regular job is NEVER easy. The everyday traffic, sudden changes of weather, transportation, being in crowded places, and the possibility of getting robbed was a lot to take. Although I did manage, (again) it was never easy. I barely survived.

    But working from home is quite the opposite. Now, I don't have to deal with those anymore.

  • Fewer rules. Let's face the fact that working on a regular job has a lot of house rules, such as no eating, no sleeping, no gadgets, no over breaks, and no idle time during working hours. Plus, no late and absences of more than two days in just a month or you will be summoned.

    Honestly, I did all these things before. I was even summoned to the HR office due to sleeping. My TL caught me one time and after a few weeks from that, I had to make a written explanation and explained myself to HR about it.

    There was also a time when I was no longer allowed to be late for six months. That was the worst coz I had no phone at that time, no alarm clock, and I only relied on my body clock. However, I survived!

    And if you're working from home, you don't have to worry about this stuff. You can do whatever you want, except that you are not allowed to open other tabs while working, avoid idle time while your time tracker is on, and be productive.

  • Better pay. When it comes to earnings, doing a freelance job pays more. Although your rate varies, depending on your skills, job success score, and the client itself.

  • Helps you grow more. Working as a freelancer also allows you to grow and learn new things in a short time. If you want to stay in the business, you need to learn at least one or two skills to have other menus to offer to the clients.

  • Looks not needed. You don't have to look presentable all the time unless a video call is needed. Other than that, you're good.

  • More family time. Here's another reason why I quit my job. I got tired of not seeing them for months, especially my furry baby. It hurts me seeing my nieces and nephew's begging for me to stay, or my Kiah barking so hard because she doesn't want me to leave. So last year, after spending my 2 weeks holiday in my hometown, I decided to resign, and that was the best decision I've made so far.

Cons

  • Stable internet connection. A stable connection makes you and your client happy.

  • Must have at least one skill. It's not enough that you can type 70wpm. You also need to have something more to offer to the client. Remember, there will be thousands of freelancers all over the globe, so it's not enough to only have the basics.

  • Boring. Whether you watch a movie using your phone or another device or listen to your favorite music nonstop, working from home is effin boring.

    It was okay at first but as days went by, it felt so lonely. I miss having my friends around. We used to talk a lot while working as it was our way to stay alive, especially during the graveyard shift. We shared jokes, the debate over something, shared snacks, and made fun with each other. Yeah, those are things that I really missed.

  • Lots of temptations. You'll be tempted to watch movies, play online games or mobile games, or do other stuff while doing your work, which gives you a hard time to finish your weekly limit. Eating is also going to be your favorite thing to do, which is not good for those who are on a diet.

  • Noisy kiddos and furry babies. Unfortunately, home isn't always the best place to work, especially if you have kids and dogs at the same time. In my case, I couldn't fully concentrate with my work because the kiddos would knock on the door just to tell you how funny or sad the movie was, or my furry baby barking coz she wanted to pee or go out with them.

Overall, working from home is better than going to a regular job. Although it has ups and downs, rest assured that there are more ups than downs here.

Anyway, I hope you'll find this article useful. And if you want to give it a try, Upwork is the best!


**All photos are free images from 1Pixabay.

LIKE, COMMENT, and SUBSCRIBE

39
$ 8.96
$ 5.02 from @esciisc
$ 3.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 2
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Experiences, Blog

Comments

Great article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I feel so relaxed and happy to know why this

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Used to do freelance but mine was really stressful because my clients were all so random and the jobs offered were all research based. Though it's nice to learn something new but at times, the client would still ask for so many revisions

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I had this kind of job before wherein I had to revise my work once they weren't satisfied.. Another article job and most of the topics I wrote was about Marijuana.. I learned that there are tons of variations and different effects.. And how to plant each.. Lol.. But I quit after two days coz I wasn't happy with everything..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oof why marijuana even 😂 but i guess it just wasn't your cup of tea. I actually like studies on that but it's risky to talk about it in public :""

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I need a guidline for work on upwork! But I know It's hard to work on upwork rather than Fiverr. Which sector do you work?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The truth is, nowadays I prefer to work from home, I see the benefits everywhere, I can share with my children, my family, I generate more income than working in an institution, I don't have to pay a ticket, or walk to the extreme, there are many problems With transportation, I was forced to resign, and today I have no regrets at all.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

ah ha ha ha ha! This is so relatable. I have been toying with that idea but I don't think I can do that unless I am as good as Scot Business that can get 1.5K USD (approximately) on an average from the crypto space that I am slowly building

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have a friend who earns almost $1K a month for just 1 client, and I think she has a few more other than that. Although I don't earn that much, I still prefer this home-based than going back to a regular job.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow she must be really good with her job. I only have one side job that earns about $90 a month haha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

She's been working with that client for a couple of years already.. And yes, she's also good.. The job is more on excel like copy and paste stuff.. That would be my dream job coz less stress.. Lol.. Plus, she gets a bonus of $200-300 a month.. Lucky, right?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wouldn't say "lucky" but definitely, she's favoured. I hope that she makes good use of what she earned with more portfolio with so many uncertainties coming in everywhere.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm now saving to buy a new lappy since the old one I've been using since college was broken by the cat at home, so I can't really apply for some freelance writing jobs. Once I get a new lappy, I'll grab the freelancing opportunities. Thank you for sharing this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're welcome.. And yes, just save first and then buy the right specs soon.. Or buy a desktop instead.. I think desktop is much cheaper than a lappy.. Plus, you can also upgrade your desktop in case it starts lagging..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can't relate with this because I'm not employed but this could apply to my daughter having online class. She always complains about how boring their classes are and that she misses her classmates.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True.. It doesn't just stress out the students but also for the parents and guardians.. I have 6 pamangkins here and 4 of them would ask my help with their modules.. Nakaka stress siya lalo na sa mga HS.. Mas bet ko pa yjng regular classes pero tiis tiis lang muna..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Exactly,mine Is senior high school and mostly lessons nila ay ibang iba sa lessons namin noon.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Exactly! Last day off ko nga imbes na mag rest ako, ayun busy makagawa ng catalog.. Kawawa naman din kasi pag d mo tinulungan.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kaya nga eh, yun anak ko kahit pagligo di na minsan nagagawa sa dame ng activities, tpos exam pa nila this month.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will still prefer the home-based job... Youcan manage your own time.. No boss to order you anything to do.. Hassle-free.. After this contract, I will be looking for an online job. .. I guess I need to rest my body but don't want to cut earning money... An online job is the best option. Btw, what is your job on Upwork? I can type 300wpm 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow, 300wpm talaga? Grabe naman yan.. Haha.. Well, mas maganda talaga mag home-based.. Sa simula lang yan mahirap.. But once you got your first job, mejo easy na siya..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Require typing yung first job ko..i was a biller before handling bill of ladings from our client abroad... My qouta kc at time na dapat matapus ang work before mag end ang production. My incentives then kpg madami mabill with accurate results. Top billet ako dati sa departmentn namin 😅 Kya dun ako bumilis. Iwan lng ngayon. D na ko nagtatype sa computer.

Nagtry ako dati sa upwork .kht yung tyoing lng. Kaso phone lng gamit ko kya mahirap tlga makakuha ng client. Kpg mag for good ako dto bka pasukin ko content writer, qoutes maker, or yung designing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow.. Kaya naman pala.. And yes, I'm sure madali lang sayo makahanap ng work sa upwork.. Kaya pag ready ka na, go ka agad..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo nga..parang ayoko muna magwork da iba. Bahay muna..

$ 0.00
3 years ago