My 18th birthday

7 1240
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

Since we are already talking about debut, I might as well share with you my 18th birthday. Like I have said in my previous article that I saw the transition of debuts, from extravagant to average to simple. My cousin's debut was really extravagant. Her parents really paid a lot for it. From the gowns to the venue, it was what most girl would dream of. Honestly, I am part of those girls who doesn't like a grand party. I know it can be fun and you get to be like a princess for a day but if being practical, I just want a simple celebration with my family and friends. I also never wanted to have a debut party because of my experience at my cousin's birthday. Other than that, I didn't want to wear a gown and to be the center of attraction. But my mom told me that I only get to be 18 once so I have to experience it. I think it is because my mom and her sisters never got to experience a debut, that they wanted their children to have one.

After some convincing, I agreed to my mom to celebrate my debut. Because we are not rich like my cousin, my debut was somehow on the average. I made my own simple invitation because during the time that we were canvassing for my cousin's invitation, I saw how much it costs per a single invitation. Then there was a minimum order per invitation. So I made my own but most of our guests didn't know about that. My gown was also made by a couturier but not by Rajo Laurel. I also had my hair and make up done but not by the late Jun Encarnacion. A venue has been chosen but not in Makati Shangri La Hotel. Even if my debut was not like some other girl's grand debut party, I was still happy that my parents and I were able to celebrate it with the people closest to our heart. The function room may be a little bit cramped because we tried to fit in most of our guests but I know everyone on each table.

My simple invitation. I just used a special paper. Of course I juat edited the animal features to hide my face. Most of my family and friends know that I love stars.



I did not have a cotillion dance since I have only planned it in a short period of time but I did had my 18 roses, 18 candles and 18 gifts. Honestly I really don't know how to dance. I had my dance with one of my college friends and he really did led the dance for me. Was it a waltz dance? I don't know but when we were dancing I was telling him how good he was with it. I told him that if only I new about it, I could have asked him to teach me. I was even wrong with the arrangement of my 18 roses and candles. My last dance was my dad where he should have been my first. The reason behind that was because I didn't have someone special that time so I really saved the last for my dad and my brother was second to the last.

I remember that my mom and I were so busy preparing for my debut. Especially me since I would have to go to my uncle's house on South every weekend after school to print my invitation. We didn't have a printer so going there would have saved me from printing fees. My transportation was cheaper if we would calculate it (I guess). LOL. Then I also had to make a short introduction for my 18 roses, candles and gifts. I have used up all the adjectives in describing my family, friends and relatives. LOL. My masters of ceremony was my cousin and his girlfriend. The preparation was stressful for me and also for my mom but I am just glad that it was a happy and successful celebration.

My friend A didn't experience to have a debut since she opted for a beach party. There was also no program just plain beach and picnic type celebration. The bad thing was only a few were able to make it and the fact that it rained so hard that no one got the chance to swim. During our time, only few of us had celebrated our debut and that is when I have realized that some girls aren't really fond of big celebrations. During my cousin's time, most of her friends and classmates celebrated their debuts whether in a 5 star hotel, a 3 star hotel or an events place. Different debuts, differrent themes.

But after I have celebrated my debut, ideas kept pouring in. I thought of some themes that could have made my debut more cool and more me. Yes my debut was a little bit of me since it the color motif was one of my favorite colors. But there was more that I could have added to make it more me. I told my mom that if I were to be rich, I would want to celebrate a party like that. However after what happened to my brother's wedding, I think I am not really for grand parties or occasions. LOL. Will talk about that someday.

After my party that night, I opened my gifts when we got home. I still had the energy to open all of them. LOL. Then my mom took a picture of me for every gift and she also had me list all my gifts and from whom it was. Even if my celebration was average, I did not expect the love that they have showered me. My dad's friend even gave me a basket of lansones which was so sweet. And then all of my high school and college friends were present. Of course my relatives who were living here in Metro Manila were able to come. It was really a night that I cannot never forget plus the fact that I mispronounced one word during my speech that my friend A laughed so hard that time. LOL. My speech was composed by my dad. He even had his secretary print my programme. I was shocked when I saw it just before my debut started.

I don't know why there was a part where I gave my parents a piece of the cake after I have sliced it. LOL. My mom and I laughed after we have watched the video which was after a month or so because I think it was still in VHS but VCD was already becoming a trend so we were able to convert or save it into VCD. This was like a part of a wedding do you agree? LOL.



If my debut didn't push through, what I wanted was just the usual celebration that I always do. A celebration here at home, simple dinner and then drinking after. Why? Because I tend to barf whenever I am drunk so I want to run to our bathroom when that happens. Well I have experienced being wasted a dozen of times whether inside a taxi or Grab, at a bar and even at my friend's house. During my debut, we weren't able to drink because most of my friends were from South that they also needed to get home after. But they stayed until the event ended. We all know that there are some guests who would just eat and run during special occasions. I was really happy that they all stayed and I felt really special.

Have you also had your debut party? How was it? Have you also dreamt of having a princess like party? If you could go back to the time that you would turn 18, would you have celebrated the way you had it before or would you want a different kind of celebration? If you have daughters, would you also want her to experience a grand debutante's party or just go with what she wanted?

Debuts are not that mandatory in one's life but it's really a great and unforgettable experience to be a princess once in our life. Though we can still have a party like that even if we are on our 30s, 40s or 50s. No matter whether it is extravagant or simple, big or small, what matters is that we get to celebrate each of our milestones with our family and friends.

6
$ 10.86
$ 10.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @charmingcherry08
+ 2
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

Comments

Ehhh, di uso ang ganyan kina mader sad. Haha sakin walang ganyan, pancit canton ata handa ko noon ahahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok na nga din ako sa ganun na sa bahay lang. Kaso gusto ni momshie party-party. Pero tama naman din siya iba yung naexperience ko din maging star. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never got the chance to celebrate a debut with a party etc. My parents are both practical, parang nahawa na rin ako sa kanila hahah! Galing ng DIY collab nyo with your mom ah, a success talaga!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you. 🥰 worth it ang stress namin. Hehe. Actually ayaw din naman ng tatay ko ang debut-debut. Mas gusto niya simple lang na celebration pero napilit na lang din ng nanay ko. Pero ok na ako sa ganyan compared sa mga hotel. Gagastos ka ng milyon para sa isang gabi. Ang sakit sa heart. Pero kung milyon naman per day ang kita why not di ba? All out na. Pero parang hindi pa din kasi worth it para sa akin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yay.. same here, I don't want to be wearing gowns and all, i even skipped the church wedding because of that. Anyway, you are blessed to have supportive parents!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's why I am really grateful to have them. 🥰 Just talking about weddings made me think of the speeches or vows to say. Nah. I don't know if I can do that. Donyou agree that most guests actually do not pay attention to the wedding itself? Even so, I really don't think I can walk down the aisle. It makes me nervous even just being part of the entourage 😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I believe only those guests who are close to you really would pay attention to the ceremony...

$ 0.00
2 years ago