My scars (part 1)

9 31
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago

Because of my topic about my mom's hospitalization, I was able to think of something to publish. I guess you are slowly getting to know me more and more each passing day so I might as well share with you my scars. I have already mentioned this in one or two of my articles but I was hospitalized 3 times already. First time was when I was in grade school for dengue fever. Second and third time was when I was (again) unemployed. 

Before I found out that I had gallstones, I though it was just some gastric pains as I am relieved by pain relievers for heartburn and acid reflux. Sometimes I even point some foods are the culprit for my stomach aches because after when a eat something. a few hours later my upper abdomen is acting up. Then my mom said that I should have an ultrasound to check what is really wrong with me. We found out that I had 1 (7mm) gallstone. The doctor said that I need to undergo surgery because there are chances that if the gallbladder ruptures, the stone may travel inside my stomach and block my intestines and my health would be at risk. When I heard surgery, I know that it is money again. 

I did not do what our doctor has instructed us instead I reseaeched first with Dr. Google. LOL. I know majority of us are guilty of consulting Google first. I saw one article that says if I drink thi, I will be able to get rid of my gallstone naturally without surgery. Of course I did that. LOL. And after few days, I saw in my poops that there were tiny green like stones and I donot know which one of those is my one and only 7mm stone. LOL. I thought that I was able to pass my stone since I haven't experienced any pain or discomfort in my abdomen. I was able to eat the foods that I thought was the culprit. And then it started hurting again. Ao I said to myself that the article that I read was not true. I went back to drinking the medicines again  unril one night,  I wasn't relieved. I was up all night bearing the pain. During that time my mom was not yet my roommate so when I realized that she was already awake, I called her through our landline as it was hard for me to stand up. When she sas my condition, she immediately woke up my dad and my brother and told them that I needed to be brought in the hospital. 

Did you know what my dad said? How about my breakfast? LOL. No I was not the one who was in charge of our breakfast. Because we did not have a helper that time, it was my mom who makes our meals. Of course my mom would accompany me to the hospital and it was my brother who would drive us there so my dad would be left alone that is why he was worried about his food. LOL. My mom was so angry that he was more worried about his food over me. During that time I did not care about what was happening but looking back I find it really funny. My brother drove me and my mom to the hospital and went back home. 

I cannot remember how long I was in the emergency room but it was my first time to experienced a lot of doctors and nurses asking me what happened to me all in different times. Then they would ask me to rate the pain level that I was feeling that time. I know one nurse or doctor asked me to rate it 1-10 and I said 13!! LOL. It was really painful that they couldn't give me a medicine yet because they are still running some tests. 

After hours in the emergency room, I was then transferred to my room. As far as I can remember I know I was still able to have my early dinner because I needed to fast for my other tests the following day. I remembered I was even asked if I was a smoker and how many sticks I smoke per day and when I started. So if you are a smoker, (I'm not going to advice you to quit but if you can quit early then that would be very good) better know how many sticks you puff each day as hospital personnels would be asking you that a lot of times if ever you will have an operation. My parents know that I smoke so I had nothing to be afraid of. However being a smoker can somehow be a problem during surgery and I am sure you know as to why.   When my test results were out, my anaesthesiologist, cardiologist and my gastroenterologist visited me on different times telling me that I am scheduled for surgery the following day and that would make my 3rd day at the hospital. 

When I found out that I was scheduled for operation, my mind had a lot of worries. I was thinking about the scar or if I would be forgetful after my operation because of the anaesthesia or what does my dad would have to say about my operation or where will we get money. I was so stressed even when I was suppose to relax because of my scheduled operation. 

I asked my anaesthesiologist if I will be forgetful and she said no. I asked my gastroenterologist how the operation would be and he explained to me everything in detail. It was a laparascopic operation so he would cut 3 small incisions in my upper abdomen, right mid quadrant and on my navel. I forgot if it was the camera that was passed through my navel but I was imagining everything when my doctor were explaining things to me.

My incision on my upper abdomen
Incision on my right mid quadrant. Can you see it? The small horizontal line. My stretchmarks are even more visible don't you think? LOL
Can you notice the scar?

It was because of my operation that I have been interested in science. I hated it when I was still a student. My dad wanted me to be a lawyer and my mom wanted me to be a nurse or a doctor but I said I don't like science. After all the one on one explanations with my doctor, I was able to absorb everything that he said. During my mom's hospitalization, I was also able to remember the medicines that was given to her and even asks the nurses and doctors for what those medicines are for. 

Will tell you more about my first operation on the second part of this article. By the way, you might be confused with my lead image as it is different with my small incisions, it was during my second operation and I will use that again on my next article.

7
$ 8.05
$ 7.85 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @bbghitte
$ 0.05 from @charmingcherry08
+ 2
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago

Comments

Oh man, My sister is a doctor and I cannot tell you how many times she had to solve severe cases and dangerous cases because people let it drag out because they consulted Dr. Google first. It's really a new world threat to modern medicine. Self-Diagnosis? Never a good thing Self-Treatment? Maybe even worse! Glad to see you keep on posting! Cheers!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I still consult Dr. Google before and/or after going to the doctor for information. But people should always have theirselves checked by a real doctor. Dr. Google can be their guide but they should never self medicate. We are just lucky that we have a neighbor who is a doctor.

Thanks. I will really try my best to publish articles. Cheers to more. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ano daw dahilan ng gallstones mo sis? Sakin naman is ngka peptic ulcer ako. Wala namang operation nangyari. Halos parehas lng din siguro ng nararamdaman sa ulcer yan? Pero yun yung ng trigger sakin kung bakit ako nag self-inflict.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sabi lang sa akin factor daw food. Eh same lang kami kinakain sa bahay so bakit ako lang. tapos sabi naman nung isang doctor na lahat naman daw tayo may stones. Karamihan silent stones tapos yung sa iba nga ayun parang sa akin need ng surgery. Yung sa ulcer parang mahapdi sa tiyan ba? Yung sa gallstones parang may tumutusok sa upper mid abdomen or parang dysmennorhea pero nasa taas. Kaya kapag may attack ako non, dinidiinan ko ng kamay ko.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Upper mid abdomen rin ang ulcer. Yung parang sa ilalim ng ribs natin, jan sya tapos mahapdi. Madalas ka ba inuuhaw non? Same lang ang gallstones and kidney stones no? Hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Medjo below the breastbone yung sumasakit sa akin. Di ko makapa ribs ko sa kapal ng taba. Hahaha. Iba pa yung kidney sa gallstones. Alam ko yung sa kidney may iba na pwede hindi na operahan yung kaya pa daw matunaw or parang pupukpukin lang.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahah, natatawa ako sa 13 at sa breakfast ni daddey! Pero thank God you survived sis at nagkakilala pa tayo. We really need to take care of ourselves, kaso ang sarap ng coke talaga, d ko malet-go!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo thank God talaga na I survived not just one but two surgeries. Mhean din di ba? Parehong pareho kami. Pero kasi naman nakakaloka talaga yun na namimilipit ka na sa sakit tapos ang dami pa magtatanong gaano ka sakit. Parang every 30 minutes yata yun may nagtatanong. Hahaha. Oh di ba ang kulit ni daddey? Food talaga ang inalala niya imbis na ako. Alam ko sinagot ng nanay ko na magJollibee na lang o kung saan gusto kasi marami naman restaurant sa labas. Pero nagJollibee drive theu nga daw sila pagkabalik ni Kuya sa hospital.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hello

$ 0.00
3 years ago