Forgiveness

11 28
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

How do you forgive a person who has wronged you? In my previous article, cheater, I have asked a question if we are to give a second chance to a person who cheated on us. For @QueenRay, she said that it is very hard to give a cheater a second chance. While with @Ellehcim, she does not recommend giving them a second chance. I on the other hand find it difficult to answer my question. However I can forgive a person but it is hard for me to forget. Though it actually depends on how serious the offense was. If it was just a petty thing, a simple sorry resolves it. There are also fights that there is an awkwardness after reconciliation. With a cheating partner, technically I have not experienced it because I never had an official relationship but in my opinion, I think I would give them a second chance only if they have proved that they are worthy for a second chance. How do you forgive a person who cheated on you?

Based on your past experiences, how do you define forgiveness? Up to what extent do we need to forgive a person? In my years of existence, I forgave some people in my life. I have forgotten some of it and some of those have already been engraved on my mind and heart. They say that to forgive is to forget but there are times that it is really hard to let go of what has happened as it has caused a lot of pain and misery to our lives. Again comes the "everything happens for a reason", one of my many favorite quotes.

We all are not perfect. We lie, we cheat, we get mad, we say words out of the spur of the moment and we hurt people. When I lied to my mom and she found out about it, I broke her trust. She forgave me for what I did but it was hard for her to forget everything that had happened. Until this day I know that she does not trust me and I know that it is a lifelong consequence to the action that I did before. I just have to live with it. When I fought with my brother when we were already old, he did not talk to me for months. When he was telling a story to my mom and my cousin, I was making faces with my mouth while my eyebrow was raised. He noticed me and he really wanted to punch me in the face but our mom tried to stopped him and act as my shield. That was actually an intense moment but I still kept on making faces. LOL. I was really a mean brat back then. I cannot remember how we patched things up but we did not apologize with each other. After months of not talking to each other, we just started like nothing happened and I am really glad that my relationship with my brother is better than ever.

I think that if a family member has committed a sin or did something bad, his or her family will always be there for them and they would forgive them no matter what they did. Just like with most cheating husbands or wives. Their reason for giving them a second chance is for their children. They do not want their children to grow up having a broken family. I have heard some stories about cheating husbands when I had my parish renewal experience almost a decade ago. They were happy that their spouses forgave them and gave them a chance to change and they changed for the better. Their infidelities have even made their relationship with their spouses even stronger. Though there are still some people that was given a lot of chances but did not change.

Sometimes it is easy for us to forgive others and sometimes it isn't. Though it feels really good when we forgive a person. It is like you have lifted that heaviness in your chest or that weight in your shoulders when you have finally forgive other people. When a person has wronged us, we sometimes hold a grudge against them that makes it hard for us to forgive them. That grudge would sometimes lead to taking revenge,Β  committing a sin or can also push us away from other people. That is why it is very important that we forgive other people. It is ok if we cannot forget about it but it would be much better if we can just put everything behind. Most importantly is that we should also learn how to forgive ourselves. Just like with self love, we can only know how to forgive others if we know how to forgive ourselves. Make peace, not war. Spread the love, stop the hate.

Matthew 6:14-15 "For if you forgive other people when they sin against you, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. But if you do not forgive others their sins, your Father will not forgive your sins."

5
$ 10.17
$ 10.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @Bjorn
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

Comments

Forgiving also doing ourselves a favor. To let go of any grudges in our heart that would hinder us from experiencing true joy. But forgiving doesn't mean that we will just forget what they've done. Forgiving doesn't need reconnectiom with that person.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Absolutely. We need to let go of the grudges so we can move on from that. It can be by forgiving and/or forgetting that incident or person. Reconnecting may happen after years of not seeing each other.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In my case as well, I do not just forgive, I also do not forget because I am afraid that the person may do the same. But they all have the chances to change and it will be their choice if they wanted to. And for giving a a second chance, I am not sure if I can do it. I have a trust issue and it already carved in my mind that of the person did that to me, they will do it again. I am not sure if what I am doing is right. But it is like how I feel.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is really hard to trust a person again that's why we should not break it. For me, I trust people easily.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is okay to actually trust. But we need to be more cautious so that we will not get hurt easily. ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Honesty, I am a person who seem hard to heal. I don't easily forgive if someone really broke my feelings. Even If i said i forgive you but inside me it just wont let go. It takes time to heal.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same. Sometimes I even detach myself just so I can heal on my own. Then when we are going to see each other, of course there's awkwardness but a part of me just want to hug and say "I've missed you!". 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also don't believe in Forgive and Forget. It is like tolerating. We should forgive and not forget instead. If we always become so tolerating, people will take advantage of it and hurt us more. The real people worthy of our love are those who do not break our trust in the first place. Because a cheating person does mean that he/she does not love you for real. Which is so disappointing. Thanks for the mention. :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Very well said, Ellehcim. There are people who will always take us for granted. πŸ˜”

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ummmh. I love this. Bringing our hearts in obedience to God's word. That despite how hurt we are. We need to forgive the offender. Where love dwells, forgiveness abounds.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you. 😊 it's a reminder for all of us to forgive because even God forgives us no matter how many sins we have committed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago