My Experiences With Either An Addict Or A Maniac

48 91
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Experience

It's not easy to be someone with a physical disability. It's even worse for a girl with an innocent-looking face.

I guess, these two could be a great combo for men, who are looking for their next possible victim for sexual assault. Anyway, what you are about to read are true stories that really happened to me.

First experience: Tricycle driver

I was probably in 2nd or 3rd year high school when my parents finally allowed me to take public transportation by myself. Prior to that, I had to take a school bus because my parents didn't want me to deal with the stress of going to school back and forth. So as a first-timer to go for public transportation by myself, from town to my house, it was pretty exciting, actually.

Of course, it wasn't easy, but it was fun to experience the stress, struggles, and everything. It made me feel like I'm really a grown-up young adult for the first time. It made me feel like I was part of society, and I started to love it, especially whenever the drivers won't let me pay the fare.

But there was one particular driver who was different - not in a good way, unfortunately. I can't remember his face because honestly, I don't look at people's faces. I was too shy, and I don't want to see their faces as most of them would be staring at me.

Just in case you had no clue at all, I was born without my right leg. Okay, not the entire leg but just from a little under the knee below.

Anyway, that particular driver was fond of me. So whenever he sees me, he would call me "gwapa" or beautiful, and told me to sit in front of his tricycle. At first, I thought he was just being nice to me, so I could sit comfortably, which I didn't mind. But one time, as I sat next to him, I noticed that he wasn't that nice at all.

Tricycle

Image source

For our non- Filipino readers, a tricycle can only accommodate 3 passengers in the front (2 if the passengers are both obese) and 4 at the back.

When I was in high school, I was so skinny and short. Well, I am still short but not skinny anymore. Lol. So imagine if I was sitting next to the driver with 2 adults next to me, then that would lead me to be sitting too close next to the driver. When a situation like that occurred, I would simply just put my backpack in front of me to secure my flat chest. But not everything happens according to my plan coz sometimes, the backpack was on my back.

So one time, I noticed that this particular driver's elbow was trying to reach my side breast. Though I barely had matured at that time. I could feel his elbow trying to reach or rub to my side. I knew it was not an accident or unintentional coz my gut feeling told me so. So whenever this happened, I would just cover my front and side so it would be safe.

Since then, I would avoid that driver but if I had no choice, I would just sit at the back so I don't have to be close to him. I didn't tell anyone because I was scared. I was scared that I might be wrong that it could be all just in my head. That there was actually nothing going on. That I could be wrong. Luckily, nothing serious happened so I was still lucky.

Second experience: Drug addict

I was probably in my 2nd year in college when this happened. My mom and I were visiting my aunt and cousins coz that was our Sunday visit.

My aunt used to live in a semi-squatter area, where some of their neighbors were drug users or with criminal records. I used to live there but left after my mom and aunt had some family issues.

Anyway, it was almost 8 pm when we decided to go back to our boarding house. We were outside their gate waiting for a ride when a drug addict, who used to call my name whenever he sees me, walked towards us. I was scared to the point that I got frozen. Once he got closer to me, he started asking me questions, like where were I heading, would it be okay if he would visit me, or do I have a boyfriend.

I couldn't say a word because I was scared. He then started to caress my shoulder as I was wearing a white spaghetti top and probably a long skirt as I don't wear jeans at that time. My mom suddenly gave me that sign to move on her other side and told that guy not to touch me. He can talk but no touching. I was worried that the guy would get offended and who knows what he could do to us.

The good thing was my male cousin came out and saw that guy. He called his mom and that was the time the guy left us in peace. We soon managed to get a tricycle and went back to our place, safe and sound.

Third experience: Jeepney driver

No idea what year it was, but I know it was Sunday at almost 5 am. I was waiting for a jeepney to go to work. Normally, I don't sit in the front seat because it's not suitable for my situation.

But that day, it was perfect. I could hop in without a hassle. So I immediately took that seat, and I was so happy coz I could sit there comfortably without having to worry about my knee and dealing with the other passengers.

Jeep

Image source

At that time, it was just the two of us. So he then started asking me questions like where am I going? Am I single or married? And then started praising me because of how responsible I was. I just gave him short answers, so we could end the conversation right away.

By the way, I know people shouldn't talk to strangers, but I find it rude not to answer questions, especially if that person were asking politely.

Anyway, so I decided to pay right away so that once I arrive in the area, I don't have to worry about the exchange or anything. When he was about to give me the change, he kinda holds my hand before finally giving me the coins. At first, I thought that was just nothing, but then he tried to touch my arm and said things like how pretty I was.

This time, I was no longer scared. So I told him not to touch me and luckily, the other passengers came in, and I felt safe.

Fourth experience: Security guard

I used to go to the supermarket after work to buy some food. Since my shift would end at 6 am, I had to wait another hour because that supermarket would be opened at 7.

Whenever I arrived, I would sit in their lobby while waiting for their opening. I felt secure because there was a security guard. There were two of them, the old guy but nice, and the young and good-looking but kinda maniac.

Of course, I didn't know he was a maniac until one day, it was him who was assigned on that day. I was supposed to sit on a chair available in the lobby but on that day, there was none, so I had no choice but to sit on the stairs.

By the way, that supermarket is on the main road, which means the place isn't isolated and any suspicious move can easily be seen by the bystanders.

A few moments later, he came to me and, as usual, talked to me nicely. I was on my headset at that time, listening to Spotify while chatting with some of my friends on Facebook. I thought he would just be there to talk to me until he asked for my number and flirted with me.

I was scared at that moment because another guy came in. These two were talking and thought I was listening to music, I could still hear them. The new guy challenged the guard to get my number or my name. But before they could make any other move, the customers came in one by one. Again, I was saved!


Closing thoughts

Those dudes probably saw me as an easy target because of my situation, or maybe they saw me as someone who could easily be threatened. Either way, I'm just so glad that nothing serious happened to me.

By the way, I didn't react as I was just afraid that it would only trigger them to harm me for good. So as much as possible, I tried to be calm, just like how my mom reacted to that drug addict.

And, no, I never called the police coz I don't know. Maybe because I was unharmed I guess.


24
$ 4.31
$ 3.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.10 from @Crackers
+ 12
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Experience

Comments

Good thing that nothing bad happens. On your situations, it's really dangerous for you to be left alone so try to be accompanied by someone when ever you need got out of the house or going somewhere far. Keep safe always, MJ.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oo. Lesson learned. Pero dati, no choice talaga. Ako lang naman mag isa sa Cebu kaya wala ring kasama.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel seeing people trying to take advantage of others due to their challenges and I am happy that you didn't fall victim to any of their plots.

I love how you have you have overcome your challenges to be a great woman you have become today, I haven't know you all my life but something draws me to your content whenever the notification of your post pops up on noisecash and you have been a role model since I joined both BCH ecosystems

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Aww. Thank you for this wonderful comment. I'm so flattered. I don't find my content interesting but I'm just trying to write whatever that comes my head. And knowing that you and a few others like to visit and read it means a lot to me. Thank you.

And sorry for the late reply.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad you weren't harmed by any of them! Hopefully you are in a safe situation now...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm in safe place now. And I don't go out alone anymore.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i experienced that once. I don't want to remember it but that punk is just. oh god! My blood boils whenever i see him. I am glad i don't see him anymore.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Well, I'm glad you don't have to deal with him anymore. Stay safe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh oh.. am sorry you went through those maniacs...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ganun talaga ata. Daming mapagsamantala. Pero okay na ako ngayon. Nag iingat na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Katakot talaga mga manyakis noh haay naku.. stay safe as always. Blessed ka pa rin at walang masamang nangyari sayo.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sorry, tagal ko nakita to. And thanks to God dahil di ako pinabayaan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am sorry you have to deal that kind of situation sis pero madami talaga mapagsamantala sa mundo. I also experience harrassment when I was young..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kaya nga, sis. Minsan d mo na alam kung yung mga taong mababait sayo is mabait talaga or me plano lang na d kaaya aya. Kaya ingat talaga tayo lalo na mga anak at pamangkin dahil mahirap na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank God you Escaped each time. I must say disability isn't the only thing guys like that look at. They also watch out for ladies who they feel lacks confidence or let me say with an inferiority complex. They see this set of ladies as an easy target, as someone they can bully and have their way with without resistance. Once the girl shows a single sign of fight back they back off like the coward they are. Just like the last case you noted

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Guess that's the reason why I became an easy target for them. But thankfully, I was unharmed and nothing seriously happened. I was just scared to fight back coz that might trigger them to harm me just like what I've seen in the movies.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am so sorry that you have to experience this things. It's not easy to be harrased, I've experienced it myself. The mental trauma will really haunt you down.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It did for a while but I'm okay now actually. But of course, I learned to stay away from them na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its sad to know that there are still people like them existing here thats why i dont like to be alone when going somewhere but sometimes di maiwasan so i will just be mindful. Good to know you ways to escaped that kind of situations hoping that you will never experience that again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do hope so too. This is the reason I always remind my nieces not to talk to strangers or never go to quiet places coz those bastards are just lurking somewhere, waiting for a chance to grab them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How bad they were. But even those without disabilities suffered from people like them, wla silng pinipili. Thankfully, you have guardian angels who saved you from getting harmed completely.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun nga e. So thankful that my guardian angel was there to keep me safe. Oo, kahit naman sino wala silang pinipili. Kaya nga nakakatakot isipin pag sa mga bata to nangyari. Hayst. Sana wala ng ganun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We should take care of tricycle driver or it is jeepeny driver or it is someone. Trust only yourself to save yourself. Thank you save every time when something bad happen to you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. Never trust anyone. They could do more harm than good. Hehe. And yes, glad I was saved.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When my brother was younger he was attacked in the lift. A stranger went into the lift with him and started to insult him. Luckily the lift door had not been closed so my brother kicked him out of the lift.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. At least he managed to kick him out.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Damn I won't deny most of the girls face insecurities like this everyday . The world surely needs correction .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed. And the people, especially these bastards, need to learn a lesson the hard way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This happens to do many women and girls. I used to think I was a magnet for weirdos. I can't imagine having the bravery to walk up to someone and talk to them the way I (and you) have been spoken to. Can you even imagine it? Walking up to some guy and trying to touch him while asking if he is single? Thanks for sharing your story.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's actually an experiment about this where a woman would go to a random guy, asking random questions like are you single, wanna hang out, etc while touching his hand or trying to kiss him. Even those guys find it uncomfy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such an experience. These people took advantage of your naiveness. I'm so sorry you experienced this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. Glad it never happen to me again. And I pray it will never happen to me and any other girls, especially to my nieces.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

weirdos everywhere !

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True. They need to learn a lesson.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What the f. These kind of people are the worst. They use others weaknesses to take advantage of them. And the law does not punish them appropriately. Next time you experience that, don't hesitate to shout or even scream for help. Your gut is always right, trust it. If not, always have someone accompany you. Never be alone, especially in deserted places. May God always protect you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun lang. Nakaka freeze talaga pag andun ka na sa moment na ganun. I was worried kasi it could only trigger them to hurt me or worse, kill me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's unfortunate that you've had to experience such unpleasant situations, but I know that it honed your instincts so you are more aware of your surroundings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm okay now. But because of my experience, I learned to be more careful and not to trust people, especially those who are instantly nice to me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, we can't be too careful, especially nowadays.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very sad to read about your experiences. Luckily you were not harmed physically, but mental trauma is real too. Hope you have recovered from these episodes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm totally okay now. But I'm more cautious this time. I don't trust anyone anymore, even if they were just trying to help.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totally understand. You are right, there are too many baddies out there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am so sorry this was done to you, sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Matagal na rin to, sis, and wala namang nangyari pero yun lang nakakatakot na talaga me katabing lalaki tas kayo lang. Nagiging judgmental na ako kasi parang nilalahat ko na sila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope it won't happen again :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm sorry to hear this. Kailangan talaga mas maging maigting yung pagpapatupad ng law against pambabastos. Dapat talaga may masampolan para madala

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga e. Sarap talaga pag me masampulan. Yun lang din, isa sa mga reason na wala masyadong reaction dito is dahil na rin sa mga nabibiktima na ayaw rin mag reklamo. Just Like in my case. Sa isip ko din naman kasi, wala namang nangyari so no need na mag waste ng time para mag sumbong.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay ate try nyo po kaya bumili ng mga pang self defense sa shopee? Makakatulong po sainyo yon

$ 0.00
2 years ago