Treats

7 34
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago
Topics: 2021, Self, Family, Emotions

Few days ago my dad had been wanting to have halo-halo for snack because it is already hot here in the Philippines. When he said that he wanted to buy, I told myself, "shoot! I am too late. I wouldn't be able to treat them". Since last week I have been planning to treat them for a halo-halo but I still haven't got to do so until today.

In case you don't know, halo-halo is a Filipino sweet cold dessert that is made of crushed ice, preserved fruits, milk, sugar topped with leche flan and ice cream.

Yesterday I tried texting and calling the convenience store located inside our subdivision because I know that they are selling it. Unluckily, I couldn't reach them so we had different snack. Today, as early as 12PM, I texted their other number but again I didn't get a reply. So I tried to send them a message through my mom's Viber and finally I got a response. Guess what? They currently don't have any halo-halo today.

Because I know it was going to be a hot afternoon and I also want to treat my parents, I decided to order through a restaurant. Price was about the same though I just need to pay for the delivery fee. I was having second thoughts whether or not I would treat them because I was also thinking about my obligations especially I purchased a new phone and the fact that I was back to square one but I still ordered anyway. I said to myself that I think it wouldn't hurt my wallet if treat my parents at least once a month.

Orders came and I was so surprised that it was half empty. It was as if it had no ice so I checked but it had some ice. What I did was I put a few cubes of ice to make it full. We all had our share of the halo-halo even our helper although mine was a different flavor but at least we were able to beat the summer heat this day. When my dad was eating, he had a lot of comments that it is fattening, it is too sweet and that it is not worth the money. It made me feel like he didn't liked or appreciated my treat. Or maybe he is still puzzled as to where I got the money. I know my mom is so puzzled but she's not just asking me yet. I will tell them after I have paid my debts and if I can already help with the expenses here at our house.

Last time when I treated them to Greenwich in my Cravings article, my dad only had a slice. It is because it was thick and not his brand of pizza but since I was the one who paid for it, I bought what I wanted and not what they wanted. My mom and I enjoyed it. There's no problem with my mom with whatever you give her because she is not that hard to please. Although in terms of boys and friends, it is totally a different question. My dad on the other hand is a little practical. He's not choosy and he's not into branded stuffs.

Ever since I was a kid, I will make an effort to buy gifts for my parents during special occasions only to find out that my dad didn't even open my gift nor did my mom read the Valentine's card letter that I gave to her. That's why exchange gifts were never our thing.

Have you also experienced that somebody did not like or didn't appreciate what you gave to them? What did you feel and how did you deal with it? As much as I don't want to get affected, I can't. I mean yes I do love and still love to treat my parents with the little money that I have but sometimes I can't help but to be disheartened. That it got me thinking that maybe if I was contributing with the expenses and if I were to give them both monthly allowances then they would have probably like it more than food.

I am sorry for being so overly dramatic today but it is just what I have been feeling since this afternoon. I hope when I wake up tomorrow I wouldn't be feeling this anymore. Even if my dad did not appreciate what I got fpr us today, I will still treat them next month since it is mother's day. However I still don't know what to buy or give to my mom but I will surely save up for that.

6
$ 26.23
$ 26.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @charmingcherry08
$ 0.05 from @leejhen
+ 1
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago
Topics: 2021, Self, Family, Emotions

Comments

we opted for smoothie today, i guess they have their reasons...hopefully maclear up kung bakit di nila nacheck...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sarap smoothie. Ang unang pumasok sa utak ko when I read the word "smoothie" ay avocado smoothie with chia seeds. 😋

$ 0.01
2 years ago

sarap yan.. i use add chia seeds sa water ko sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used to eat Halo-Halo when I am stressed at work and weekend is a perfect time to have this kind of dessert.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have a lot of comfort foods but I can say food is really one of my stress reliever. Indeed halo-halo is really perfect for the hot weather. 😋

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Treats, ganda ng title, sarap ng picture pero may twist pala sa ending heheh! Alam mo noon ganyan din parents ko especially those years na nagtatrabaho pa sila pareho at nag aaral pa kaming lahat, ewan ko parang walang happy days. Now, they're both different and grateful, and sweet.. And I realized that it must be so hard for them to raise 5 kids before that they almost forgot to enjoy and appreciate little things that I do for them. So, intindihin mo nlng parents mo bka may pinagdaanan lang. And always be a cheerful giver because God loves you so.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Late ko na nga narealize na parang "treats" sa aso yung title eh napublish ko na. Hahaha.

Meron naman time na binigyan ko sila na sobrang happy talaga nila kaso hindi ko pa nauulit. Maliit na halaga pero ramdam ko na nagustuhan nila. Nadurog puso ko nung nagthank you sila at naluha ako. Pero treat ko pa din sila mga pagkain and siguro subukan ko din na mag-ipon para hindi lang food mabibigay ko sa kanila. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago