Risky risks

6 25
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

There are a lot of risks that we have or we would face/d in our life. However, when is it ok to take risks and when is it ok not to? Are you already considered a coward if you always take a step back whenever you will face some risks? Do you believe that it is fun to take risks?

Honestly I am not a risk taker. I would have to think about a certain thing about its pros and cons before I would dive into it. I sometimes feel that I am weak and a coward whenever I am faced with a lot of risks. Like for example, zipline. Has anyone here have not tried riding a zipline? Well, you are not alone because I have not tried it yet. Why? I am afraid. I am afraid that the rope or the line would break the moment that I would try it. I am afraid that my phone or my slippers would drop when I am already at the top. I am not afraid of heights but I have those negative thoughts in my mind or those what if's. I remember that one of my older girl cousin also thinks the same way as I do. There was a zipline that we saw in Tagaytay but we did not try it. We had a lot of what if's that time and we kept on exchanging our what if's. LOL.  Am I already considered weak, coward or just someone who is cautious? I know that it is a different kind of risks but it is just one of the many events or experiences in my life that I took a step back.

Most people who know me would say that I am really the type of person who has always been at her comfort zone. I even published an article about it a month ago and I mentioned there that,

As for me I know that you will probably grow, change and transform even if you are in your comfort zone. It is just a matter of life's challenges and lessons that can either make or break you as a person.


Can you recall something when you risked something? How did it go? I suddenly realized that both choices in life are risky. Taking risks is like gambling yourself in this thing called life. When I asked you the first question, I instantly thought of the time when I decided to resign from my work. I risked my future by being unemployed to save myself. I saved myself because I was already dragging myself to work. I was too burned out and I was not happy with what I do anymore. Though if I risked myself to continue working, it would have killed me inside. Then there was also the possibility of being assigned in a provincial store and that is another risk for me. A risk to be far away from my comfort zone. A risk to be in an unfamiliar place.

With regards to doing extreme and adrenaline rush activities, I can only think of riding the banana boat, sandboarding and the 4x4 that I have tried. You can also include some rides in Enchanted Kingdom, a theme park here in the Philippines. Or should I say that I am just not the adventurous type of person and that I am really a risk taker?

Few nights ago, my friend and I were texting each other and she mentioned the words risks and risky. It was the reason why I was able to come up with my topic for today. She said that some older generations are conservative while our generation is risky. I asked risky where and she said that our generation is more on taking a lot of risks. I even told her that I am not. Then she explained that sometimes she cannot speak up or explain her thoughts and beliefs because the older generations would just look at it the wrong way and it is too risky for her.

Contrary to what I have said earlier, I realized that I am a risk taker or we are all risk takers and we are just unaware of it. There are risks in every decision and there are risks even in every action. Falling in love has risks. Eating a lot of hamburgers, french fries, ice cream, chocolates and whatnot have risks. Speaking up or voicing out our opinions also have risks. Cliff diving and surf boarding also has risks. Whether you arw riding a car or a motorcycle has its own risks. Risks comes in any forms that sometimes we are aware and unaware of it. I know that when we take risks, we can grow as a person. It is only when we take risks would we know whether we can or cannot do a particular thing or not. And it is only by trying things would we know if there are risks on it. Taking risks can have a positive or a negative effect on us. Risks are inevitable. There are some risks that we do not acknowledge as an obstacle neither as a threat but we still proceeded with it. It is only after the final outcome would we realize that what we did was risky. Every choice in our life is a risk because we get to learn from it whether it is a good or bad thing. I do not think that we are weak or a coward if we do not take that risky choice or that risky activity. We are just cautious that we would probably only want to be in the safe zone. We just have to be mindful of our choices and actions because there will always be risks that comes with it along the way.

"The biggest risk a person can take is to do nothing." — Robert T. Kiyosaki

P.S. lead image is from the time I first (and I hope it would not be the last) time tried the 4x4 in Ilocos years ago. A risky activity that I tried with my relatives.

2
$ 3.03
$ 3.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @ARTicLEE
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

Comments

You are right, we all take risks. Just like all of us are different from each other, we take risks differently as well. What may be risky to you may not be as risky to others. We deal with things differently; we cope in our way. I'm not a risk taker as much as others do but there are things that I would like to try. I can be adventurous in my own way :D

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Nung nabasa ko yung statement na "I can be adventurous in my own way" naisip ko agad yung hiking mo. Hindi ko pa talaga alam if makakayanan ko siya. Hahaha. Trekking siguro dahil napasubo na lang kami noon sa Ilocos. Pero naenjoy ko siya and that time hindi pa ako ganun kabigat kaya siguro nakayanan ko. 😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ma enjoy mo din dito kasi malamig tas easy lang naman kasi sa mga kalsada lang naman ako nagwawalk. Di pa open mga trails dito. Sa Ilocos na mainit nakayanan mo, makakaya mo din dito :D

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Bigla iniimagine ko sarili ko sa Sagada sa sea of clouds nung sinabi mong makakayanan ko. 😊 Nakita ko lang yun sa photos and videos ng pinsan ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes it is true that all decisions in our life is risky, because one wrong move you can broke someone's life.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Absolutely. 😉 That is why we should always watch every move we make or every word that we say towards other people. We should still tell the truth in a way that the other party would not take it the wrong way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago