My Sister's Kids

16 37
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Blog, Experiences, 2020, Story

Before going to bed, I'd like to share with you all something that made me feel kinda meh today. It's about my niece and nephew, both are my sister's kids. And I am also hoping that you could somehow give me any advice about this matter. It's not a life and death situation, but it's killing me inside.

So my 12-year-old nephew and 9-year-old niece have been living with us for years now. Not that they were abandoned, but their parents got separated for 9 years. My niece has never seen her father (ever) in person, only through video calls.

When she was a little, she would sometimes cry because she felt incomplete. No father to call papa, and her mom was busy with work and other stuff. Every time she would tell me stuff like she doesn't have a family because theirs are incomplete, it would break me into pieces. And to make her smile, I'd always told her that I could be a father to her. I even cut my hair short for her and told her to call me papa. Upon hearing that, she would immediately smile and stop crying.

Every family day, she'd get jealous of the fact that most of her classmates have both parents while she, she only has us (me, my mom, my other sister, her brother, and the cousins). So I guess that explains why she is quite an attention-seeker, and so is her brother.

They are quite an attention-seeker themselves, as well as pretty sensitive in almost everything. Plus, they also lie sometimes, make a lot of excuses when being asked to do some errands, and a few more things. And because of that, they are always on the top list of the most scolded kids in the house. We have 4 kids and a baby; and it's hard to keep a harmonious home if you have several kids doing all the talking, screaming, shouting, plus a baby crying nonstop.

So my mom is always in her bad temper most of the time, and so is my sister and me. And whenever the two have done something wrong, our immediate reaction is sudden anger because they keep doing the same issue over and over again.

Now, the two feel like they don't belong here. That they are not welcome and loved, especially my niece. And the sad part here is, I'm as worst as my mom. I'd usually tell them that if they keep misbehaving, I would send them to their mom's boyfriend who's just a house away from here. I also told them that if they don't sleep early tonight or wake up early tomorrow, they should leave the house as soon as possible.

I only said that so they would try to do their best to sleep early and wake up early. They'd usually sleep pretty late, especially my nephew. And what makes me mad is the thought that they don't even take a nap in the afternoon even if we already told them to. Whenever they don't like the food, they also make excuses not to eat. When it comes to their modules, they'd be so lazy to study too.

And then, mom told me after she fell asleep that she was really sad coz she doesn't want to live with her mom's boyfriend. She even told mom that she will just hide under the bed tomorrow so I won't see her. I felt really bad, especially when mom told me that she felt so sad coz I'm always mad at her and that when it comes to my other nieces, I don't react like that a lot.

I guess I should try my very best to explain to them further why I am being so strict to them. And maybe to try to tone down my voice, too, and be more understanding towards them. This home shouldn't be a torture place for them but rather a place they can call home.


**All photos are free images from Pixabay.

LIKE, COMMENT, and SUBSCRIBE

9
$ 0.54
$ 0.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @AA-Admiral
$ 0.01 from @Snezana28
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Blog, Experiences, 2020, Story

Comments

They can't understand why they don't have a father yet and why their family was broken which is why they act like that. If they could at least get visits from their dad though. I think that would help a bit but besides that, i don't really know. I grew up in a broken family too and what worked for us is having our other relatives around more. They already have that but it doesn't seem to work for them. They just need someone to explain to them what's going on at times, don't always be mad at them but why not try positive reinforcements sometimes? Like treats or letting them do an activity they enjoy when they do a certain task or eat food they don't like

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I do that.. I bought them something from time to time.. From their requested food to items they like, as long as I could afford it.. I even spoil them sometimes.. And yes, regarding the family matter, I talk to them heart to heart.. Unfortunately, their father is working abroad and been there for 8 years.. My niece was only 1 when he left.. Though they video chat sometimes.. But Thank you for this.. Will try to be more understanding but still strict at the same time.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Spoiling them is different and really shouldn't be an option or they'll really be harder to manage. Just more video calls with their dad, i guess. Talk to their dad too. Have him help you guys explain their scenario but make sure he doesn't make any empty promises because that will ruin everything for them and it's fine being strict, just don't be too strict or they might rebel one day

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That is that they are reflecting the feeling of abandonment that they have for their parents, do not lower your guard because they have already learned to manipulate you with that and you feel guilty and are already thinking of becoming more flexible.

Talk to them a lot and explain why you are strict with them, but do not lower your guard, do not soften, they are already entering the very difficult part of adolescence and it will be worse. If you can and it is within your reach, talk about your case with a psychologist so that they can give you the necessary tools to try to solve this problem and that these children are productive adults in their future.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice post. Thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

sometimes life is like that.πŸ˜”. sometimes easy, sometimes hard. but the pathway i think, is to find balance, and always prioritize love.

children are like trees i think, imagine how you take care of a tiny plant🌱, they could become a great tree with proper care and sunshine in their lifeβ˜€οΈ.

goodluck. πŸ‡΅πŸ‡­πŸŒž.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's really hard to balance when you just want them to learn and at the same time, something that won't hurt them emotionally that may lead something more serious in the future. I guess the best time to do it is to set some certain rules but with still compassion and understanding. Anyway, thank you so much for the upvote.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

true. πŸ˜‘. maybe one of the hardest jobs in the world is taking care of kids.

but maybe also the most rewarding. πŸŽπŸ€—.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kids tend to misbehave more if they are being scolded over and over again, esp of you don't explain the reason why you are mad. Children are children, everything should be spelled to them fpr them to understand. From what I see it, they feel like you guys don't care for them because they were constantly being scolded, though from your perspective, scolding only means discipline. The best thing to do is to talk to them heart to heart. And please don't scold them when others are watching. Like you can talk to one of them at a time while scolding them because at that age, they already have a sense of shame.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for your advice.. I do heart to heart every time they make mistakes.. I even explained to them why I was mad and the things they should do so my mom won't get mad, too.. Like for instance, wake up early, sleep early at night, and other stuff.. But they just don't listen.. Well, I guess I should explain further without looking so mad at them.. Thanks again.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

it's a tough balance...but kids need boundaries or they will not understand how to become good citizens. broken families are always tough...not sure i can be much assistance, sorry. i do applaud you for trying your best though! honestly, that's all we can do in life.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, it's really hard to balance everything.. But will try to lessen my temper and be more understanding to them..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Children need attention. They show resistance because they are aware that they do not have parents. It takes a lot of patience. Thank you for the story.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And thank you for your upvote.. And yes, they do need attention, especially in their case.. It's just hard to stay calm when we have 4 kids here and a baby who need attention all at once..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am a mother of two children and aunt of many, we really must be very strict with them, when necessary, it is one of the best ways to give them a good education.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, that's what I'm doing, especially that kids these days don't listen and would even talk back.. But will try to be more nicer.

$ 0.00
3 years ago