Unexpected celebration (part 1)

6 32
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago
Topics: Family, Journal, Blog, Diary

Yesterday I messaged my brother on Facebook Messenger if they will be here for my birthday. Hours have passed and I did not receive any response from him. I was thinking that maybe he and my sister-in-law was still thinking about if they can make it since they are busy with their first business venture, a Korean grocery store. It is already in the works as my brother sent us some pictures of the construction week/s ago.

This morning after I have read the Bible, I decided to close my eyes to take a short nap before we would have our brunch but then my mom had that nerve-racking voice when she said my name. I was already half asleep when I heard her voice. I panicked as I thought there was a not so good news but then she said, "Jonna, (pause 5 seconds) dito daw maglunch sila Kuya mo (your brother will have lunch here)". Upon hearing that, I was also surprised because it is a weekday and it is not yet my birthday. My mom and I were wondering why they suddenly would go here for lunch. I told my mom to ask them what would they want to eat since our brunch is Pork Nilaga (Filipino Pork Stew) and it was a left over from yesterday. My brother did not reply.

My mom and I still had brunch even if we know that my brother's family would visit us. Just before we were going to eat, I told my dad that my brother would be here and he was also surprised. He was worried because we do not have time to order food anymore of what they would want to eat. He told me to call my brother and ask what they want but at the back of my mind I already know that they all got it covered. Still I texted him and asked if he wanted food from one of the resturants that my dad likes. I feel like my dad was craving for a pancit palabok because he kept on insisting if my brother would want that for lunch. LOL. Our helper even said that my brother does not like pancit palabok yet I butted in and said that pancit palabok is also my brother's favorite. He's not really into pancit but it is different if it's pancit palabok. I even said, "it's you (referring to our helper) and mommy who does not like palabok". My dad laughed because it was 3 against 2. Well my sister-in-law is also not into pancit palabok even more so that she has a strict diet for her gut for months now. My brother replied and said that they will order food.

Seconds after the food arrrived, my brother's family also arrived. He got us some Chinese foods. I wasn't able to take some pictures because I was busy transferring the dishes to a serving plate. Then my brother said that it was already my pre birthday celebration. What? So does that mean they would not be here on the day of my birthday? I mean are they really sure that they could not make it? Then my brother said that I would be celebrating my birthday in the province where my sister-in-law's mom is now residing because my brother really wants me to manage their gorcery store. Aaahhhh. He's still insisting about that and honestly, I really do not know what to say. Yes, I am thankful for the opportunity but here are the things that I am looking at:

1. I would be living in a province (just a few hours away from Metro Manila) where my sister-in-law's mom lives. Meaning, I would be away from my parents and it would be like I am going to live independently but still with an adult supervision. However, I would be the one to do my laundry. They do have a helper but I am not comfortable to have her do the laundry for me. Food would not be a problem because I would be eating what they have. I know I mentioned before that I babysit my godson years ago. That time my sister-in-law's mom was still living in their house as well as her mom's helper and that her mom also treats me as her daughter since they have known me way back high school. My sister-in-law's sister was my high school friend. My friend and I may have been bridge for our siblings but my brother and sister-in-law had already met during elementary. My brother, his wife and my friend studied in the same elementary school but come high school it was me, my sister-in-law and my friend. Though I still find it a little awkward to live in my friend's mom's house IF I would accept my brother's offer.

2. Who would drive me to the grocery store? I know how to commute but we all know that it is risky to take public transportation these days. If I would ask my brother about this, I know he would put the blame on me for not taking driving lessons. LOL. I do know how to drive but I just did not take any private lessons. Also, I am not familiar with the place, so commuting may be a little problem for me.


Sorry but I would have to cut this for now and will continue about it on my next article. Didn't realize that this would be long. LOL.


P.S. lead image was our snack. I was only able to take a picture of it because all of us were still full.

9
$ 5.24
$ 5.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.02 from @Ellehcim
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago
Topics: Family, Journal, Blog, Diary

Comments

Wahhh, Advanced happy birthday - yiehhhh mag asawa kana hoiiii hahaha. Anyways, favorite ko din ang palabok. Masarap pag ung tinapa any lahok, pero masarap naman sakin lahat ee ahahaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Advance happy birthday po 😁 mukhang madaming celebration ang magaganap sayo this month haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Birthday in advance. It might be fun and exciting to accept your brother's offer.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was a surprise celebration, on the eve of the birthday, what a nice company, I hope you enjoyed it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And for that, let me greet you an advance happy birthday! You are still good, because I don't know a single thing about driving. LOL!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Advance happy birthday sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago