Ashley, The Dog

17 49
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
3 years ago

It happened a few years back when I used to live with my cousin. We had a neighbor, a couple and a cousin. A few days since I got there, the lady neighbor decided to adopt a puppy, and they named her Ashley, an aspin or a local breed in the country. According to her, Ashley would be euthanized if no one adopted her, along with the other animals.

I was impressed when I heard it from her. She had good intentions, but a few days later, she couldn't keep up the needs of the puppy. She let the puppy sleep outside without a proper mat to sleep on. And when they work in the morning, they just let Ashley stayed outside without something to shelter her from rain or from the sun.

And as a furmom myself, I couldn't bear the fact that a little puppy would suffer from the heat all day and cold at night. So I ended up providing the little one with dog food and clean water for her during the day. At night, when her humans were already sleeping peacefully, Ashley would cry coz she was scared of being alone. And as always, her cries broke my heart into pieces, so I ended up getting up in the middle of the night to feed her again and pet her one more time.

One day, the owner got pregnant and decided to relocate. They decided to leave Ashley alone because according to her, dogs are not allowed in their new apartment. So Ashley was alone since then, so we fed her and provided her with clean water. But one day, I had to live for two weeks to my hometown to celebrate Christmas, as well as my cousin.

By the way, I forgot to mention, my cousin and I have dogs too. I have Kiah while she has Bianca.

I wanted to bring Ashley, but I already have Kiah and there's a lot of things to process if I decided to take her with me. Plus, in my situation, it's hard for me to bring two dogs. I was sad when I left, but I had no choice.

Fast forward, and I came back from my 2 weeks vacation. I didn't bring Kiah with me this time. Even my cousin decided to just leave Bianca with her mom. So basically, we don't have dog food anymore.

Ashley doesn't like rice, but she liked viands. We still gave her anything we could, but she got skinnier every day. And a few days later, I couldn't find her anymore. And I knew something was wrong, and she never came back ever again.

I was sad but at the back of my head, I knew she's in heaven now. I felt sorry for her coz of what her owners did to her. If she only waited for a little while, I could have found a way to save her. But I was too late, and she had no more reason to hold on.

So my only wish to people who are planning to adopt, be a responsible owner. Dogs only want food to eat, clean water to drink, a home to feel safe, and a family who cares. They don't need all the extras in life, they only want those 4 major needs.

Please don't adopt if you can't even keep up.

Anyway, this is my entry for @LykeLyca's Random Act of Kindness - Giveaway .

If you guys want to participate, you only have a few hours left to submit your entry. So, what are you waiting for? Start writing for your entry.

**Used Unsplash for the lead image.

LIKE, COMMENT, and SUBSCRIBE

16
$ 0.19
$ 0.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @LykeLyca
$ 0.01 from @Great_Influence
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Irresponsible owner ๐Ÿ˜” dogs sometimes better than other human out there

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh, that is 101% accurate!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm not really into dogs but my parents used to have one, her name is Trisha and my parents especially my dad loves her so much, that she became the youngest of the family, with that everyone loves her. I agree with you, pets like kids, they are our liability. They're not just things to decorate our house. So I hope people who adopt them should also learn to take care of them. Poor Ashley, you are so kind to take care of her when everyone was like abandoning her. God bless you sis!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're right! They are not some decors that you can just ignore when you feel like to. They have life, feelings, and are also God's blessings to humanity. Ashley died without the love from her owner. But at least, she's in heaven now.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This story touched me. Poor dog. People should really learn to take responsibility. It's good you took care of the dog while you could.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I couldn't stand seeing her like that. If only hometown was just close enough, I could just have took her with me. But I'm pretty sure she's in heaven now!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Is that real story? Or only a story? If its real,then i have to say unbelievable, and just wow..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's a true to life story.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They only want cats and dogs when it's a pups and kittens but abandon when they grow old,,they don't know how animals love their owner,,And YUP they only need that 4 kinds(simple food, shelter for safety, clean water to drink and and caring owner) to leave so happiness in their fullest but some people didn't know that and broke their simple life

Leave in Peace and Fullest ASHLEY

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very true. ๐Ÿ˜”

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yup..sad to say most animals are in this kind of situation,,, that's why they littering or roaming whole in the street because of their careless and awful owner...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

oh poor Ashley. It's a sad story you are right don't raise a dog if you can't take the responsibility to feed care and love.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well, at least she's in a better place now.. A place where there is only happiness and love.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes she can finally rest.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In my country the streets are full of dogs and cats , because people take them in their house and after they canโ€™t keep them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There's a lot stray dogs and cats here too. Same reason, owners abandon them when they are no longer cute.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes I know๐Ÿฅบ๐Ÿฅบ

$ 0.00
3 years ago