Wedding organizer

11 35
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

Have you ever imagined what your dream wedding would be? I recently saw on the commercial a few days ago the trailer for one show about one celebrity's wedding to a non-showbiz person. I just saw a glimpse of the aisle and I was not sure if it was like the wedding scene in Crazy Rich Asian where the aisle was filled with water just before the bride walks in. Have you watched that movie? What can you say about the wedding scene? After watching that movie, my mom wished that she was younger and she also wished that there was a Nick Young who will fall in love with her. LOL. Let us not forget that this Nick Young should be as yummy like Henry Golding. LOL. It was what my mom's comments (or wishful thinking) when we left the movie house.

With my dream wedding, I still cannot imagine how I want it to be but I want some fireworks probably before the reception starts. I know it is not advisable nor is it Earth and pet friendly to use fireworks. I am just so amazed to look at them ever since I was a child. Since I am not a beach person, I wanted a church wedding. For the theme and motif, I really do not know but I do have some ideas in mind since I was able to organize my cousin's wedding before.

Again I was unemployed during that time and because my cousin along with his family and his wife to be were all in Canada, they asked me if I can be the one to organize their wedding. For experience, I said yes. My mom and our relatives said that this might be the chance for me to change my career. Have you ever organized a wedding before? It was so stressful right? I was not even the bride to be yet I felt so stressed and to think I have no work that time but thankfully I was able to organized it really well. I know I kept the notebook that I have used when I was planning or organizing their wedding.

Below were the things that I looked into when I was starting to organize their wedding:

1. Church
2. Events place
3. Hotel
4. Flowers
5. Couturier
6. Invitation
7. Souvenir
8. Photobooth (as per couple's request)
9. Bridal car
10. Photographer and videographer
11. Wedding coordinator
12. Hair and make up

I think that is all. Let me know if I missed out some other things. When I planned the wedding, I really wanted the church, the hotel and the events place to be near each other. It is up to you if you want it to be a little farther. I have listed the churches, events place and hotels by area. I think the couple's only request was the date as it has to be on their specified date. So it was even easier for me because I was able to cross out some places that were already booked.

Honestly I was really wisihing that I would be able to look for a place that was within Quezon City because I did not want to go farther than that. LOL. My transportation allowance was covered by my cousin but of course it was hard to go to different places especially when I am just going to commute. Even if I have someone to drive me, it was still hard if the driver was not familiar with the places that we would go to. That time Waze was not yet introduced in the Philippines.

When I already booked the 3, it became slightly easy. Good thing that my cousin and his bride to be did not have any special requests aside from their specified date, motif and souvenir. Additionally, when I have met the wedding coordinators who was a mother-daughter tandem, I have learned a lot from them. They even suggested some suppliers to me and they checked my notes if there were some things they can help me with.

For their souvenirs, they wanted a butterfly figurine. Did you have any souvenirs for your wedding? Or would you still want to give souvenirs? If I were to get married, I would want my souvenir to be something useful like a refrigerator magnet or an umbrella. For the magnet, it can be a photo magnet so it would be 2 in one. Aside from those 2, I can also give away the 50ml miniature booze. One of my cousins gave it to their guests during their wedding and since we were relatives, my dad and his brother brought home a lot of mini Absolut Vodka. LOL. My dad just displayed them together with his other alcohols.

I am not against couples who prefers having a display souvenir but honestly I really find it hard to throw them away even if it I do not use most. I even got a size of a dessert plate with a picture of a baby for a baptismal giveaway. It even comes with a foldable frame stand. Imagine if I would display it in our house, our visitors might ask whose baby it is since it was displayed along with our other family pictures. LOL. That would be a little embarassing to answer right? But no, I never displayed such souvenirs in our house. I want your honest answer on this one, what do you do with rhe souvenirs that you get from special ocassions?

One thing that I loved about organizing my cousin's wedding was the food tasting. LOL. You know me, I am very much fond of food. I forgot how many caterers my mom, my brother and his girlfriend now wife have tried during that year. But we chose Hizon's catering. Whenever we would have a food tasting schedule, we see to it that we did not eat anything and it would be our brunch or lunch. After the food tasting, we would spend time at the mall and when I got home, that is when I would update my cousin's bride to be.

Because my cousin and his bride to be were in other country, I see to it that I get to take a lot of pictures of everything that was related to their wedding. I emailed them everything even the different angles of the places and things that they need to see. All the details, I told them about it. It was still Skype days but we never did have any Skype calls as we just emailed each other. And even if we wanted to have Skype calls, our time would not meet especially if I was doing ocular. I think the challenging part in organizing a wedding was the seat arrangement. LOL. The couple and I slept late the night before the wedding finalizing the seat arrangements. There were some requests from the parents of the groom and the relatives of the bride. Then there were those last minute RSVPs or requests that they would be bringing a plus one. Thankfully, we got to finish it even if we only had a few hours of sleep.

For me organizing a wedding was very tiring and stressful but I had so much fun learning a lot of things. A person who is going to get married should have a planner where he/she can see what his/her schedule is. Whether it is a food tasting, prenup shoot, seminar or a meeting with other suppliers, it has to be written down in a planner. If I were to get married, I already have a background on how to organize my wedding plus I get to ask my friends for advices and options since most of them are already married.

P.S. lead image is a photo of me practicing to be a bride. LOL. It was during my friend's wedding where I was one of the bridesmaids. Good thing that the photo turned put to be good because I really do not like it if I am not facing the camera. That is why I hate candid shots. LOL.

5
$ 5.23
$ 4.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @HillaryPowers
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 4
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

Comments

The first step toward the ideal bridal appearance is to choose the appropriate hair and cosmetics for the big day. Makeup artists are there to help you look your very best on your special day. Think about your wedding's theme, your skin tone, and your eye color before settling on a final appearance. This https://wezoree.com/vendors/all/beauty/ can help you choose a style that is not only suitable for your wedding but also suits your body type and expresses your individuality.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It must have been a mixture of stress and fun for you having to run up and down trying to plan your cousin's wedding. Except it's a wedding British royals, I've never heard of fireworks displays during weddings.

For me, I'd like a low-key wedding. I know it's weird but that's just how I've always been. I'm not much of a social person. Lol

$ 0.01
2 years ago

My friend had fireworks when we were at the reception. It was really nice. Then the entourage even had those sparklers if that is what it's called when they entered the venue. It was so perfect.

I am ok with having a low-key wedding as well. I have had a lot of epic fail speeches during special occasions...stage fright. LOL. So I do not know if I will be able to overcome that if I get married.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here.. i don't display souvenirs or give aways at home.. i appreciate those give aways which are useful like that of my cousin who gave away nuts and chocolates, there was also one who.gave away succulents...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I love souvenirs like that. I remember my dad received a succulent from a wedding that he attended a decade ago but my mom let it die because she believes that it is not good to have a cactus at home because of its torns.

My cousin gave away jellybeans inside a shot glass. Until now, I am using that shot glass. I hope that people should consider giving away souvenirs that are useful. Noe I really do not know what to do with the souvenirs that we got that we cannot use. 😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

indeed, it is better to give useful items instead..my mom on the other hand is different..she keeps the souvenirs with the photo of the wedded couple and then I told her to throw them away because most of them are already years old.. but she decline and just keeps them anyway...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nung kinasal ako ,ako yung organizer hehehe ,kasi kunti lang budget eh ,kahit sa souvenir ako lang gumagawa😁😁

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mahal din kasi organizer. Pero nakatulong talaga sila sa akin lalo wala naman akong idea sa pag-aayos. Pero maganda yang ikaw yung gumawa ng souvenir. May personal touch 🥰 naalala ko yung debut ko. Ako invitation and souvenir. CD lang naman souvenir ko with some of my most played songs during that time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe ,oo nga sis eh ,nakaka pagod at nkaka stress din mag organize😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ehhh, ako'y walang dream wedding, ayaw kong magpasakal. I mean pasakal? Pakasal kasi! Wahahaha. Di pa pumapasok sakin yan ngayon kaya wala akong maisip ano bang maganda wahahaha. Hahanap nalang muna siguro ako ng juwa. Tapos if meron na, mas maigi pang mag hire nalang ng wedding planner. Wala akong tyaga sa ganyan 🤧😂😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahaha. Ako talaga nung tumanda naisip ko na mas gusto ko baby na lang kesa pakasal. Dahil sa mga failed marriages. Yung andoon na agad yung iniisip ko na what if hindi kami magwork or what if maghiwalay kami at ipagpalit ako. Yung inuunahan ko ba. Pero andon yung gusto ko may life long partner na talagang through thick or thin, sickness and health. Kung magkakaron, thank you. Kung wala, thank you. Pero yun nga ok ako sa baby kaso yun dami na naman what ifs. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago