Why run?

11 31
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago
Topics: Realizations, Random

Today marks the last day of filing for a certificate of candicacy here in the Philippines for 2022 elections. Although I am just really puzzled why a lot of people would want to have a position in the world of politics. Indeed, a position in the public office means power and another sad reality is corruption. I just do not get why there are still some people who would fall for those broken promises or those too good to be true claims.

I am not really aware of the qualifications for a person if ever they decide to run for public office. However, I used to hear a lot of promises for the betterment of the country. I think the most used word is "help". I would run because I want to help build a better country. I would run because I want to help the poor, the sick and the dying. I would run because I want to help free this country from abusive and corrupt leaders. Honestly, I do not know who said it but those were just some of the usual promises of the people who would want to be elected. Cannot we help other people without running for public office? Cannot we help save our country even if we are just normal citizens?

I know my dad's father or my late grandfather was being convinced by some people in one province for him to run for mayor. I just do not know the whole story but I know my grandfather does not want to be in the line of politics. He said that he may not be able to help all of his fellow countrymen but helping one was good enough already. When my mom heard about this story, she wanted my dad to run for the public office but like my grandfather, my dad did not also want because for him, you are already putting your life in danger even before you enter the world of politics. I do agree with both of them.

I remember when my brother and I were still in college, he said that if he would be the president of our country, he would eliminate all the public transportations. Then I asked him how will I be able to go to school if he was to eliminate all of it. Then he made exceptions and he said that he would leave the trains, FX (it was still a Toyota Tamaraw FX before but now it is already UV Express or utility vehicles) and cabs. Such a pricey ride in going to and from school. LOL.

Would you want to be in the line of politics? For me, I am ok with helping a few people. I do not think I would be able to help the entire country and I feel like there is going to be too much pressure on me. I am happy enough that I can help some people and animals in the best way that I can. Also, I am already having a difficult time building myself, how much more if it was the whole country?

Though if I were to be part of the public office, the things that are currently on my mind right now are the stray animals and our environment. I do not know how I am going to solve the other problems of our country but I will definitely hear out what the people are saying.

Anybody can help anyone. Like I have said in one of my past article before that we can help any person in any way we can. A help does not necessarily mean in a form of monetary. We can help even by listening to someone's problem and comforting them. I really admire those people who helps other people without broadcasting to the whole world. A few nights ago I happened to open my Facebook and I saw 2 different content creators whose posts were shared by someone on my friend's list. The content of these 2 creators were on helping people. Honestly, I have nothing against them for sharing their blessings to other people. A part of their salary on Youtube was because of their content but sometimes I do not feel the sincerity of those people anymore. One content creator was too arrogant for saying that he would give a lot of money to everyone that he sees on the road because he has a lot of money on Youtube. Upon hearing that, can you feel his sincerity? I felt like he only wanted to have a lot of views because he knows that helping other people is a way for him to catch the attention of others and oftentimes it goes viral.

There are a lot of reasons why people wants to run for public office but I hope that they would not use it for their personal agenda.

P.S. I just chose a random image from my gallery for my lead image.

10
$ 8.90
$ 8.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @JLoberiza
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 2
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago
Topics: Realizations, Random

Comments

Sa totoo lang, parang ngang ginagawa lang nila yong pag tulong para makahakot ng views ee tsk.

Anyways, kahit ata pinaka mabuting tao pag napasok na sa politics mabubura yan lahat. Kelangan maging wais at matigas ang loob sa pamamalakad dahil kung hindi, ewan lang anong mangyayari

$ 0.00
2 years ago

History tells us that the best way to reach high public office is to deceive people, sometimes with unattainable promises, but people believe them. In addition, when they achieve power they have to pay a political fee because someone powerful helped them reach their goal. Corruption will always be present. To give help it is not necessary to be a politician, unfortunately they are the ones who have the way to help more people, but having power changes things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi , good morning. Since you elaborated already the Politics, let me have for your last part. I totally agree with you that some influencers are taking advantage by helping "kuno" to the community. They have been so strategic on that matter. I think the best ones are not uploaded or exposed because it simply shows that they are not after for something especially to be public.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lumang tugtugin na kasi yang 'pagtulong sa kapwa'. Lahat naman pwede at kayang tulungan ang isa't isa. Minsan nakakaumay na rin ang pulitika natin e. Maraming pabida, puro pangako kulang naman sa aksyon. Kaya dapat talaga kilalanin natin nang maigi yung iboboto natin. Kasi yung pagtulong sa kapwa, isa lang yan sa maraming dapat gawin ng mga politiko. Aside from that, dapat paglingkuran nila ang sambayanang Pilipino.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Politics is politics. No matter how sincere a person, everyone changes when there is money involved. Let us just choose the ones that would really do something for the country.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We can do good with public offices, if we can just stay true to the reason we choose to go there in the first place

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Running for any position in politics is very risky. It entails a lot of responsibilities. Even without running, we can still help anyway diba. Siguro ayaw lang ng grandpa ng masyadong masakit sa ulo. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They have lots of promises before election , promises that meant to be broken. Hays hirap na pumili ng kandedato sa panahon ngayon, kailangan pag isipan ng mabuti bago bumoto.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Help is not the right word if looking for a reason to run for public office. It is SERVE, which is so much more than just helping. And beyond being a politician, it is being a servant leader that is the real role you will be stepping into should you win. If you focus on the politics, which unfortunately is a necessary part of the public service, you will most likely forget the initial and more noble purpose of serving.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa religion namin ate, bawal yung pagkabaha-bahagi. That's the reason why I'm not into politics. Though wala pa po akong karapatan bumoto, I can still comprehend na bawal po kami pumasok sa politics tapos lahat ng boto namin dapat ay iisa. I mean kung ano po yung napagpasyahan ng pamamahala namin, yon po iboboto namin hehe. INC po ako skl

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I run every week... to the beach! Heheheh I just wanted to write this comment before I read your article. LOL!

$ 0.00
2 years ago