Temptations

13 26
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago
Topics: Family, Self, Life, Random

We all have been in that moment when we were tempted to do something that is bad. Temptations are everywhere and it comes in different forms. We may be tempted to cheat, steal, lie, kill, commit adultery and we may even be tempted to eat or drink something that is bad for us or something illegal. What is it that you have been tempted to do that you end up doing or not doing it? Why did you do it or why didn't you?

Temptations are caused by a lot of things. It may be because of envy, greed, anger, peer pressure or curiosity. It may even be because we lack something like money and guidance. Even Adam and Eve gave in to temptation and disobeyed God. I myself have also been tempted to do some inappropriate things. I have mentioned it many times before that I am not perfect. I was tempted to lie, I lied. I was tempted to cheat, I cheated. I was tempted to do something bad, I had committed a few wrongdoings. I was tempted to do those things for a variety of reasons but I mostly did it for me. I did it to pass, I did it to save myself, I did it to feed my curiousity, I did it for my happiness and many other things.

I have long wanted to publish this article but it was only recently when I was reminded of it. I mentioned last time that my brother asked for my opinions with regards to managing a business and we happened to talk abouth theft. He asked me if I have encountered an employee stealing from the company. Thankfully, I have not experienced someone stealing from the restaurants that I have handled. I even told him that I check their bags when they would leave the store. And then I remembered one of my staffs who stole from the supermarket while she was on break. A civilian guard caught her stealing and before she was brought to the precint, she dropped by the store to get her bag and notify me about what happened. She said that she was just tempted to steal but she still stole it. That case was new to me so I asked our HR on what will happen to our employee. Our HR told me that even if she did not steal from the company, what she did was still grounds for dismissal. Additionally, our HR thinks that our employee will be banned from entering the mall. After that incident, I never heard from her again.

I was also tempted to steal before and I did gave in to that temptation. Why? Because I was young, I do not have money and I want to eat chocolates and candies. It was the first and last time that I stole money. I think I was 5 years old that time and I can never forget that moment because my mom was about to put my hand in a bowl of boiling water. I instantly confessed to my sin when she was so close in dipping my hands in that boiling water. After that incident, I have never stole money but I admit there are some things that I have also stole like when I borrowed a nice pen or a beautiful lighter and never return them again. LOL. I am pretty sure that most of us are guilty of borrowing a pen and not returning it. If we borrow something and not return it, it is already considered as stealing right? Then if we get something without asking the owner and that is also stealing. I remember my brother used to steal my Stik-O (chocolate wafer sticks) when we were in high school. He would sneak in my room and would get a few sticks because he has almost finish his. LOL. I would just notice it because of the wrong positioning of my snacks from where I hid them.

My mom taught me that stealing was bad and she told me that if I wanted something, I should ask them. If in case they would not be able to give me what I want, she told me that I should not get mad and I should not be doing anything bad.

When we are tempted to do something bad, we sometimes think irrationally. Yes we know that what we are going to do is bad but we feel like by doing that act, our problems would be solved. For a moment yes, we may be relieved because we gave in to temptation but when we are already faced with consequences, that is where it will hit us that we should never ever do something that is bad. We have to think twice or thrice in doing something. We might not be caught during the first time but we have to remember that God saw it even before we give in to those temptations. When we are tempted to do something, there would be some voices that we would hear that would push us even more to do such things. It can be the voices in your head, your friends pushing you to do it or even something that you have heard from someone over the radio or television. We would even feel like "wow! Is it a sign?". We can be tempted but we should never give in to those temptations especially if it will not do us any good. Even God was tempted by the devil before but He never sinned nor did He listen to the devil. Temptations are the work of evil and would only drag us in doing a lot more wrongdoings. We should focus on what is right and we have to remember to fear the Lord.

When tempted, no one should say, “God is tempting me.” For God cannot be tempted by evil, nor does he tempt anyone; but each person is tempted when they are dragged away by their own evil desire and enticed. — James 1:13-14 NIV

P.S. lead image is a photo that I took when I was in the supermarket before. For me alcohol or soju can also be an example of temptation. Like for example, when a minor is curious to its taste and he/she will taste. And sometimes when we are drunk, we are tempted to do a lot of inappropriate things.

6
$ 13.04
$ 12.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jeaneth
$ 0.10 from @MissJo
+ 3
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago
Topics: Family, Self, Life, Random

Comments

Love that Bible verse you put in the end as a complement to your insights! Temptations are always there, we can control how we respond to it. :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely. We are smart enough to not give in to those temptations. 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Temptation is inevitable. They are everywhere. Temptation is never a sin, not unless you let yourself be tempted. Hindi naman kasalan yunh temptation, natural yan. Nagiging kasalanan lang yan aog pinatulan na natin 😥😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

At ang popular na kanta diyan ay "Oh tukso, layuan mo ako..." 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was tempted to steal money from my mom's purse too so I can buy Piattos cheese flavored. 😆

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sarap Piattos. Hehe. How old were you when you were tempted to steal? 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I was 8-10 years old at that time. Tapos nag la lie pa ako na hindi ako nag steal 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There will always be a moment of temptation. But we need to stand firm and reject every forces and not yield to the temptation.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

For some I know it may be hard to reject each temptation but you are right, we just have to be firm. If we are tempted to do something and we know that it is not good, then we should put a stop to it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Temptation indeed is everywhere. My experience with this was the first time I drink alcohol. I am really a no drinker but I was tempted to do it because of the brokenness I experienced that time. I still drink until now since I got used to it already but with moderation. The consequences we may receive because of these temptation will actually help us as well.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sometimes our curiousity can lead us us into temptation. When I was still a kid, I usually saw my mom and my aunt smoking and how cool the smoke was comming out from their mouths. I even tried to light a cigarette for them and they were shock that I was able to do it. LOL. I think it was in college when they allowed me to smoke but of course they reminded me of the risks that it may do to me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is insightful. We can get away with the deed but not the consequences.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Totally. That is why we always have to remember that there are consequences to every action that we do. We have to accept whatever the consequence is.

$ 0.00
2 years ago