A Smooth Trip From Leyte To Cebu

27 85
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Travel, Blog

Traveling is something I would love to do, but I avoid doing it. It's just that it's hard to pursue something you like when you have so many factors to consider. But sometimes, no matter how anxious you are, when it comes to a request from a family member, and for the sake of those who are involved, you go for it regardless of the fears you have in mind.

When my mom asked me to come to Cebu to babysit my sister's kiddos, I had no choice but to go. Mom's sister had been asking her to come to Negros Oriental, their province, since they would also celebrate fiesta at my late grandparents' ancestral home.

At first, my mom couldn't come because I decided not to come with her and stay in Leyte instead after having my period. However, my aunt was so persuasive, so my mom told her that she would go only if I came to Cebu. This way, someone could look after the kids while my mom and theirs were away.

Moreover, I couldn't bare the thought that my mom wouldn't be able to spend some time with her siblings during their fiesta in their birthplace, all because I didn't want to travel. So for my mom's happiness and the kiddos' safety, I reassured her that I would be in Cebu on the 15th.

So on that day, my brother, his daughter, and I decided to travel together. They, too, would attend the celebration. I felt so lucky I wouldn't have to go to the city alone. I was relieved knowing that I would be traveling with them.

A day before, I prepared all my belongings, cleaned the house, and did the laundry so that when we got home, the house would still be clean. I got this habit from my mom that before leaving the house, everything should be clean. Then the night before the trip, my eldest sister, that lives near me, told me to sleep at her home so it would be easy for her to wake me up.

The day came, and I woke up around 2 am. We are expected to leave at 6, so I went back to sleep. When I woke up again, it was already 5 am. My brother and niece were already ready to leave, so I told my sister-in-law to drop them off first. I hurriedly went to the bathroom, took a shower, and got ready. I managed to do nearly everything in 30 minutes, so when she returned, I was almost ready to leave. She then dropped me off at the port, a 5-minute ride from our house.

When I arrived at the ticketing area, we only needed to pay for the terminal fee because they had already bought the tickets for all three of us. We then proceeded to the ship that would take us to Cebu, and after 30 minutes of waiting, we finally went off.

There were not so many passengers on that day. The weather was fine, too, so everything was excellent. Despite the hot weather, I managed to take a nap. Before we arrived, my brother reminded us to take our restroom break first. This was when I got worried because the restroom was not suitable for me. Thank God my niece was there to assist me.

After we did our business, we checked our things and went downstairs while the rest of the passengers were still chilling upstairs. As soon as we arrived, my niece and I managed to get a tricycle for the two of us. My brother chose the motorcycle since it was just him, anyway. Before we got to the highway, I saw my brother waiting near a V-hire that would take us to SM Cebu.

Initially, the plan was to take our lunch first in one of the eateries situated in that area. However, the van was ready, so there was no time for lunch. We then took our sits, and off we went.

From Danao to SM Cebu, it only took two hours to travel. Thank God there was no road-widening scenario, no accidents, and no special events on our way to the city. It was all smooth and peaceful. When we arrived in SM, instead of taking a taxi, we took the bus. Unfortunately, we mistakenly took the longer route. Still grateful that we got to our destination before 1 pm. Also, that bus gave me a 20% discount being a PWD and my niece as a student.

I like it when drivers follow the law. Some would complain about why I would ask for a discount, especially with taxi drivers. One time, someone accused me of scamming him, even if I showed him my ID. I decided not to insist because I didn't want to die or get assaulted over a few discounts. Still, it made me furious because a 20% discount for PWD and Senior Citizens must be applied to public transportation.

Anyway, when we arrived at my sister's place, my mom was already there waiting. We took our lunch, and soon after, the three of them left as they were heading to Negros.

Closing thoughts

I was grateful that day because we arrived safe, but most of all, because I knew mom would be happy that she would be able to see her family once again.

I am also delighted to see my niece and nephew after several months of not seeing them. I also planned to take them to the mall this Friday or Saturday, so they could eat something they like. Perhaps get them something nice to make them happy.


Feel free to follow me on:

noise.app | noise.cash | Publish0x | Hive | Torum | Twitter


12
$ 1.04
$ 0.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 8
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Travel, Blog

Comments

I understand where you're coming from, Ate. Sadly, our transportation system here in the country is not PWD friendly. On the other hand, I am happy because you gave your mom a chance to visit her birthplace by sacrificing a little. Stay safe as always and have a safe trip when you travel back home! ❤️😃

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maayu sis kay smooth lang ang travel. Makamingaw pud baja ning magatravel saon nga wa may dada lagi. Hahaha.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Lami jud bitaw mag biyahe biyahe sis labi nag adto sad sa mga kaparentehan. Dugay na sad ko wa kauli sa Negros. Basin next year adto ko kay mu visit kos cemetery. Intawn akong mga apohan ug akong papa, basin malain sila na wa na ko kaadto.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are a good and nice person. Glad you had a very beautiful trip, especially it was a smooth journey

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you, beautiful. I'm just doing my responsibility as their aunt and a daughter.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Happy for you po dahil nakita at nakasama nyo po ulit ang ilang members nyo. Pero ngayon ko lang po nalaman na pwd po kayo?

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Aw. Matagal ko ng shinashare dito about sa situation ko. Actually, since nag start ako dito open na ako sa situation ko.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah okay po. Wala pa po kasi ata ako noon dito eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You must really be a great person for you to have accept that, to baby sit little children is not easy

$ 0.02
1 year ago

They are not just little children. They are the VIPs of my life. Their welfare is more important than my fear of traveling. I guess when you love someone, you just go for it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Happy for you sis. Your travel went well.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Taga asa diay ka sis? Mayu kay sakto ang panahon linaw ang byahe jay di samok gamay rag tao plus maayo amg weather.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Sa leyte ko sis. Ako ate sa cebu man nag work unya iyang mga batos iya naman gipa school sa cebu. Leyte ra man ta ni sila sauna. Lagi sis maayo ra jud na linaw ang panahon. Bahalag init kesa mag bawd.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very kind tita as always. Loving tita and loving daughter to your mom sis. I'm sure happy jud imong mama ba nga makaspend ug time with her siblings. Akong Lola wa ny tanda2x sa Negros sukad ngpandemic Anyway thanks God everything was smooth going to Cebu.. When kaha ko makabalik dha. Muanhaay pud ako mama dha next week ky manganakay na akong sister in law next month Pohon2x.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Ui asa man sila sa Cebu? Ana jud ng mga mama, tabok tabok na lang sa mga kaparentehan ug mga batos. Hehe.

And ana jud na sis kay atong inahan perme jud na mu alaga nato mao kung sila na sad mangayo ug pabor, dapat ato jud hatagan for as long as kaya nato. At least bonding na lang sad sa mga pag umangkon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

murag Liloan naman siguro ngstay akong bro run sis.mao jud bonding moment pud nimo sa imong mga pang umangkon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank God for sage trip and I am glad your journey went smoothly. Your heart is golden and thank you for showing consideration to your mum and your nieces. At least they will be in good hands with you. Let them enjoy seeing your beautiful face around for a while...

I love the way your hair hands around your face...even your hair can't resist not touching your cute face hahaha.

Try and rest, eat and have fun the little way you can, MJ.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Haha. I hate my short hair, Ola. It makes me look like a stressed mother of 10. Hahaha. Seriously. I wish I didn't cut it too short.

But yeah, mom and kiddos are more important than myself. And mom has always been there for me so the least I can do is doing her a favor so she can also enjoy a 1 week off with her siblings and relatives. It's also a good opportunity for me to bond with these kiddos.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahahaha stressed mother of 10 hahaha. It's not that bad and also I believe it would grow back in no time.

It was very considerate of you and you used one stone to kill multiple birds. That's really smart, MJ...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm glad the trip went well for you MJ:) Your the family Super Nanny 💪 You are so kind for helping your siblings out a lot.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I am the Super Nanny slash Best Tita for the kiddos. Hehe. I just love the kids so no time for being lousy. Hehe.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's good that you have good travelling experience with family. Actually it's really amazing to take care of sisters and brothers kids when they aren't around.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes. That's a part of being an aunt. You watch over the kids while the parents are away. Better that way than having them accompanied by a non-family member.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakakamiss sumakay ng barko sis. Nag eenjoy talaga ako pag sumasakay ng barko basta wag lang gabi. Nagpa Cebu pala kayo sis. Tagal ko ng di nakabalik ng Cebu. San ka pala sa Leyte sis?

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Okay lang sa gabi sis wag lang umulan. Jan ako natatakot. Na try ko kasi bumiyahe na sobrang lakas ng alon. Akala ko nga last day on earth ko na yun. Hehe. Anyway, sa Isabel kami sis. And yes, bantay bata ako dito Sis. Nagpa socket fitting na rin ako para mas sulit ang pagpunta.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo sis totoo. Wag lang talaga ulan pag gabi kasi nakakatakot. Totoo sis naka experience kana? Bat sila bumiyahe pag ganun yung weather. Delikado pag ganun. Ganun ba sis. Enjoy ka diyan sis. Ingat ka diyan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago