Life during pandemic (part 7)

5 27
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago

Last night up to this morning, I couldn't think of what to publish for today. I had some specific goals that was running through my mind the whole night. I wasn't able to write it down right away because I made dinner, tilapia sisig, for my family. Then we watched Netflix after. It was our usual routine since my dad had shingles. 

This morning until the afternoon, again I wasn't able to write it down because my dad and I had some errands to do. I was finally out and not just within our vicinity. We first went to a bank and luckily there was only one depositor. Then we went to the city hall for my dad's membership dues with the Integrated Bar of the Philippines (IBP). 

I used to go the city hall before for my pre-employment requirements. Though it wasn't as jampacked as how it was before, I didn't expect that there would be a lot of people. The last time that I was there was May last year when we paid for our property tax. Because we were still under lockdown during that time, everything was the exact opposite of how it was today. 

IBP was closed last year so we weren't able to pay for my dad's membership dues. The office of the IBP was located in one building on the 3rd floor. I didn't know the process how it was in paying it because it was my first time to do it today. They don't allow anyone to go inside the building unless it was the concerned parties for the court's hearing. Their procedure for IBP was to call or text the numbers listed on the table and the employee will accommodate you with your concerns and they would go down if there is going to be a transaction. Hassle for the employees right? Since we were there during lunch time, the employee that I texted was having her lunch so I waited patiently. I was able to observe the people by the entrance. There were tents and chairs in front of the building for the people who will have a hearing. There was light rain so everyone was really trying to take cover under the tent. Social distancing of 1 meter wasn't followed. I waited for the IBP employee by the stairs while I kept my distance from other people. 

I wasn't able to take a picture of my experience this afternoon because I didn't think that I would share my experiences on how my day went today. I am glad that all of them were wearing their face masks and a few who has face shields. People watching is one of the things that I do whenever I am alone and had nothing to do. Do you also watch other people? I watched them inquiring about their cases and some would even cut other people who were in line. Not sure if those are for pro bono cases. Some were covered from head to toe. I even saw some peole who were dressed so properly and I assumed they were lawyers. I instantly remembered Suits, American drama series, with how they dressed. I liked that series. I love Harvey! LOL. but People don't know where to go and what to do. The others have been waiting to call for their names and has been there for hours. I hope that it would be orderly and systematically so as not to be engaged with the others the same goes with other government offices. I felt like there was no virus with how the people acted. Have you also experienced that?

Moving on, when we went to the restaurant that I have mentioned in one of my articles, they already had dine in. We were just there for take out but their process was still orderly. By the entrance, a staff would let you fill out the contact tracing forms and check your temperature. She then told me where to go for take out. Upon entering, I turned left as instructed by the staff and headed to the cashier to order. They had chairs for waiting and it wasn't close to each other. I was the only one who was there for take out and a few minutes later, a guy asked for his order for pick up. While I was waiting, I heard other guests talking but I couldn't see their dining area from where I was sitted so I don't know how it operates for dine in. Good thing that I didn't wait that long for my orders because I was in an enclosed space. 

While I was waiting for our orders

I am happy that their business is doing great. Even during lockdown I know that it had affected them but not like other businesses that resorted into shut down. I saw 2 restaurants that had closed on our way back home. 2 days ago my mom told me that Makati Shangri La Hotel would also close their doors. It is just so sad that businesses have to close down. Yes I know that instead of being bankrupt trying to survive during this tough times, they just had to surrender. Makati Shangri La will always have a place in my mind and heart because of my very unforgettable experience during my cousin's debut. 

Then when we passed by one SSS office, I saw that there was a long line of people sitting in their chairs. It was either for SSS or Pag-Ibig, not sure as they are in one building. I wanted my dad to pull over so I can inquire about my benefit contributions but I changed my mind. I hope that they will have online application for voluntary contribution. I'll just inquire through phone in the coming days. 

How much worse can this virus be? It had destroyed some relationships between lovers and friends. Caused long time businesses to shut down. People being afraid to go out. People underestimating the virus. Cost lives even our mental health. Cost our living.I know that there is still that silver lining with all of these. We just have to step up and not look on the bad side. For the mean time, I wouldn't want to go out where there are a lot of people.

4
$ 14.01
$ 13.96 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @bbghitte
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
3 years ago

Comments

Aw, please keep safe always

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thank you. Same goes for you. Let's always be safe during this pandemic and pray that this will all end.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aw, dito din nagsecure ako last December sobrang bilis halos walang tao mga gov't offices. Ang lungkot nga lang tignan

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Buti ka pa. pero madali lang ba mag-apply for voluntary? Paano procedure? Fill up lang ng form ba?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hindi sis nagbayad lang ako para sa kapatid ko taz kumuha ng nbi clearance. Pero feeling ko fill-up lang namn pag voluntary

$ 0.00
3 years ago