Memories during training

2 30
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago

Because of my Managing a restaurant articles, I thought of another topic but it is more of reminiscing my trainee or training days. 

Being a trainee is really hard but if you have someone to teach and guide you all the basics, you'll be able to adapt their style or even make it easier on how it can suit you or make you feel more comfortable and efficient. I like to be trained by different veteran employees. I'll get to see their styles and who is better and who is not. As a trainee, I was really observant of many things and I ask questions right away if there is something I don't know or there is something that is bothering me. Probably some would say that asking questions when you are a trainee only wants to suckup with the the veteran employees and upper management. In the Philippines, they would say that they are "nagpapasipsip" or "bida-bida". A sycophant or a person who wants to be the great one by asking questions. And if there is something that I have noticed different with the teachings of the veterans, I would ask which is which especially if I have my guide from our training officer from the head office. 

Not all. who asks questions during trainings are like that. I have been a trainer and I like it when my trainees ask questions. It means that they are interested with what I was teaching them. It means that they wanted to learn and is taking the training seriously. That is my perception with trainees asking questions. 

Like I have mentioned in my previous articles that there are some SOPs or standard operating procedure in restaurants. Just like when making an iced blended coffee drink in coffee shops. There is also a sequence that you need to follow BUT there are times that you won't be following that because of your own style. We actually do this when we are already the veterans. Still same measurements of ingredients but just different sequencing. Of course if you are a trainee, you have to know what is standard and what is not. 

I like to be the trainer rather than a trainee because all eyes will be on me when I am the trainee. Unlike when I am the trainer, my trainees will be more focused on the training or lectures rather than me. 

When I am the trainer, I always start with the background of the company, people behind the company, menu and how to prepare each dishes and/or drinks. I can say that I am really strict when training new employees or trainees. And when I am already out of patience, I would pass them to my staffs. LOL. But of course I would still go back to them when I am already in the mood of teaching them. I also gave them exams with regards to our training. If they are practicumers, I would really orient them with how it is in the real world. Some of them get culture shock with some of the things that is going on around. Of course in school, we are taught what is right but if you are already under pressure, you would have to do some tricks to be able to get the job done. 

Most of my trainees were frightened of me because of the way I look as I have that snobbish look and my eyes would really glare at you when you have done something wrong. LOL. But after they have get to know me, we were all good. They know that I am only strict during work but after work, we were all friends. 

I remember the time when I had to leave one store. After working with them for years and months, I was transferred to a different store. Some were happy especially the new trainess but majority were sad. They tagged me on Facebook and messaged me on Messenger on how much they are going to miss me and how I have helped them with regards to the operations. I have made some trainees cry but I didn't expect the number of post and messages that I got during that time. Then when I was transferred into another store, I was really touched when they visited me. They would ask for my schedule and even if I was already a roving manager, they would visit me no matter where I was. I always had visitors that made me proud of myself because I was able to build a good camaraderie. I am also happy to see their accomplishments. Some were even promoted and they told me that they wouldn't have done it if it wasn't for my strict training. They said that they are also using my style in terms of leadership and now they know how it feels to manage a store. 

My career wouldn't be complete without those trainings. I wouldn't be who I am today if not for my mentors and co-employees. I have learned so much from them. So if you are doing your training right now, I hope you will take it seriously. Write notes if you have to so you can look back to it after a decade or so. Yes, I still have with me my handouts during my training with some of the companies I have worked with which I can use as guide in the nearer future. 

4th day of training and 2nd day in commissary training. The one when I said I only lasted 4 days because I got a call from the company that I really prefer to work with. This was after our break and we were just waiting for our training officer and all of us were all having fun already even if we still don't know the results of our exams.

P.S. definitely I am not the one in the lead image. LOL. It was one of the shareholders/owners of the store that I have worked with. He helped with us during the operations.

3
$ 5.66
$ 5.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @leejhen
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago

Comments

Oh so you have been really undergoing a training well I was right that you have done some schooling and also building a restaurant isn't that easy, am I correct?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I studied Hotel, Restaurant and Institution Management major in culinary arts when I was in college. Then when I was hired, it is mandatory to have a training before they officially deploy us to the store/operations. I have worked with a lot of companies so I was able to broaden my knowledge and experiences with the food industry.

I don't have a restaurant of my own but I would want to have one someday. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago